We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worried if my friend was jinxed and I shouldn't take her out again after a horrible meal and service at Buzz's”
Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #30 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local neighborhood watering hole
Kailua
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worried if my friend was jinxed and I shouldn't take her out again after a horrible meal and service at Buzz's”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Walked in and seated ourselves and did wait a while before we were acknowledged. The waitress did take our water order, one no ice but brought two with ice, then took one back and I did have to ask her again to remember my water. After those initial mishaps all went well! The food was fine, the house wine awful but the waitress became brave and interacted and returned to our table often enough so we enjoyed our visit! The toilets though really need some work!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernicealoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    39
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We are new to the area and this place was recommended. I agree with another review, not sure why this place has such good reviews. The burger was so-so, didn't seem to be made from fresh meat. Service was average. The place was dirty! Sticky floors and absolutely filthy bathrooms. There are so many other places to try that we won't be coming back here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank donab28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good bar food in Kailua”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Met with some friends here for dinner one night while visiting Oahu. This place was great for bar food, which was just what we needed after hiking on Oahu all day. Good burgers, fries, hot dogs, and fried appetizers. Nothing that will blow you away but it is all very good. I would definitely come back to this place if I find myself in the area and in need of a burger.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shack in Enchanted Lakes Kailua”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wonderful friendly local atmosphere. I was by my self but felt like I had royal treatment by the young lady who waited on me. Great beer selections and the Burger and Fries were to die for. It was also a College Football Day and they accommodated requests for games.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmk20072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stopped to eat at the Shack in Kailua after a long day of activities. The burgers were excellent, waitstaff was wonderful and the beer was COLD!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazy4caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing