We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place...highly recommend staying here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place...highly recommend staying here!”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A beautiful place and relaxing, quiet room. Our hosts, Bob & Jeannette were kind, helpful and always had the coffee ready in the morning. We will definitely be back on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    19
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
71
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Bob and Jeanette were wonderful hosts and the room was very clean, which was very important to me. They provided us lots of useful information on where to go, how to get there, what to expect and made many beach items available for us to use. The room AC was a bit loud and we could hear the people in the other room really well especially when they're in their bathroom. But we didn't need AC much and we had good night sleep. The removable shower head in the bathroom was nice and clean extra towels were available. We will chose this place again if we go back to Kailua and we do recommend to our friends for sure. Jeanette and Bob are such sweethearts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kusum19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett NH
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My wife and I have stayed in dozens of B&B's throughout the U.S. and Canada. If you want a quiet, friendly B&B with a beautiful setting, this is the place. It is a two room B&B with a lovely enclosed yard, pool and view of the mountains. Bob and Jeanette are wonderful hosts and staying here is like spending a few days with your aunt and uncle. They provide info. on all the restaurants, beaches, stores, etc. We were there for 4 nights. The breakfast is basic cereal, toast, bagels, etc. and Bob makes the best cup of fresh coffee in Oahu! Make your breakfast and sit at your own table under the lanai listening to the birds--it doesn't get any better. The room had a king size bed, very clean bathroom with plenty of towels. Bob provides beach chairs, boogie boards and coolers ready to go! We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My husband and I just returned from traveling in the islands for a month. We stayed at the Papaya B&B for three nights. The host, Bob and his wife were very nice and the B&B was nicely maintained. If I had any suggestions it would bea better breakfast, perhaps some fruit and danish from the local bakery. A little local flair... Breakfast was very limited and living in the islands there is so much fruit would have been nice for a few things other than cold cereal and toast.
Bed was pretty hard and old, needed replaced.
The B&B had beach chairs, beach towels, coolers, etc to use.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Bob and Jeanette are the perfect hosts at this charming B&B! The room was clean and comfortable, with a pleasant, island feel. The outdoor covered patio is also just great, with cushy chairs and a nice assortment of books (both guidebooks and novels). Lovely pool and view of the mountains, and Bob has done a terrific job with the landscaping! Having morning coffee and bagel on the patio is truly transporting.... Location is great, just a short drive to the beach (Jeanette claims to be able to walk there in 15 minutes, but I didn't make her prove it!) and shorter drive to "downtown" Kailua. They also have plenty of beach equipment to lend (boogie boards, umbrellas, etc.).

My stay could not have been nicer. Bob and Jeanette made me feel at home instantly. They're just terrific, warm hosts and were a wealth of information on the island's sites. I was sad to say goodbye. This place was like finding a little gem! I can't wait to go back! Highly recommended!!

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Bob and Jeanette are a lovely couple, very welcoming and helpful. Accommodations were clean and tidy, pool was refreshing. Poolside room had bonus "private" patio table and chairs looking out to a wonderful view of the Koolau mountains. Breakfast was simple toast/bagels and butter/cream cheese, falling within the Oahu B&B regulations. Beds left a little more to be desired, but were more comfortable than we thought they would be. Sufficient space for luggage. Great selections of DVDs for nights you'd rather stay in. Kailua is a beautiful beach, 15 min walk away. Beach chairs and boogie boards were provided. Only major complaint is that you can hear guests in the other room, but their voices can be dampened adequately by shutting the bathroom door. Friendly accommodations and community. Great proximity to trails and other outdoor adventures. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank up4review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whatcom County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

My mother and I spent a very relaxing week at Papaya Paradise. The owners were gracious and friendly hosts, making us feel right at home in their home. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing -- our room was private and well equipped, and the owners provided a large lanai (porch), kitchen area and pool for their guests. Breakfast on our own was perfect in that we could eat whenever we felt like it. Extra amenities such as beach towels, beach chairs and coolers were appreciated. Mom and I were glad there are no hotels in the area, because we might have stayed in one, therefore missing out on this welcoming experience. I highly recommend the Papaya Paradise to travelers who are looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsl053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
21.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
25.5 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
27.8 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,988 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast

Property: Papaya Paradise Bed and Breakfast
Address: 395 Auwinala Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hosted/licensed Bed and Breakfast home in Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii since 1987 with original owners. The 2 units can accommodate 2 people each are on the ground floor each with a private entry, private bath, AC, TV with DVD and movie library,internet access (bring your laptop) that opens onto a swimming pool with views of the Koolau mountains. One unit has a king size bed, the other unit has a queen size bed and single bed. A daily self-catered breakfast (we provide cereal with milk; bagel with cream cheese, bread for toast with jams,jellies, peanut butter) is included in the price. Bob will have fresh brewed coffee or hot water tea waiting for you. A full size fridge w/freezer, microwave and toaster just for the guests in our 2 units is available in a separate area.Papaya Paradise is located just 1/2 mile from Kailua Beach, which was voted the #1 beach in the country in 1998 (we provide beach accessories)and Kailua town. Free off street parking. Honolulu Airport and Waikiki is just a 20/30 minute drive away. All activities and attractions are within a 60/75 minute drive. TA#W00301866. 90/BB-0021 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papaya Paradise b&b
Papaya Paradise Hotel Kailua
Papaya Paradise Bed And Breakfast Kailua, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing