We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To crack the macadamia...”

Tropical Farms Macadamia Nut Farm and Farm Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$104.70*
and up
Oahu Circle Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“To crack the macadamia...”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

you must have the proper pressure which I learned from cracking a couple of them. We bought the Pineapple Snow here and it was our favorite pineapple-flavored white chocolate with macadamia. It was also great hanging around, tasting the different flavors of nuts and the kona coffee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    150
    40
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This Macadamia Nut farm was a very interesting stop, as the kids were able to pick and crack their own macadamias with rocks. They had the best array of flavored macadamias and all with samples. Enjoyed the coffee coated ones the best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank anya_marie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best nuts I ever had!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Okay so that is not the catchiest title but seriously there is the best selection of macadamian nuts. They are a bit on the expensive side but hard not to buy once you try all of the samples available!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you want a fun day go to the Macadamia nut farm and take the tour. ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the nut farm yesterday and enjoyed it so much I would buy a ticket and go again. The tour guide was a hoot. He was informative and just plain fun. Enjoyed the demonstrations of fire making, the fire dancing, coconut sampling, nut sampling, and coffee sampling. The boat ride along with info about this body of water and what it is used for is most interesting. In all it makes for a fun day.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Could not imagine doing without the Alii tour!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The tour was recommended by a (formerly) local friend, and it was a great suggestion! I wasn't expecting it to be as good and varied as it was. The shop itself is nice — lots of souvenir items and macadamia nuts of many flavors, with samples of each one. They also offer samples of coffee. Prices on the nuts were good, comparable with farmers' markets.
The tour was awesome, starting with a bus ride where various plants are pointed out. At the first stop, the guides were on a small stage showing how to start a fire, and also opening coconuts for optimal use of the liquid and coconut meat. The guides were entertaining and informative. Next stop was a boat for a ride around the fish pond. They explained how the fish were trapped in the pond and how they are fished. From the pond, we could see various island features that were in movies and television shows. More than you would think in that one little area!
I definitely recommend the tour, a lot of Hawaii packed into a short amount of time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical Farms Macadamia Nut Farm and Farm Tour also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Farms Macadamia Nut Farm and Farm Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing