We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT FOR ANY AGE! Greatest relaxing place & park”

Hoomaluhia Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,597.00*
and up
Spiritual Hawaiian Culture Tour from Honolulu
Ranked #6 of 41 things to do in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 200 acre botanical garden.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT FOR ANY AGE! Greatest relaxing place & park”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A truly unique experience, too bad they're closing at 4pm. One can still walk in and out after 4pm, though we had to rush towards our transportation only 1 hour after we got there. Plan to spend at least 2-3 hours, if not the whole day if you truly are a nature lover. PERFECT FOR ANY AGE!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    80
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another side of Oahu”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Botanical Gardens offers another beautiful view of Oahu. You can see native flora and fauna in a relaxed, natural setting. No charge for admission and lots to do. Start at the Visitor's Center, get a map, and decide which area(s) you'd like to visit. Don't miss the lake. We brought bread with us, and had a great time feeding the fish and the ducks. We only had time for a short visit, but you can spend the day or the night (camping available). There are picnic tables surrounded by wonderful vistas. I'd recommend the gardens as another beautiful site to explore on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend park for kids and camping”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I wouldn't say that this park has beautiful flowers, but the pond is very nice, calm, and quiet for children. They hand out fishing poles for the kids on Saturday and Sunday from 2-4. Also, the camping there would be safe which is not something I would say for most of Oahu. One of the nicest places I've seen to take kids for a quiet afternoon. The pond has lots of koi fish and ducks that the kids were feeding bread to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots to enjoy...”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Beautiful park, man-made lake, good camp sites with showers (cold), workshops, art shows, and the most amazing collection of trees. It's in our neighborhood and we spend lots of time here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WayneMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gabriel, California
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tropical Gardens”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was my first visit to the Gardens, but it definitely will not be my last.This is a 400-acre Garden planted with rainforest trees and shrubs from the tropics of the world including Hawaii and Polynesia. Many of the plants are endangered and rare. Geographical regions predominately represented are: Philippines, Malaysia, Tropical America, Sri Lanka & India, Melanesia, Hawaii, Polynesia and Africa. I would recommend that if you are traveling by car that you park at each of the 8 parking lots and travel out from each lot walking each individual area. To walk the road from beginning to end and then walking back to the Visitor Center lot would be a complete day's excursion. There is no exit from the Garden to Kionaole Road. The vegetation is beautiful and the birds, mongoose and occasional feral cat along the path are an added feature. Most plants are identified which is helpful. The visitor center is interesting and the Volunteers at the desk are most welcoming and willing to help with questions. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see more of the tropical plants up close and just to enjoy the peace and quiet of the rainforest and the lake against the backdrop of the majestic Ko'olau Mountains. Garden open daily 9A to 4P except Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Free guided garden tours for the general public are Saturdays at 10AM and Sundays at 1PM. Camping is available from 9AM Friday through 4PM Monday. A permit is required. Catch-and-Release Fishing is open weekends 10A until 2P.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmmbirdpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoomaluhia Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Hoomaluhia Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing