We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Ali'i Bluffs Windward Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaneohe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ali'i Bluffs Windward Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Kaneohe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B. We stayed for three nights. Don and De were such great hosts that they have now set the bar pretty high for future stays at other B&Bs. They were very knowledgeable about the history and area of Hawaii. We loved the location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. They told us about the ancient fish pond behind their house and with a very short walk we were able to explore an area that was not on our list if things to do. So glad we did! They gave us beach towels, hiking books, and great advice. Our room was just right for us and I loved the decor. Very interesting antiques throughout. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We left very early each morning so we didn't get to enjoy breakfast but Don always had coffee, bananas, and cookies waiting for us. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twigs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a much belated review since we stayed with Don and Dee in February of 2012 for close to a week.. We got busy and never wrote, though we kept meaning to. We had a wonderful time. My husband and I stayed in both the Circus and Victorian rooms The Circus room, where we stayed first as another couple had the Victorian room, has two very comfortable single beds with ample closet space. The bathroom is right across the hall and there were two pretty cotton Japanese kimonos for our use. The Victorian room has an ensuite bath, the bed is large and comfortable. I cannot say enough good things about Don and Dee's hospitality. They were so charming and attentive. Dee, who is a painter, also has a background in fashion design and happily assisted me in wearing my scarf with real flair as well as giving me pointers on my style. A lot of fun We were there to attend a funeral for a dear friend and Don and Dee were so sympathetic. We did not use the pool as it was raining with lots of thunder and lightening, but the pool was clean and pretty. They also referred us to a restaurant and bar in Honolulu, The House Without a Key, where we had the best Mai Tai ever and saw authentic Hawaiian dance and slack string guitar. They have a charming little dog who is extremely well behaved and friendly. We had a really great experience.

Suzanne Starr

Room Tip: Just go there. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A perfect stay from the first delicious breakfast by the pool to our last farewell by the gate.

Don and De - thank you both for contributing to make our time memorable, enjoyable and stress-free. As well as sharing so much knowledge - both local and historical of Honolulu - we loved hearing anecdotal stories of you enriched past.

With the bus service right at the corner, going either to Waikiki or North Shore, who needs a rental? And only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Position out of the busy streets of Waikiki was great.

Helpful tips and phone calls on our behalf were much appreciated and after each day of being out and about, it was so nice to come "home" to a warm welcome and a comfortable bed.

We look forward to staying again next time we stop over in Honolulu.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My sister and I stayed at this bed and breakfast February 12-18 in in 2014. The place was a little old fashioned and antiquated. The host was kind and helpful and attended to our needs as best he could. The room and bathroom was crowded with nick-nacs, toys, collectors items and posters.That was interesting but a little crowded. There was no TV available but there was a small sitting room. The pool was not heated and took up much of the small back yard. We were only a few blocks from the ocean but there was no access and we could only see an island and peninsula over the back fence. The biggest disappointment was that there was a dog urine smell in the bedroom though faint but it really bothered my sister. It was a good place to rest and visit some but not so good for hanging out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed with Don and De 1/24-1/27/14 and was welcomed and treated as a member of their family. The Victorian room (with its own bathroom and large closet) was perfect for me. It did not feel cluttered and was clean and neat. The bed was comfortable. The breakfasts consisted of yummy banana bread that Don bakes, toast, cereal, and fresh fruit (I had a half a papaya every morning). There are mosquitos on the patio, so be prepared. Both Don and Dee love to tell stories and talk, and were very entertaining. They loaned beach towels and map books and had advice on what to do and where to eat that was helpful. Some street noise, but nothing intolerable.

Room Tip: Only the Victorian room has an en suite bathroom, so much preferred over the Circus room where the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Price – $110 total per night.
Cleanliness - very good.
Quietness - excellent.
Comfort - superb.
Location - excellent; would recommend the Windward side of the Island.
Parking – free and on the doorstep.
Friendliness - outstanding.
Breakfast - absolutely lovely.
Classiness – Don and De are splendid hosts.
Room Size – ample.
Room included - shower and character.
Facilities included – pool, sitting areas.
Nice touch – free wifi, roadmaps, recommendations.
What’s needed – Hawaii to change it's restrictive B&B laws.
It felt as friendly as home.

Room Tip: If you like B&Bs, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Donald is a fantastic host with his 92 year old partner De who is an accomplished talented artist. Both have lived exciting lives and we enjoyed discussions and admired the paintings. Location is suburban, easy to get to, with parking. Noisy though at times from helicopters and neighbours' cars.
Interior is like an antique shop with every wall covered in interesting objects, and every surface too.
The problem is that after a while you feel like a bull in a china shop.
The Circus room is bluntly small. Ok if you have no more than two small carry-on bags. Picture frames come right down to the pillows. Hardly anywhere to put anything down. Bathroom across hall also lined with pictures and objects on every surface. Doors have pictures and rattly objects hanging on them -an issue if you need to use bathroom in the night.
Breakfast papaya freshly prepared and delicious, overlooking the pool. Pool is small and the lining has deteriorated and wil debris in it it look sun inviting and is cold.
If you stand on the wobbly bricks you can see the harbour and the military base.
After one night on a very hard mattress and with sore shoulders as a result, the claustrophobic atmosphere was getting to be too much on top of the unpleasant smell that I had tried to ignore. It is down to the fact that the place is dirty. The door knobs have a build up of dirt, the paintwork is grimy. Plastic chairs to the loggia are grimy. The mug at breakfast was all stained inside.
I have been charged for three nights though we stayed one. Unless you have no sense of smell or like grubbiness do not stay here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
realmunro, Owner at Ali'i Bluffs Windward Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your compliments on our hospitality and art collections.
Yes, our home has many things - paintings from 19th century to WPA to contemporary- Antique furniture from a 200 year old Grandfather clock to beautiful Persian carpets. Too many things? That is what we like and when you stay in a B&B HOME you have to remember that it is a home and it is not a motel.
Noise: The Marine base does create noise from their planes from time to time but it is short lived and only very, very occasionally is there any night noise. In the morning there are 2 cars, leaving for work, which are noisy
Circus Room size. It is smaller than the Victorian Room but guests from all over the world have no problem with their baggage. If they have items like golf clubs or boogie boards, those may be stored in the garage.
Pool is not small. For a home in Hawaii, the pool is medium to big and was built as a diving pool so it is 8 feet deep. It is a concrete pool and does not have a liner. The day that these guests arrived there had been heavy rain and strong winds, so there were leaves in the pool. They were cleaned out in the morning
View. You can view the Bay, the base and Coconut Island (Gilligans Island) from any place around the pool and on the lanai and in the house. We do have a small, concrete block, viewing platform in one corner by the pool which is there so that you can look down on the 800 year old, hand built, 86 acre, Hawaiian fish farm. It is on the Natonal list of historic structures and is on the inner edge of the Bay. So, to see it fully, you need the platform.. When these guests were here, one of the base blocks was loose and that has been fixed.
Beds. The Circus Room beds are firm and this is the first time we have heard any complaint about them. We even had one guest who brought his own bed-board to put under the mattress to make it firmer.
Lanai chairs. The four chairs around the breakfast table are vinyl and they had become discolored by the sun. We painted them but after a period of time the paint has turned grey. We need to remove the paint and repaint them. They are not dirty.
Smell. The day that the guests arrived there had been heavy rain. When the guests left the next morning they said that they had put up with 7 days of rain on the Big Island and they wanted to get away from rain and damp. So they moved to a hotel in Waikiki. When I went into the room, after they left, I discovered that all the windows were closed tightly. The combination of damp air and no through breezes no doubt created a damp smell.But that immediately disappeared when the windows were opened..
Our home is neither grubby nor smelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaneohe
16.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
21.4 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
22.6 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,151 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali'i Bluffs Windward Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali'i Bluffs Windward Bed and Breakfast

Address: 46-251 Ikiiki St, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-4034
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kaneohe
Price Range: £61 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a traditional B&B which is located on the Windward Coast of O'ahu, overlooking a 700 year old Hawaiian Fish Pond and Kaneohe Bay. It offers two guest rooms - the Victorian Room with a Queen bed and attached private bath and the Circus Room with two extra long twin beds and a private bath located across the corridor from the room. Breakfast is served by the pool each morning and the guests are welcome to use the living room, lanai and pool area. The house is filled with artwork and antiques and a wonderful collection of Persian carpets. Iced water and glasses are provided in the rooms, glasses and ice are in the bar area, refrigerator space is provided for guest's drinks and prepared foods. Free wireless connection is available. Parking is in the driveway. A wonderful location for exploring the entire island and hosts who go out of their way to advise, assist and welcome guests to O'ahu. There are no extra charges above and beyond the nightly room charge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ali`i Bluffs Windward b&b
Ali`i Bluffs Windward Hotel Kaneohe
Ali'i Bluffs Windward Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Oahu - Kaneohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing