We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kayak Trip, Okay Snorkeling”

Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Kaneohe Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour to Coconut Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayak on beautiful Kane'ohe Bay located on the windward coast of Oahu. Kane'ohe Bay is home to Oahu's only barrier reef. Enjoy a guided eco-tour with Kama'aina Kids' friendly staff of certified instructors. Experience the magnificence of Kaneohe Bay's pristine waters and diverse sea life with the Bay's one and only kayak eco-tour. The three hour tour will journey to Coconut Island, home of the Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology (and where the television show, Gilligan's Island, was filmed). Along the way explore and snorkel at various patch reefs and observe sea turtles, rays, and tropical fish in their natural habitat. Your guide will point out cultural sites, such as the traditional Hawaiian fish pond at He'eia, and will also explain some of the challenges facing the ecosystem of the Bay. The protected waters of the Kaneohe Bay make it a perfect place for kayakers of all skill levels. This hands-on approach makes it a safe and exciting learning experience for all ages.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Kayak Trip, Okay Snorkeling”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We signed up through the hotel for a turtle snorkeling trip, our hotel's fault that it isn't. This is more of a kayak trip, which we liked. The water isn't the clearest to see the turtles, but the reef is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and the lunch was great. Take time to get pictures of the bay and grounds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank C_U_In_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    35
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sailing on the Hobie Catamaran Private Sailing Tour”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This attraction is a must if you visit Oahu. It has all the adventure you look for when coming to Hawaii bundled in a wonderful, affordable, and personal 3 hour tour (and yes, you get to see the actual site of Gilligan's Island!). You can sail the beautiful waters, see lots of sea turtles and other wildlife, visit the sand bars, fish, snorkel, etc. If you wish, they will teach you how to sail and let you sail the boat under their guidance. The staff is very knowledgable and competent and will make sure you have a great time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Marchetti260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Private Hobie Catamaran Sailing Tour”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We took the Holokai Sailing Adventure on the 18' Hobie Cat. It was just my son, my husband, myself and our tour guide Garrett. It was a beautiful day with lots of wind, so we whipped across the bay. We stopped for a bit at the Sunken Island, saw multiple sea turtles in the wild, explored numerous reefs and went all the way to the Chinaman's Hat and back. Garrett pointed out several movie locations including Jurassic Park, Hunger Games and Gilligan's Island. He also let my 13 year old son man the sails for quite a bit of the trip. Towards the end of the tour we stopped at a horseshoe reef and were able to snorkle a large coral wall that dropped at least 30 feet under water. It was really gorgeous with good color and lots of fish. Well worth the investment.

TIP: Check the tide schedule if you want to get out on the Sunken Island. During low tide it comes up above the water. Even at high tide it's only about knee deep though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank StorytellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hobie Cat Sailing Tour with Parker”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Talk about an amazing trip! This was by far the highlight of my trip to Oahu. My friend and I were blessed to be paired with Parker for our first sailing trip. The wind was howling in the Kaneohe Bay an Parker let us know it would be "fun" He showed us such an amazing time. Took us to a private beach, and taught us how to operate the boat. He is so knowledgeable about sailing and is easy to get along with and an incredible sailor. I would recommend this tour to absilutely anyone who enjoys thrill, however he can also take it slow. It is hands on if you want it to be and is an amazing adventure. Take advantage of the amazing wind in the Kaneohe Bay and ask for Parker! Lunch was also yummy, you'll work up an appetitie.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank santacruzinkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Kayak ride!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My boyfriend and I showed up without calling ahead and thankfully the lovely staff there were able to set us up with a double kayak with back rests, life jackets and an anchor. For a half day we spent just over $80. Which was well worth it for the adventure. It paddled straight out to the sandbar and played around and snorkelled. I've done the tour group boat tour out there before but it was so much more fun doing it on our own.

The staff were very helpful with directing us where to go and what we'd see. They even have waterproof maps they supply you with! Brilliant! One of the highlights from our trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing