We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ono kaukau” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waiahole Poi factory

Waiahole Poi factory
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ono kaukau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The poi is absolutely fabulous. For the neophyte the fresh poi is the easiest way to taste this Hawaii staple. Make sure to have some lomilomi salmon and some laulau, too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walkerton, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

By looking at the place one may just drive by, but DON"T! They have awesome food. The only thing I did not like was the Poke. But the pork and poi was awesome!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
407 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for authentic local Hawaiian food, this is your stop. Great food, worth the stop. Pork is well prepared. Poi was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WesleyMCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mahalo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Go here if you're inthis Island! Just what I returned home fo. Authentic. The real kine. Ono delish! Mahalo for the Kalua pig & poi.
Lani

Helpful?
Thank patchouliii
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The poi is just tasty and so is the Ho'io salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were on our way to visit vegetarian relatives who live in Pupukea and stopped by the Waiahole Poi Factory on the way and picked up poi, ho'io salad and haupia as they were treating us to a vegetarian lunch. Poi, as everyone knows is from the taro root where ho'io is from the Hawaiian fern shoots. Haupia is a pudding made from coconuts and is a sweet desert. All three purchases complimented our lunch. The poi factory also served food lunches, box lunches, but we didn't have any in anticipation of our planned for vegetarian lunch. We did see some locals eating there as well as what looked like tourists and transplanted tourists who knew this place well. It is not very big on seating as we saw about 4 or 5 outside tables but it appeared they stayed busy with customers who also drove up and bought take-away.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waiahole Poi factory also viewed

 

Been to Waiahole Poi factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing