We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little jewel for fine dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chao Phya Thai Restaurant

Chao Phya Thai Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 128 Restaurants in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chao Phya Thai Restaurant offers traditional and contemporary Thai cuisine using fresh and locally sourced produce. Our signature beef dishes feature grass-fed beef from Paniolo Cattle Company an€“ all natural, sustainable, and raised in Hawaii.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little jewel for fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

A small, cozy Thai local restaurant which has same ownership for many, many years. Take your own bottle of wine to enhance the delicious meal options. A large, authentic menu, in a small intimate dining restaurant on a busy intersection in a Windward shopping center.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosebud061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mama Toy's THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I first ate here 24years ago. The food was excellent then as it is now. Although we arrived before the opening hour (Sunday it's 5pm) we were welcomed in. When I explained that this was my favorite place to eat years ago, when I lived here, Mama Toy explained that she was the cook back then and took over the as the owner and cook in 1996. Both her husband and daughter have passed away and she loves to make people happy with her cooking. Don't miss this if you love Thai!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GkfromWisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice little local Thai place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hard to find, tucked into Windward Village Shopping strip mall, next to the Starbucks - but a winner. You'll be crammed into tables along with locals celebrating family dinners. Very fresh, lots of good choices. We loved our salads, but the entrees at adjoining tables looked and smelled great too. Reasonable prices and fairly fast service. Nothing fancy, but that's ok.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LovesExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious, but don't order the coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our local Thai restaurant has a charming atmosphere and friendly service. The hostess, Mama Toy, welcomes everyone like old friends. The food is quite good, especially the fried fish. One thing I would not order is the Thai coffee. Last time I ordered it, it tasted like it was poured from a can.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WayneMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic, Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Not everybody's favorite but the adults liked it. Good solid Thai. Great fun. Sunday dessert bar is help yourself.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alohatexas240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chao Phya Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chao Phya Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing