We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pagoda Hotel(Honolulu)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$193
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Equus Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
397
149
62
37
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
149
62
37
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand barwindward sideboat excursionkoolau mountainsfriday night dinnerfire knifefree kayaksfloating dockbay viewprivate reefevery morningstand up paddle boardskualoa ranchnorth shorelarge lanaishort drivefresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at Paradise Bay when it was called Schraders Inn and we had a horrible experience with an old woman working at the desk when we tried to check out. We questioned the 7% surcharges that were added to our room on top of all the other taxes and the woman was extremely rude and told us that we had signed a form at check in which stated we understood our bill would incur these charges. When i asked her to explain further, as far as what these taxes are for she raised her voice to both me and my husband and said we would have to take them to court if we wanted to fuss about it and it wouldnt matter anyway because to business was up for sale anyway. Unbelievably unprofessional! When i learned that the hotel was under new managment i just had to see for myself how it had changed so i reluctantly booked for our next island visit. We arrived at night and im surprised people who havent been here before can actually find the place because the buildings are so dark and gloomy it kind of gives you a haunted house feel. Mind you we paid about $150 after all the taxes for a waterfornt bungalo 2 yrs ago and and our room rate now was about $300 so i was expecting huge upgrades. The room itself did look better, the bathroom was done over and so was the kitchen but i could still here everything that went on in the adjoined room. So if you are ok with hearing your neighbor sneeze, cough and even pass gas then this is the place for you. The breakfast even got smaller. They claim to serve fresh hawaiian fruit but all i saw was canned fruit. I was suppose to stay 4 nights but happily checked out the following morning. The absolute highlight of my stay was discovering that the rude woman who once worked at the front desk was now working as a housekeeper. I guess the new management has the smarts to know that this woman did not belong dealing with customers.
All in all im going to be honest...Yes the place has been upgraded but so have the prices ( Nearly double) You can get alot more for the price you pay going else where.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about their taxes!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank travel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us in Paradise. Our property is nestled in a quant residential Hawaiian area and unfortunately we cannot post large commercial signs to help find our property. We do our best to provide detailed directions and interactive map on our website. We are also located on google maps and many other sites. If requested we can send a map with driving directions with room confirmation. The resort and suites have been completely renovated. Our rooms have amazing upgrades and we offer many complementary amenities to make your experience memorable and enjoyable. We appreciate your input and use it as we continue to enhance the resort. We have a few suites we are upgrading with additional sound proofing. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Mahalo,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We took a mild chance on this accommodation, as there was little information about Paradise Bay, formerly Schraeder’s Inn, on the web. While there were some favorable reviews, some in the TA community raised the concern that many of these reviewers were “one-hit-wonders” with little-to-no review history.

Let me say, we really loved this place. The current owners have had this for about 9 months and have really fixed it up very nicely – touches of bamboo and art and hardwood floors and tropical plants and flowers everywhere.

We were looking to escape the Waikiki city scene for our last 2 nights on Oahu and in some ways I don’t feel like we really relaxed until we got here. We took the cheapest room, a one-bedroom kitchenette suite with technically no view and a lanai for $145 a night. I say ”technically no view” because while we in reality had a “parking lot view”, it was frankly the nicest parking lot view I’ve ever had, because all you see are mountains and vegetation, and you are surrounded by colorful plants and beautiful bamboo privacy fences. Our room was on the back side of the oceanfront units, so we were within stumbling distance of the waterfront Adirondack chairs.

One thing that some could find annoying but we found to be really cool were the deafening chorus of (mynah?) birds in the adjacent mangroves and the roosters from all over the neighborhood. Expect a ruckus as the sun sets and as it rises again. You may be visited by resident chickens and little dogs that chase each other around your legs, into the water, and off to another adventure. In short, this is not some sterile resort environment, but instead you are immersed in the natural environment of windward Oahu.

Neighbors seem nice and as respectful to you as you are to them. Got a nice nod from a man motoring his boat up the canal early morning, and got a shaka shaka from a lady at the gas station down the street.

There’s a lot of great little extras that Paradise Bay offers. Our first night there was “Mai Tai” night, a complementary night where they treat guests to a buffet dinner, free-flowing mai tai’s (which they continued to replenish long before you were ready to start looking for another), and a nice three-person Hawaiian band.

While we were enjoying our relaxing evening, a steady downpour surrounded us for a brief period, but we were snug-a-bug with our mai tai’s, our full plates, new friends (certainly a chummy place), and the great music.

On Friday nights they have mojito night (I love mojito’s!) and Saturday they take everyone out on their boat to the sandbar for a snorkeling excursion. I understand that’s a popular weekend excursion for residents too, so this is probably a really good time hanging out around real people from the area. Sadly, we had to check out on Friday, so we missed these other events.

Kayaks and paddle boards are available for free use during your stay. We kayaked briefly when we first got there (way before check-in time, too – thanks, Darcy!) and it was very peaceful.

The only potential downside here really has nothing to do with the resort. It’s only fair to mention, however, that the water in the Kaneohe area is not quite as crystalline blue as most other areas of Oahu. Still it was very peaceful and a nice place to relax waterfront or to go out kayaking or paddleboarding. Just might not be the place if you are looking for on-site beach and swimming.

I also wanted to note that I think that through the use of the word “Resort” in their name, Paradise Bay may unwittingly get themselves in trouble in terms of expectations of guests who haven’t done their research. As much as I love this place, I wouldn’t naturally think of it as a resort. Oasis? Absolutely. Retreat? Sure. Resort? I don’t know – that word means different things to different people. They’ve appointed the rooms quite nicely and have a lot of extras, but for the person looking for lavish pools and spas and boutique shops, etc etc, wow, will they be surprised. Not really what this is all about.

And just a quick note on service. We had checked in (i.e. dropped off luggage, room was not ready yet) very early and then gone down to Hanuuma Bay. Returning that evening, we were tired and sticky icky and needed showers and had very little time before the Mai Tai night started. We wished out loud as we zipped up the coast, how nice it would be if our multitude of heavy bags would miraculously appear in our room. Noting that this was not a full-service resort, we did not expect this, but thought how nice it would be. Upon return, they happily informed us that everything was in our room ready for us. I proclaimed my undying love for the lady at the front desk and we headed down to our fabulous little pad.

In short, I would not hesitate in recommending Paradise Bay to someone looking for a relaxing option outside of Waikiki. I may go so far as to suggest this as THE option if you don’t want to pay Turtle Bay prices or deal with a VRBO rental with cleaning fees and the additional concerns that can surround rentals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JunkyBurrittos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Aloha! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Paradise Bay Resort! Thank you for all your kind words, I admire your attention to detail. We have put a lot into the resort to make it what it is today and we always enjoy when people notice the smaller things!(The bamboo touches on the property) We admit we are very different from any resort on the Island and we think thats what makes us so special. We were happy to accommodate you in anyway necessary, including taking your bags to your room. We hope that you can come again for another stay with us in the future and get to experience our Mojito night and Sandbar boat excursion! A Hui Hou Kakou Malama Pono!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Beautiful place. We stayed only three days so could not enjoy all the possibilities offered. We did enjoy canoeing, and every morning a great breakfast on the terrace. Driving to Honolulu and other sites is easy, it is well worth staying there and enjoy the view and the quietness, Very friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Aloha! We are happy that you got to enjoy some of our amenities and hope you can join us again soon to expore all that we have to offer. Maybe next time you'll make the boat cruise and Wednesday Night Aloha Dinner! A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

As a resident of Oahu, this place was a great getaway for me. The rooms were fantastic and stylish. The views were amazing and the owners were wonderful. I highly reccomend this Gem on the island to anyone seeking a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Aloha! We're very glad you got to get away for a while and have a staycation at our resort! Thanks for your kind words about our resort, the views and the owners. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This resort is a perfect place for an out-of-the-way, mellow, scenic stay on Oahu. It consists of several separate buildings on a hill next to a lagoon at the entrance to Kane'ohe Bay, with 2 mountain ranges in the distance. Very beautiful. I've read some negative reviews on Paradise Bay and I think they stem from one particular building that is not so nice and is where we were first assigned. It's basically an apartment building on the street overlooking the neighborhood with the ambiant sounds of dogs, roosters, cars, children....not exactly paradise. I asked to upgrade and was accomodated with no trouble and very little extra cost. Then all was wonderful. The resort offers a few free activities which I encourage everyone to take advantage of: Friday night Mojitos, Wednesday night dinner, and especially the Saturday morning boat ride on the bay. It was a highlight of our trip, with snorkling on one of the best coral reefs I've ever been to, and a chance to walk around on the extensive sand bar. It's also a great way to meet the other guests. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are attractive and comfortable with fans and a/c, and the view is spectacular. We tried several of the restaurants the resort recommended and were never disappointed, and returned a few times to a couple of them. The windward side of Oahu gets more clouds and rain but it's very intermitent and actually a nice break from the hot sun after exploring elsewhere. Depending on your needs, I think the prices are reasonable for what you get. Larger, waterfront buildings can be pretty spendy but for a couple or small family, there are less expensive options that are great. Naturally you can get a great package deal staying in Waikiki but you'll get a Las Vegas strip ambiance that is not the real Hawaii. If you're thinking tropical paradise, think Paradise Bay Resort and and least check out their website.

Room Tip: Ask to not stay in the Tuberose building unless you're on a very tight budget. It's still clean and nice but not the best representative of the resort.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackorama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Aloha!
We are very glad you enjoyed our tropical paradise here on Windward Oahu. Our Tuberouse building are our budgeted standard rooms perfect for those guests traveling on a budget. The nice thing about these rooms is that the guests still get to enjoy all the complimentary amenities the resort has to offer but at a lesser cost. We are glad we were able to upgrade you and that you got to participate in all of our resort activities. We hope you can return in the future! A hui hou!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews