We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Avoid Waikiki. Get a place on the Bay. Great family, business, & romantic setting!
Mahalo

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C2sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Mahalo for your kind words! We like to hear when our guests enjoyed themselves, we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

The positive:
- Very quiet, room on the water , beautifull setting on a bay
- Kayaks are a bliss
- Staff is SUPER helpful, congrats to Kyle in particular
-Very accomadating with needs of guests

The negative:
- Cannot swim in the bay as the water is very murky
- Tired room (obviously not all room have been renovated)
- Breakfast out of paper cup and plates looks so cheap, even if nice view!
- Kitchen is too simple to cook anything

Room Tip: ask for room that are renovated, ours the 42 was not and we felt it was not a good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyHappyToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Mahalo for staying with us during your visit to Oahu! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that our staff helped you with all of your needs. We are a bay front property with great complementary water activities such as kayaking and standup paddle boarding for our guest to enjoy beautiful Kaneohe Bay, as well as our Saturday Sandbar excursion. All of our rooms have been renovated but we are still continuing to modify and upgrade them. We wish you would have told us you needed a larger kitchen for cooking, most of our suites have kitchenettes and some do have larger full kitchens. We hope you got to have the ultimate Hawaiian experience and will come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

It is difficult to say enough about the Paradise Bay Resort experience. My room was extraordinarily comfortable and the view absolutely breath-taking. The staff went above and beyond the call and were amazingly helpful, always pleasant, friendly and really made my stay magical. There is a wonderful spa and a lovely breakfast served each morning. I travel to Honolulu at least twice a year and have stayed in a number of different places. Do yourself an ENORMOUS favor, by-pass every other place and go straight to Paradise Bay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view. But even if you don't the morning view from the lanai at breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Mahalo for choosing us for your Hawaiian vacation and for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and the amazing bay views! We always strive to make sure all of our guests have a great say with us and get to have a true Hawaiian experience. We hope to see you again next time you travel to Oahu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My family decided to take a little get away without the busy city life so we thought of this place. The friendly staff and warm welcome and not to say all the extra ammenties my family enjoys staying here. Are stay here is well enjoyable and would recommened it to all of you the newly renovated rooms are well designed. If your looking for peace and not the busy life then this is the place you should be at.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony over looking ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Aloha Lisa!
Thank you so much for coming to visit us in Paradise, we are glad you enjoyed your relaxing stay. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon!
Mahalo for your Kind words. a Hou Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at Paradise Bay when it was called Schraders Inn and we had a horrible experience with an old woman working at the desk when we tried to check out. We questioned the 7% surcharges that were added to our room on top of all the other taxes and the woman was extremely rude and told us that we had signed a form at check in which stated we understood our bill would incur these charges. When i asked her to explain further, as far as what these taxes are for she raised her voice to both me and my husband and said we would have to take them to court if we wanted to fuss about it and it wouldnt matter anyway because to business was up for sale anyway. Unbelievably unprofessional! When i learned that the hotel was under new managment i just had to see for myself how it had changed so i reluctantly booked for our next island visit. We arrived at night and im surprised people who havent been here before can actually find the place because the buildings are so dark and gloomy it kind of gives you a haunted house feel. Mind you we paid about $150 after all the taxes for a waterfornt bungalo 2 yrs ago and and our room rate now was about $300 so i was expecting huge upgrades. The room itself did look better, the bathroom was done over and so was the kitchen but i could still here everything that went on in the adjoined room. So if you are ok with hearing your neighbor sneeze, cough and even pass gas then this is the place for you. The breakfast even got smaller. They claim to serve fresh hawaiian fruit but all i saw was canned fruit. I was suppose to stay 4 nights but happily checked out the following morning. The absolute highlight of my stay was discovering that the rude woman who once worked at the front desk was now working as a housekeeper. I guess the new management has the smarts to know that this woman did not belong dealing with customers.
All in all im going to be honest...Yes the place has been upgraded but so have the prices ( Nearly double) You can get alot more for the price you pay going else where.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about their taxes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank travel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us in Paradise. Our property is nestled in a quant residential Hawaiian area and unfortunately we cannot post large commercial signs to help find our property. We do our best to provide detailed directions and interactive map on our website. We are also located on google maps and many other sites. If requested we can send a map with driving directions with room confirmation. The resort and suites have been completely renovated. Our rooms have amazing upgrades and we offer many complementary amenities to make your experience memorable and enjoyable. We appreciate your input and use it as we continue to enhance the resort. We have a few suites we are upgrading with additional sound proofing. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Mahalo,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We took a mild chance on this accommodation, as there was little information about Paradise Bay, formerly Schraeder’s Inn, on the web. While there were some favorable reviews, some in the TA community raised the concern that many of these reviewers were “one-hit-wonders” with little-to-no review history.

Let me say, we really loved this place. The current owners have had this for about 9 months and have really fixed it up very nicely – touches of bamboo and art and hardwood floors and tropical plants and flowers everywhere.

We were looking to escape the Waikiki city scene for our last 2 nights on Oahu and in some ways I don’t feel like we really relaxed until we got here. We took the cheapest room, a one-bedroom kitchenette suite with technically no view and a lanai for $145 a night. I say ”technically no view” because while we in reality had a “parking lot view”, it was frankly the nicest parking lot view I’ve ever had, because all you see are mountains and vegetation, and you are surrounded by colorful plants and beautiful bamboo privacy fences. Our room was on the back side of the oceanfront units, so we were within stumbling distance of the waterfront Adirondack chairs.

One thing that some could find annoying but we found to be really cool were the deafening chorus of (mynah?) birds in the adjacent mangroves and the roosters from all over the neighborhood. Expect a ruckus as the sun sets and as it rises again. You may be visited by resident chickens and little dogs that chase each other around your legs, into the water, and off to another adventure. In short, this is not some sterile resort environment, but instead you are immersed in the natural environment of windward Oahu.

Neighbors seem nice and as respectful to you as you are to them. Got a nice nod from a man motoring his boat up the canal early morning, and got a shaka shaka from a lady at the gas station down the street.

There’s a lot of great little extras that Paradise Bay offers. Our first night there was “Mai Tai” night, a complementary night where they treat guests to a buffet dinner, free-flowing mai tai’s (which they continued to replenish long before you were ready to start looking for another), and a nice three-person Hawaiian band.

While we were enjoying our relaxing evening, a steady downpour surrounded us for a brief period, but we were snug-a-bug with our mai tai’s, our full plates, new friends (certainly a chummy place), and the great music.

On Friday nights they have mojito night (I love mojito’s!) and Saturday they take everyone out on their boat to the sandbar for a snorkeling excursion. I understand that’s a popular weekend excursion for residents too, so this is probably a really good time hanging out around real people from the area. Sadly, we had to check out on Friday, so we missed these other events.

Kayaks and paddle boards are available for free use during your stay. We kayaked briefly when we first got there (way before check-in time, too – thanks, Darcy!) and it was very peaceful.

The only potential downside here really has nothing to do with the resort. It’s only fair to mention, however, that the water in the Kaneohe area is not quite as crystalline blue as most other areas of Oahu. Still it was very peaceful and a nice place to relax waterfront or to go out kayaking or paddleboarding. Just might not be the place if you are looking for on-site beach and swimming.

I also wanted to note that I think that through the use of the word “Resort” in their name, Paradise Bay may unwittingly get themselves in trouble in terms of expectations of guests who haven’t done their research. As much as I love this place, I wouldn’t naturally think of it as a resort. Oasis? Absolutely. Retreat? Sure. Resort? I don’t know – that word means different things to different people. They’ve appointed the rooms quite nicely and have a lot of extras, but for the person looking for lavish pools and spas and boutique shops, etc etc, wow, will they be surprised. Not really what this is all about.

And just a quick note on service. We had checked in (i.e. dropped off luggage, room was not ready yet) very early and then gone down to Hanuuma Bay. Returning that evening, we were tired and sticky icky and needed showers and had very little time before the Mai Tai night started. We wished out loud as we zipped up the coast, how nice it would be if our multitude of heavy bags would miraculously appear in our room. Noting that this was not a full-service resort, we did not expect this, but thought how nice it would be. Upon return, they happily informed us that everything was in our room ready for us. I proclaimed my undying love for the lady at the front desk and we headed down to our fabulous little pad.

In short, I would not hesitate in recommending Paradise Bay to someone looking for a relaxing option outside of Waikiki. I may go so far as to suggest this as THE option if you don’t want to pay Turtle Bay prices or deal with a VRBO rental with cleaning fees and the additional concerns that can surround rentals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JunkyBurrittos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Aloha! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Paradise Bay Resort! Thank you for all your kind words, I admire your attention to detail. We have put a lot into the resort to make it what it is today and we always enjoy when people notice the smaller things!(The bamboo touches on the property) We admit we are very different from any resort on the Island and we think thats what makes us so special. We were happy to accommodate you in anyway necessary, including taking your bags to your room. We hope that you can come again for another stay with us in the future and get to experience our Mojito night and Sandbar boat excursion! A Hui Hou Kakou Malama Pono!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Beautiful place. We stayed only three days so could not enjoy all the possibilities offered. We did enjoy canoeing, and every morning a great breakfast on the terrace. Driving to Honolulu and other sites is easy, it is well worth staying there and enjoy the view and the quietness, Very friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Aloha! We are happy that you got to enjoy some of our amenities and hope you can join us again soon to expore all that we have to offer. Maybe next time you'll make the boat cruise and Wednesday Night Aloha Dinner! A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaneohe
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,441 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Address: 47-039 Lihikai Dr, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-4743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Price Range: £162 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! We are very excited to announce the completion of our room and property renovations. We will continue to enhance the property as other resorts do, however the bulk of work is complete. We appreciate all of the input we received both positive and negative and we have used it to get to the point we are today. We were recently awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. We are blessed to be part of what we all consider to be the most beautiful tropical setting in the Hawaiian Islands. Now the property, accommodations and warm staff complement our surroundings. We call ourselves True Hawaii and what does that mean? Our setting reveals the answer. We are located in a panorama of spectacular natural and tropical beauty, from amazing Hawaiian mountain ranges and lush tropical landscape, to beautiful Kaneohe Bay, Chinaman's Hat Island and out to the Pacific Ocean. We border an ancient Hawaiian fishpond surrounded by lush tropical mangroves. The Kahuona Fishpond is one of the last remaining working fishponds and is designated a historical site. We are the only resort property with private access to Kaneohe Bay. Kaneohe Bay hosts the most abundant and diverse sea life and reef system in the Hawaiian Islands and our guests can access it safely right from the resort. Our design fits with the environment and has a contemporary and authentic Hawaiian look and feel. We thank our guests who have stayed with us in the past and helped to support us. We appreciate your patience with the renovations and know you will be delighted on your next stay. The property, guest rooms, new amenities, services and warm staff are here to take care of you. We offer our guests the same entertainment, special Saturday sand bar excursion and we have added a few more; a Friday evening Firedance Show, additional live Hawaiian music and surprise cultural classes. We have added some new things such as; a fitness room, Wi-Fi, on call spa service, new pool and hot tub, new floating lounge areas, conference room, intimate wedding ceremonies and we are pet friendly. We have renovated and upgraded our guestrooms with; new furnishings, artwork, premium pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding and linens as well as new flat screen TV's and IPod docks.Kayak use is still included and we also have Standup Paddle Boards and private boat charter available. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Paradise. Warm Aloha, David and Stephanie Ryan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Hotel Kaneohe
Schraders Windward Country Hotel
Schraders Windward Country Resort
Country Inn Kaneohe
Kaneohe Country Inn
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Oahu - Kaneohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing