We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I am sorry to say after flying 4,000 miles that we drove to this location and was GREATLY disappointed that we were going to be spending 9 nights in this "Resort". We have stayed at many resorts and/or B&B's and this was definitely not either. It is in a neighborhood surrounded by cars on blocks and roosters crowing across the street. Not to mention the MANY stray cats that roam the property. It was UNBELIEVABLE. We looked at a room and decided that this wasn't the "GETAWAY" we were looking for. Very disappointing that they also kept our first night of about $250. The pictures on their website is NOTHING like the location. We were truly upset and sorry that this place did not meet the expectations that the website promised.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

I brought a group students to Oahu in April 2012. Booking six rooms together was very easy, and very affordable. The hotel is beautiful. The grounds are well maintained, the rooms are updated and comfortable, the pool and spa were great, and the setting is magnificent. Kitchenettes were just enough, as was breakfast. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, even when we had to check out at 4am. We missed the Saturday boat trip to the sandbar, but the Wednesday luau was a nice treat. In Waikiki, you would pay extra for breakfast, parking, snorkel adventure, and kayaking. This was all included with our stay at the resort.

I was worried about the bug situation after reading some other guests reviews. I encountered no problems with fleas (and I'm a flea magnet), but there were mosquitoes out in the evening. It is a tropical area, so were are the typical creatures you find all over the island in every household (occasional gecko, cockroach, ant, etc). I would recommend this resort to anyone that wants to avoid the city/tourist scene on Oahu.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony over looking the pool. It was spacious and private. You get a pre-dawn serena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coach-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh S, Marketing/Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Aloha,
Mahalo for your kind words. We are so glad your booking experience was an enjoyable one and that you were able to take advantage of our extra amenities. We pride ourselves on our helpful staff and are always happy to receive compliments on them.

We wish you could have gone on our complimentary boat excursion to the Sandbar. Next time you visit us, we'll have to make sure to remind you to book through Saturday so you can enjoy it!

As was stated, we are in a tropical environment, which means we have the occasional tropical creature. We do regularly spray, but sometimes the mosquitos cannot be helped. We do offer bug spray to our guests upon request.

We look forward to serving you again, soon.

Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 days at Paradise Bay Resort. After a few days at a Waikiki Beach hotel for a convention, this quiet spot off the beaten track was just what we wanted. We took kayaks out each morning without the hassle of renting and we loved that. We also used the snorkel gear (although the water in front of the resort was not so clear when we were there, and I wish we had booked a guided tour out to Sand Island -- need to plan ahead for that.) We stayed in a mountain-view room and it was beautifully decorated, with a private lanai. My only complaint is that sound-proofing between rooms could be improved. But with lots of nice bonuses -- towels, gear, good (free!) food and music on Wednesday night, very friendly and helpful staff, and a cute dog, too -- well, I'll take Paradise Bay resort over Waikiki any day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh S, Marketing/ Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Aloha Chris,
Mahalo for the kind words. We are glad you were able to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and relax with us in Paradise. We are glad you took advantage of the use of our kayaks and explored the reefs in the bay. We have made a note about your concern for sound-proofing the rooms better and we will consider adding it to our extensive renovations. Next time you stay with us we'll be sure to book a guided tour to the sand bar for you! We look forward to seeing you in Paradise again soon!
Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Paradise Bay in Kaneohe Bay is a hidden treasure. It was quiet, relaxing and tranquil. Our room was like a studio version of "home" with modern decor, flat screen tv and wardrobes to be envied. The kitchenette would allow anyone a comfortable stay for days. (It had it all: blender, pans, dishes...)The boat crew and resort staff were so friendly & helpful. The trip to the sandbar and the reef snorkeling were a dream come true; I could have spent all day out there. The bay is perfect for kayaking or stand up paddling and both are available just for the asking. No matter what water activity you choose, all you need is your swimsuit and they provide the rest! Outdoor breakfast before paddling was a treat as we found an assortment of fruit, baked goods, warm beverages, their signature Passion Juice & more. My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay---it was just too short. No doubt, we'd come again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh S, Marketing/ Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Aloha Bonnie,
Mahalo for your kind words. We are glad we could provide you with a "home away from home" in Paradise! Thank you for the compliment to our staff and boat crew, we have a great team here. The sandbar excursion is a guest favorite here at Paradise Bay; we are glad you enjoyed it so much. We can't wait to see you again in Paradise.
Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was our first stop during our honeymoon trip to Hawaii. We had considered Honolulu side, but decided that we would prefer a bit of peace and quiet in paradise for the start of our trip.

We arrived via transfer, having neglected to book a rental car (much to our loss); as it is a way from the airport expect a shuttle to set you back about $50 or more for a taxi. This lack of planning was of course our fault, but a costly one! The hotel staff however were extremely helpful in arranging the nearest Rental company to come and collect us to sort out a rental as well as booking a taxi for our return. Advice - rent a car from the airport to save on transfers!

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room (after the suggested check in time) to find it had not been properly cleaned. We informed the receptionist, and a very apologetic cleaning lady arrived minutes later to tidy it all and even gave us a box of chocolates by way of apology for the inconvenience, which I thought was a nice touch. We were a little let down by this first impression however and slightly bemused by the surrounding area. The resort is set down a slightly shabby residential street - no other facilities are within comfortable walking distance, no food/restaurant options - nothing. With a car this is less of an issue (see notes above), but it does mean you need to bring in all your supplies with you.

Aside from a continental (bagels, yoghurt and fruit) breakfast, Paradise Bay provides no food (unless you count microwaveable cheeseburgers), which I think is a major failing in the type of Resort it is aspiring to be. I heard from several different people however that it has undergone extensive renovation over the last couple of years, so maybe this is something which it will develop in time - it would benefit the guests and the feel of the resort considerably. It is also slightly misleading with the Mai Tai evening notes - although it looks like a bar/restaurant, it does not serve drinks normally, so off to the shops again you go....

Kaneohe is not far by car (10 mins drive) and is pretty well served for shopping choices along with several dining options (think more local and lower end chain restaurants rather than fancy sit down affairs), so this served as our base for food and drink to bring back to the Resort. We would have had no problem with this if we had been aware beforehand that neither food nor drink are readily available on site, with no immediate alternative facility in place. Finding the resort on a "Hotels" website did unfortunately give us a slightly misinformed view of the site. This is a Bed & Breakfast not a hotel, and I do not think this is overly clear in the online information.

The resort, being set in a very local area, seems also to be used regularly by the local community. Virtually every night, locals came over from the road and were playing around in the pool (noisily) for some time. Several locals also came over to enjoy breakfast on a regular basis. Perhaps this is joint owned by the community, in which case of course they would wish to avail of the facilities, or perhaps it is open to locals in order to prevent any feeling of segregation or ill feeling in the neighbourhood. Regardless, it is a little galling to those of us who have travelled a LONG way to relax and paid for the privilege too to share the area with those who can enjoy it for free. Perhaps I am missing the point, and should be more community minded, but the impression and the price tag of the "resort" suggest something more than they actually provide.

My review is probably coming over as rather negative, however my wife and I really did enjoy our time here. The view from our room was fantastic looking our on to the river and the hills in the distance (however it was only partial bay view - more sea view commanded a considerable premium on our already non budget price). Not all the rooms benefit from such a pleasing wakeup vista - several of the rooms look out on to the residential street out the front, and I would really not have been very pleased if we had one of these! Three or four lodgings actually front out onto the bay, with many of the others like ours facing the mountains (still delightful).

So in short:
The pros:
- View (if you have partial/full bay view)
- Nice pool & hot tub
- Lovely views of bay & mountains
- Jungle noise in the mornings - amazing!
- Fantastic views from breakfast bar
- Helpful staff
- Free kayaking into the bay - great fun!
- Good location for Valley of the Temples and exploring the North Shore
- Much quieter than the Southern side of the island

The cons:
- View (if you got a street facing room, which we didn't!)
- Too pricey for the limited facilities available
- No food/drink options available beside breakfast
- Location is "weird" in terms of the surrounding messy residential area
- Rooms not as private as could be (thin walls, wicker/bamboo screens)
- Noisy locals detract from the solace

Would I stay here again? If I could get a good deal on the price then yes. If they start serving proper food and drink then definitely. If you want local amenities, then look elsewhere, but for a quiet retreat it fits the bill nicely.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is either full or at least partial bay view as those facing the street would not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh S, Marketing/Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Aloha Julian,

Mahalo for your kind words and advice. We are glad our staff were able to
help you get a rental vehicle in a quick and efficient manor. We do always
suggest that our guests get rental vehicles because of our remote location.
We apologize that we did not get the chance to suggest that to you prior to
your arrival.

We are currently revamping our housekeeping department to ensure each and every room is properly serviced every time. Your check in day was unusually heavy and we apologize for any inconvenience.

Paradise Bay Resort is in a tropical, rural location to give our
guests a taste of true Hawaii. The area we are located in is
typical of old Hawaii. Our beautiful island with its temperate climate allows us to live both
inside and outside of our homes to take full advantage of the island
weather.

We are glad you traveled around the area and explored Kaneohe. If you were
looking for higher end restaurants we would have gladly suggested many very
nice restaurants just ten minutes away from Kaneohe in Kailua. We wish you
had asked our staff about suggestions for different varieties of
restaurants. Our staff is always happy to suggest restaurants and
grocery stores in the area and would have offered you a
list of restaurants from high end to quick and affordable to try.

The Resort has gone through extensive renovations since the new owners
purchased it a year and a half ago. We appreciate your suggestions for adding
a restaurant on property. With the many dining options on Oahu we found
recommending our personal favorite restaurants gives our guests an
extensive taste of Oahu. For our guest's convenience we offer a 24 hour
quick shop on property.

As was previously mentioned, Paradise Bay Resort is set in a tropical
neighborhood. However, we are an exclusive resort and only registered
guests are able to use our facilities. To ensure that is always the case we
have security patrolling the property. However, we do frequently have local
guests who stay here to get away from "town."

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us in at Paradise Bay Resort
and we appreciate all of your suggestions. We hope to see you again in
Paradise soon!

Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a special place for the last night on Oahu. We chose The Paradise Bay Resort. Our room was a one room studio complete with a refrigerator/ microwave/ stove/ sink/ toaster/ all kitchen accessories and utensils necessary to be very self sufficient. More than ample storage in the room. Did we mention the flat screen w/ cable and remote in our room? A private balcony and adjoining large deck with a spectacular view. We were greeted with a smile and every courtesy was extended by the entire staff to make us feel at home. The boat ride to the "sand bar" was phenomenal and snorkeling on the shallow reef was unbelievable! They provided everything we needed for out outing in Kaneohe Bay. We also used the stand up paddle boards before we left the next morning...Kayaks were also there and available. A beautiful pool and Jacuzzi was available for relaxation also. Our stay although just one night was just the "quiet" we needed at the end of our trip. P.S...Come hungry to the complimentary breakfast! They have everything you want and more! The orange/passion fruit juice is a must. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh S, Marketing at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Aloha Tommy,
Mahalo for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Paradise. We are very happy to hear that you took advantage of the use of our kayaks and our stand up paddle boards! Too bad it wasn't breezy enough for you to go windsurfing on the bay while you were here! We hope you visit us again soon. Let's make it a week next time!
Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Don't believe what you see on their website I wouldn't even call this a hotel. It's more like a motel and a bad one at that!!
Although the view is nice the rooms are terrible!! The room we stayed in lacked any real character and instead felt very cold and uninviting. Large space for nothing with hardly any furniture no curtain on the kitchen window and extremely thin and see through curtains on the other windows making it not private and other units around us could see right into our room!! There were adjoining doors with about an inch of space underneath so that EVERYTHING said from the other room could be heard as if they were right in our room!! It was also very annoying that every sound from the room above was heard all the noise is due to the fact that there are bare floors in every room It was so noisy that I couldnt even sleep!!! Poor lighting at night with steep steps to our room made matters worse and with the rain I almost fell very dangerous I would never go back!!! It's not with it. There are a lot of better cheaper and safer places to go than here!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bambi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh S, Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Aloha Bambi,

We at Paradise Bay Resort strive to give our guests a relaxing and unique Hawaiian experience and we are sincerely sorry that you believe that is not what you were given. Your opinion is important to us and we will be sure to note all of your concerns. Since your stay we have renovated and upgraded many of our rooms and much of our grounds. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that we are the hidden gem of Oahu Resorts.

Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaneohe
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Address: 47-039 Lihikai Dr, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-4743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Price Range: £165 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! We are very excited to announce the completion of our room and property renovations. We will continue to enhance the property as other resorts do, however the bulk of work is complete. We appreciate all of the input we received both positive and negative and we have used it to get to the point we are today. We were recently awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. We are blessed to be part of what we all consider to be the most beautiful tropical setting in the Hawaiian Islands. Now the property, accommodations and warm staff complement our surroundings. We call ourselves True Hawaii and what does that mean? Our setting reveals the answer. We are located in a panorama of spectacular natural and tropical beauty, from amazing Hawaiian mountain ranges and lush tropical landscape, to beautiful Kaneohe Bay, Chinaman's Hat Island and out to the Pacific Ocean. We border an ancient Hawaiian fishpond surrounded by lush tropical mangroves. The Kahuona Fishpond is one of the last remaining working fishponds and is designated a historical site. We are the only resort property with private access to Kaneohe Bay. Kaneohe Bay hosts the most abundant and diverse sea life and reef system in the Hawaiian Islands and our guests can access it safely right from the resort. Our design fits with the environment and has a contemporary and authentic Hawaiian look and feel. We thank our guests who have stayed with us in the past and helped to support us. We appreciate your patience with the renovations and know you will be delighted on your next stay. The property, guest rooms, new amenities, services and warm staff are here to take care of you. We offer our guests the same entertainment, special Saturday sand bar excursion and we have added a few more; a Friday evening Firedance Show, additional live Hawaiian music and surprise cultural classes. We have added some new things such as; a fitness room, Wi-Fi, on call spa service, new pool and hot tub, new floating lounge areas, conference room, intimate wedding ceremonies and we are pet friendly. We have renovated and upgraded our guestrooms with; new furnishings, artwork, premium pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding and linens as well as new flat screen TV's and IPod docks.Kayak use is still included and we also have Standup Paddle Boards and private boat charter available. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Paradise. Warm Aloha, David and Stephanie Ryan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Hotel Kaneohe
Schraders Windward Country Hotel
Schraders Windward Country Resort
Country Inn Kaneohe
Kaneohe Country Inn
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Oahu - Kaneohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing