We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very pretty location overlooking the bay, but ignore the drive in. It is situated in a residental area, with some of the homes a little run down. The resort itself is lovely with off street parking, great views and lovely staff who are extremely helpful. We had a cottage right on the waterfront and the deck (lanai) was private and we had plenty of space. The basic kitchen worked well. We used the kayaks which are available free and the pool was lovely. We were very happy with the place.

Room Tip: Waterfront is great room 27 good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We enjoyed the calm, quiet of sitting on the lanai with a glass of wine looking at the ocean and mountains in a clean , cabin like feel one bedroom suite listening to the birds.
Great breakfast buffet!
Very friendly staff.
Small resort with many features.
We will go back someday.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were in Oahu three weeks ago. The Paradise Bay Resort was wonderful. We stayed in unit 42, which is one of the two-bedroom waterfront cabins. It was perfect for us. It's so rare to get to a place and see that it actually was well-represented by the photos on the website, but that is exactly what happened. It really looks like the pictures show. The room was clean, maid service was excellent (actually all the staff was top notch--can't say enough nice things about them), and the resort was really nice. Having the snorkel gear and kayaks available was just icing on the cake. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SomeonefromCaliforni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We especially appreciate your nice comments about our Staff, We take pride in our Aloha Spirit. We look forward to welcoming your back to Paradise on the Windward Coast. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We live here on Oahu and just returned home from from our 4 day staycation with our 2 kids at Paradise Bay Resort and we absolutely loved it!!!! I don't normally write reviews but feel compelled to do so, because we almost passed on this wonderful resort due to some of the negative reviews we read. I am so glad that we that we ignored those review and stayed here because we enjoyed every moment. The staff was friendly, the property was beautiful with lots of tropical plants and flowers, and our room clean and just perfect for what we needed to be comfortable. The Friday night dinner was good with all you could drink maitai's and a local singer with his niece dancing hula while we ate. The entertainers were very friendly and engaged with the kids, the hula dancer was so graceful and talented with a beautiful smile and her uncle the singer was very entertaining as well. The fire dancer was impressive and took the time after the show to teach my 14 year old son how to make fire and even gave him the sticks he used to make fire during the show. My kids spent the rest of the night rubbing the sticks together on our lanai trying to make fire (with no luck...lol) We also went out on the Saturday snorkel and sandbar trip, which was fun and a great value. You can spend over $100 per person for a snorkel trip on the island and this one was only $25 per person and included snacks, water, and all the gear. Our Captain and his assistant were very nice and gave us a lot of facts about the area, sea life, and even pointed out animals when we were snorkeling (turtles, eels, & tons of fish). They took us to a great snorkeling spot and we saw a bunch of fish and then got to enjoy some time on the sand bar. My husband and I took out one of the resort kayaks (free) and kayaked out to the reefs and saw a bunch of turtles, coral, and fish. The breakfast at the resort was good with a nice variety of different types of food and great Hawaiian coffee. The pool was a quaint and ton of fun for the kids with a hot tub for the adults. My husband and I enjoyed just relaxing on our waterfront lanai and enjoying the beautiful views or sitting on the shore gazing at the stars at night listening to the waves. It was wonderful to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the waves and cool sea breezes. Kualoa Ranch is a short drive away and a great way to spend the day, also check out Halei'wa Joe's restaurant and Mikes Huli Huli Chicken & Shrimp truck for some great food. If you are looking for the glitz and bars of Waikiki then stay in Waikiki, but if you are looking for a great relaxing vacation look no further. This is a less populated side of the island with much of its natural beauty intact unlike the Waikiki side, this is a much less touristy area. To me this place is the real Hawaii, so if you want a quiet family vacation on the most beautiful side of the island then this is the place to be! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42 right on the water with a little sandy spot with beach chairs. Beautiful views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. All of the Team here appreciate the kind words and we will pass them along to our Entertainers as well. We hope to see you again soon here at Paradise Bay. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This resort is amazing. Totally isolated and they treat you like family. Very easy check in and out. The breakfast was really good and you couldn't ask for a better view while eating. We used the kayaks in the bay one day and that was really fun.
The fire dance on Friday night is worth EVERY penny! We went to the Paradise Cove Luau and we hated it after having the intimate night at the Paradise Bay Fire dance show.
There is a Safeway down the street where you can get food. We were actually shocked at how good the prices were. There are also a ton of places to eat right there and a Starbucks! :)
In the mall, also in that same area, there is glow in the dark mini golf that is fun. We went and did that while it was raining.
Trust me you will love this location! You can hang out there is the peace in quite or go for a drive and find whatever you are looking for.
Also the beds are SOOOOOO comfy! I think I miss those the most! LOL

Room Tip: We got the waterfront one bedroom. Totally worth it!!!!!! Some room will have no view. Spend the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilk9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It is funny. I am reading the other happy reviews and I feel a little guilty not liking this resort at all. I just can't get past the unkepted neighborhood that you need to drive through to get to this resort. I thought that maybe we took a wrong turn driving to the resort.

I was expecting to see the beautiful view in the ads, but the view that we had was of a very dirty and muddy lagoon, a haven for mosquitoes. And I did get eaten alive by those nasty critters during our stay. If you drive along the coast, you can find the view in the photo, but this is not what we saw from our room.

The room with the kitchenette was lovely and clean. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, they have a dried grass mat on the ceilings. So if you are allergic to grass, this creative touch can make for an uncomfortable stay especially when coupled with being awakened around 5 a.m. to sounds coming from above of luggage being dragged across the floor.

The entire stay I kept thinking that we could have stayed at a much nicer place for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do agree that our location is hidden in a residential neighborhood; being on Matson's Point overlooking Kaneohe Bay - we are one of the only hotels/resorts on the Windward side of the island. I admit that sometimes the water right in front of our waterfront cottages can be muddy or murky after heavy rains due to run-off. However, a short boat ride or kayak trip from our dock takes guests immediately out into the clear blue waters. My entire Team joins me in doing everything to make each guests' experience memorable, and we all hope that you do decide to give us another chance if your travel plans bring you back to the Windward side of Oahu. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I don't know how we found this tiny little resort, it must have been through a random google search but we were not expecting too much going into it. After spending 7 days on the Big Island at the nice but incredibly "touristy" King's Land by HGVC, it was like a breath of fresh air to stay at the Paradise Bay Resort. While many tourists come to Hawaii expecting the best in accommodations, shopping, sightseeing, etc, my husband, myself and our 20 month old came to see the real Hawaii, and that is what this resort is blessed with!!

As the resort was recently taken over by new owners, they are still in the process of updating the resort in certain areas. The drive here from Honolulu airport was fantastic - mountains and rainforest views everywhere, and a great drive through the tunnels and small towns surrounding it. I don't understand the reviews from people on here saying the areas surrounding the resort were "questionable"… folks this is the real Hawaii, not your Gucci and Coach inspired stores of Honolulu and Waikiki! In fact, every day my husband, our 20 month old and myself took a long walk throughout the neighbourhood right down to the nearby beach (literally 2 minutes away) and the people and homes were fine, even stopping us to chat every day.

Our accommodations were perfect. We staying in a 1-bedroom King Bay-view suite. 5-star? No but modern, very clean, cozy and with a mountain/bay view to die for. Quite nice! In fact, for the deal we got on the room we were expecting way less, so we were really surprised by how nice it was. It had a kitchenette, which was perfect if travelling with kids! Plus you cannot beat waking up to the peaceful sound of the birds each morning. Sidenote - our lanai was very large and closed in along the bottom, so our son was able to play with his toys outside each morning and evening without us worrying if he would fall through.

There is no beach here per say…As I mentioned before, you can walk to the local beach 2 minutes away or drive to any other beach within 10 minutes in any direction. There is a pool and a hot tub, both we went in only once as our son isn't into swimming in the pool quite yet. The bay however flows right in front of the resort. The water is perfect…it was so calm and you could paddle out right into the ocean (which we did with our son on board - who is scared of water). You can rent a paddle board or just use the kayaks from the hotel for free. They also have 2 large floating docks to chill on, whether you would like to have your morning breakfast, lunch or supper on, fish or just suntan all day!

There is free and delicious breakfast every morning, and it varies each day. There is a supper you can attend on Wednesdays and one on Fridays, which includes appetizers, 2 mai-tais, live entertainment including a hula dancer and a fire-dancing on the dock - it was fun and the food was fresh and delicious.

Also on Saturdays is a boat ride that takes you to the sandbar in the middle of the ocean and snorkelling. The guides were FABULOUS - and we have done many of these same type of excursions before. This had to be the best tour we have done in a long time. My only complaint…we hoped it would have lasted longer than 2 hours! Other than that there really isn't much else to do at the resort, but again, you are in an area that is within 10 minutes of the Polynesian centre, 20 minutes from Waikiki, 30 minutes from Pearl Harbor and 5-10 minutes from many beaches/state parks, most which were empty half the time anyways…In a state that charges ridiculous amounts of money for every excursion and item you buy, you have all these things for free around you...what more can you ask for in Hawaii?!

Most important thing about the Paradise Bay Resort had to be the service. This was unbeatable. From the people staying at the resort themselves to the workers and the owners. They were so eager to always help you out, talk to you, give advice as to where to go, etc. Tom was especially wonderful…my son couldn't stop chasing the cats and every day he would find Sammy for him to come and pet!

We were so blessed to have been able to find this little piece of heaven in the middle of the Hawaiian Islands, and had it not been for staying here, I don't know if we would have come back to Hawaii, being the islands are so commercialized now (last time I was there had to be over 20 years ago). The Paradise Bay Resort changed our minds and this will definitely be the first place we book next time we choose to come to Hawaii again!! Thank-you for a wonderful end to our holiday!

Room Tip: Go with a 1-Bedroom or 2-Bedroom bay-view room, or an overwater room…they had some of the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RMCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Paradise Bay Resort. We are so happy that you enjoyed your room and our location, and even more so your kind comments about our staff. We pride ourselves on our True Hawaii Aloha Spirit, and do everything we can to make each guests' experience memorable. I will pass your kudos along to Tom at the Front Desk, and let Sammy the cat know that your son misses him. My Team joins me in looking forward to welcoming you back to Paradise. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaneohe
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,186 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Address: 47-039 Lihikai Dr, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-4743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Price Range: £164 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! We are very excited to announce the completion of our room and property renovations. We will continue to enhance the property as other resorts do, however the bulk of work is complete. We appreciate all of the input we received both positive and negative and we have used it to get to the point we are today. We were recently awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. We are blessed to be part of what we all consider to be the most beautiful tropical setting in the Hawaiian Islands. Now the property, accommodations and warm staff complement our surroundings. We call ourselves True Hawaii and what does that mean? Our setting reveals the answer. We are located in a panorama of spectacular natural and tropical beauty, from amazing Hawaiian mountain ranges and lush tropical landscape, to beautiful Kaneohe Bay, Chinaman's Hat Island and out to the Pacific Ocean. We border an ancient Hawaiian fishpond surrounded by lush tropical mangroves. The Kahuona Fishpond is one of the last remaining working fishponds and is designated a historical site. We are the only resort property with private access to Kaneohe Bay. Kaneohe Bay hosts the most abundant and diverse sea life and reef system in the Hawaiian Islands and our guests can access it safely right from the resort. Our design fits with the environment and has a contemporary and authentic Hawaiian look and feel. We thank our guests who have stayed with us in the past and helped to support us. We appreciate your patience with the renovations and know you will be delighted on your next stay. The property, guest rooms, new amenities, services and warm staff are here to take care of you. We offer our guests the same entertainment, special Saturday sand bar excursion and we have added a few more; a Friday evening Firedance Show, additional live Hawaiian music and surprise cultural classes. We have added some new things such as; a fitness room, Wi-Fi, on call spa service, new pool and hot tub, new floating lounge areas, conference room, intimate wedding ceremonies and we are pet friendly. We have renovated and upgraded our guestrooms with; new furnishings, artwork, premium pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding and linens as well as new flat screen TV's and IPod docks.Kayak use is still included and we also have Standup Paddle Boards and private boat charter available. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Paradise. Warm Aloha, David and Stephanie Ryan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Hotel Kaneohe
Schraders Windward Country Hotel
Schraders Windward Country Resort
Country Inn Kaneohe
Kaneohe Country Inn
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Oahu - Kaneohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing