We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hidden Gem in Kane'ohe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Hidden Gem in Kane'ohe!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was only there for the weekend for a sporting event and picked this property for three reasons: Location, Location, & Free Parking... I REALLY wish I was there for longer! The property is in a quiet neighborhood with no other hotel in sight, no ABC store every ten feet, no rude haoles!
The "room" was a one bedroom suite! It was WAY more than what I needed and the only thing I found strange was that their was no in-room phone, which I found that I LOVED!!!
Extremely friendly staff, excellently care for property, excellent amenities!
Not even a grumble from house cleaning from all the Mud I left in the shower than I was gonna take care but they beat me to it!
I come home to the Islands every year and I will be back to Paradise Bay!
Mahalo nui loa!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    127
    51
    31
    38
See reviews for
153
285
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The resort must have spent a lot of marketing money on propaganda for this resort and I bought it but with GREAT disappointment. first, the resort is located in the slums. There were very few nice units, the remainder units fit the surrounding location. second, it is located on the rainy side of the island, we never saw the sun until we went to other side. During our first night we were flooded by rain pouring into our room from the door and walls. The unlit one foot wide steep stair case that led to our room acted like a funnel with all the rain landing in our room. The landscape was over grown so our view was limited. Third, The free breakfast was limited to what ever was left over when you arrived; they did not restock. Fourth, the pool area was dingy and moldy as were the bathrooms in the rooms. The bathroom in our room as VERY tiny, musty with mold on ceiling. They moved us to the best unit on the resort which was MUCH nicer but even the shower in that bathroom was moldy. I asked room service to bleach it but I'm not sure that they knew how.

I thought I was buying a Marriott boutique experience but it turned out to be a hotel eight experience. I booked for 3 nights and could not get a refund so we simply slept there. I'm not sure how much they are paying for the reviews so be careful.

Room Tip: stay on the other side of the island. We found Diamond Head to be the nicest area for weather and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earl N, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Aloha Candy,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the resort. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I regret the bathroom facilities did not meet your expectations and we have already discussed this with our housekeeping leader for her review and correction. As for the rain, we are on a tropical island and it does rain hard from time to time. I'm sure it rains just as hard in Florida sometimes. All of our collateral state that we are on the tropical Windward side of the island away from the crowds of Waikiki.

Again, we are sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. It is unfortunate that you think we pay people to write positive comments. Most people truly enjoy the peacefulness and tranquility of the resort. Despite your disappointing experience, we hope that you were able to take home many fond memories of your island visit .

With Warmest Aloha,
Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have no idea what others are thinking when they rate this anything over 1 star - this was a bad experience! If you want a vacation - stay somewhere else. The website is misleading - this place is located in a rundown area that leaves you worrying about your safety and the safety of your vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauriU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earl N, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your your experience with us. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Everyone has their own opinions on the property and most, focus on the resort itself and really enjoy it. I can tell you that we have a good relationship with our neighbors and have never had any problems with them.

Mahalo again for your time and we hope that everything else worked out for you on your vacation.

With Warmest Aloha,

Earl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As you can tell from some of my other reviews, I don't sleep well and care about bed quality. This was one of the best beds I've ever slept on. We received a free upgrade to a two bedroom suite on the canal. I think the room number was 41. It was a very unique situation which we thoroughly liked. We had large lanai and were adjacent to the floating dock. Yes the water is mucky here. I understood that going in. It is in a bay on a canal. It's not really oceanfront but it is on water. There is a nice mountain view from the restaurant. We did not eat dinner here. The breakfast buffet was not good. The eggs were always cold and there was never enough. The rooms were nice, the beds amazing, and the location good as long as you have a car. I would most definitely stay her again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ivankurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I thought I was a hotel snob then I read some of the other recent reviewers. I thoroughly enjoyed this place. They certainly don't market themselves as an enormous mega-resort like Turtle Bay, so if that's what you're looking for....uh, then book Turtle Bay. However, if you're looking for a relaxing hidden gem without pretentiousness and exorbitant fees then look no further. It's nestled along what's referred to as a "tributary", which leads to the ocean right around the corner. The rooms are quaint with nice lanais and a mini kitchen. They do have an air conditioning unit that worked great, and a nice upgraded bathroom. Along with free parking and the free breakfast (which consists of hot dishes as well as pastries coffee and juice), you have unlimited access to paddle boards, kayaks and snorkel equipment. It is off the beaten path, and you should definitely get a rental car if you come here, but if you'd like a low key serene place, I highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The internet site made this place look upscale, inviting, water involved top end resort. Reserved a "beachfront cottage" so we could spend quiet days lounging on the beach and enjoying water activities. Nothing could be further from reality!
This "resort" is located in the middle of a working class neighborhood (nothing wrong with this type of neighborhood, but pics made the appear to be a high end location). Checked in and was sent down a steep trail to our "cottage". The view as arrived at our cabin was of a tidal basin that appeared full of backwash from a sewage or drainage feed. Water was black and filthy looking. This is NOT an ocean front property. It is a stale tidal basin with NO BEACH and water you wouldn't dare put your toe in. Stepping to the front door we were greeted with some smoke wafting from the guests on the other side of the paper thin divider on the deck. Because there is no air conditioning (or perhaps there was a window unit that was not on or working), the windows were open and the smoke was wafting throughout the room. The inside of the room was dark, dingy and very old looking. The furniture was rustic at best. Within 5 minutes my wife begged me to get out of there, even if we had to end our vacation on the first day. She was ready to go home. I went back to the check in desk and asked to get my money back so we could leave. They gave me back the $1,200 I just paid, but would not refund the $350 deposit I provided. I finally was willing to pay $350 to walk away from this trash heap. They did inform me this was a non smoking facility and guests can't smoke. I urged them to go visit the guests on the other side of the paper divider. Beware if you look at their internet site....it is NOT what it appears to be. As an ending note, I called Turtle Bay when we left this dump and was able to book the most amazing room, with the most incredible views for less than what this dive was asking for their room. This property almost ruined our annual get away to the islands. Costly lesson learned.

Room Tip: Don't book a room. The water front cottages are not a value because you won't want to get i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rock J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Look, I'm not going to harp on about this, just be aware of the following if you book a stay here:

The views of the mountains are beautiful but you need to know the rest:
They only serve dinner twice a week I think and you need to book. It is only 35 bucks a head for three courses. We left early so did not try it.
They don't serve lunch
They don,t have a bar
Breakfast is only available from 7 to 9am. I am still asleep at 9am, I don't know about you.
The furniture is on the tatty side with dusty floors and the decor is very dated, dark and gloomy. The place is not exactly cheap. We paid the big bucks even with the "special deal" that was non refundable.
There is a stovetop but no oven. The fridge is large. The saucepan was a bit dirty.
There was no DVD player and there was no tv in the bedroom.
The wifi DOES work so we ordered takeaway pizza! Basically the only food available that night.

I found it interesting walking around the purely residential neighbourhood the place is located in. I liked looking at all the houses. It is a bit like New Zealand. That was the highlight of our trip here.

There are no restaurants within walking distance, just the yellow mikes chicken truck on the highway which is not open late. But it is worth visiting. Paradise bay resort is basically a self catering experience so make sure you hit the grocery store before you arrive. Don't bother with the so called Hygenic Store on the highway unless you just want a can of Campbell's soup. The Seven 11 next to the chicken truck is even worse.

We do like cats so we're fine with the many who live there but if you hate cats, watch out, they are there in force and lovingly tended.

We lasted one night and went back to Honolulu. Eighty bucks down the tubes each way in taxi fares plus two nights stay wasted. It just wasn't what was portrayed in their materials. Lesson learnt on our side buff I do think the nature of this accommodation should be spelled out more clearly on the website as there is no way we would have booked it had we known what it was really like. I would not call it paradise. And please get rid of of the little squares of broken glass that litter the ground at the entrance of the reception area, near the the paving stones. . They seem a bit dangerous. And mr manager, please don't feel you need to reply to this. I really don't care.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Subber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaneohe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Address: 47-039 Lihikai Dr, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-4743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! We are very excited to announce the completion of our room and property renovations. We will continue to enhance the property as other resorts do, however the bulk of work is complete. We appreciate all of the input we received both positive and negative and we have used it to get to the point we are today. We were recently awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. We are blessed to be part of what we all consider to be the most beautiful tropical setting in the Hawaiian Islands. Now the property, accommodations and warm staff complement our surroundings. We call ourselves True Hawaii and what does that mean? Our setting reveals the answer. We are located in a panorama of spectacular natural and tropical beauty, from amazing Hawaiian mountain ranges and lush tropical landscape, to beautiful Kaneohe Bay, Chinaman's Hat Island and out to the Pacific Ocean. We border an ancient Hawaiian fishpond surrounded by lush tropical mangroves. The Kahuona Fishpond is one of the last remaining working fishponds and is designated a historical site. We are the only resort property with private access to Kaneohe Bay. Kaneohe Bay hosts the most abundant and diverse sea life and reef system in the Hawaiian Islands and our guests can access it safely right from the resort. Our design fits with the environment and has a contemporary and authentic Hawaiian look and feel. We thank our guests who have stayed with us in the past and helped to support us. We appreciate your patience with the renovations and know you will be delighted on your next stay. The property, guest rooms, new amenities, services and warm staff are here to take care of you. We offer our guests the same entertainment, special Saturday sand bar excursion and we have added a few more; a Friday evening Firedance Show, additional live Hawaiian music and surprise cultural classes. We have added some new things such as; a fitness room, Wi-Fi, on call spa service, new pool and hot tub, new floating lounge areas, conference room, intimate wedding ceremonies and we are pet friendly. We have renovated and upgraded our guestrooms with; new furnishings, artwork, premium pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding and linens as well as new flat screen TV's and IPod docks.Kayak use is still included and we also have Standup Paddle Boards and private boat charter available. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Paradise. Warm Aloha, David and Stephanie Ryan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Hotel Kaneohe
Schraders Windward Country Hotel
Schraders Windward Country Resort
Country Inn Kaneohe
Kaneohe Country Inn
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Oahu - Kaneohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing