We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show!”

FIA FIA Polynesian Show
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great show!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Fia Fia is a wonderful show. Because it's at the Marriott Vacation Club Ko Olina (not the JW) it isn't a huge crowd so you are closer to the action. They incorporate all of the Polynesian dances and traditions and the cast is great. The chief is a piece of work! The food isn't bad for something like this. Some people try and watch it from the side and the lobby balcony but to really enjoy it you should pay and be seated right in front. It's definitely worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    51
    13
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Watch For Free Above”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We watched most of the performance from the hotel's lobby balcony. Looked like a good show. I'm glad we didn't pay for it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevetanyaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best thing we did in Hawaii”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After reading several luau reviews online, we decided to choose the Fia Fia based on all the excellent reviews and the fact that it is a smaller luau than most. Boy am I glad we did!!! Fia Fia was so amazing! We were very entertained. The Chief makes the show. His personality is delightful and funny. The food was also very good. No complaints at all!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Highlight of the Trip”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We wanted a luau for our family but didn't want to attend a huge event where everyone gawks at a charred pig being raised from the earth. We read about Fia Fia and gave it a shot. It was truly amazing.

It's a very intimate luau. Buffet dinner was very good, but you're there for the show. The chief is a remarkable MC and host, and comedian too. The dancers and musicians are extremely talented, and the fire show at the end was incredibly impressive. I was fortunate enough to be chosen to be one of the four honored chiefs and to participate to a small extent in the show and, well, I'll remember it forever. More importantly, my kids will. They took a video of it and watched it over and over. Thank you for that, Chief. The memory will last a lifetime.

This was truly a remarkable show led by a charismatic and genuine man, supported by a great troop of dancers, singers and other performers. Skip the mega-luau and try this instead. Trust me. You won't regret it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Show keeps getting better”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

FIA FIA is held weekly at the gorgeous Marriott KoOlina Beach Club on Oahu. This was our third time attending FIA FIA over the last 6 years. The show was much the same but with equal or better energy and delivery. FIA FIA delivers a tour of The Pacific cultures (including Hawaii, New Zealand, Tahiti, etc.). They respect these various cultures amend strive to be as educational, as entertaining. The fire dancing was spectacular and a great improvement over prior years. Compared to other luau-like events, there is a small crowd allowing for plenty of access to the performers and essentially good views from all seats.

As a final note, the food is standard Luau fare with Kalua pig, poi, chicken, fish, rice, and more. One nice feature is a kid's buffet with Mac 'n cheese, chicken fingers, and hamburgers. It is all catered by the Marriott. My wife thought the food quality had gone down but admitted she may be remembering poorly from prior years.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FIA FIA Polynesian Show also viewed

 

Been to FIA FIA Polynesian Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing