We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney's Aulani Resort & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disney's Aulani Resort & Spa”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed 5 days at the resort and wish we never left. Upon arrival, cast members were already prepared and ready for us with a bell hop and greeter offering water, leis, and a quick tour of the lobby. During check-in, opt-in for the ability to charge expenses to your room key. It'll save you the hassle of bringing your wallet when you're out and about the resort (key cards are waterproof, so don't be afraid to keep it on you when you're in the pools).

We stayed in a standard view room and had a view of some mountains and a part of the parking structure. Unless you're really picky about what you see when you open the curtains, I would suggest booking a standard view to save you a few bucks. You'll probably be wandering around the resort all day anyway.

The food, as you can read from the other reviews lacks in choice. There are plenty of options around the area, and you have the option of going out to grocery stores, etc... to bring back things you can heat up later (request for microwave/toaster). Aside from that, the food I thought was the best were at the quick service vendors (Mama's Snack Stop and One Paddle, Two Paddle). We also tried room service for breakfast and the selection was relatively the same as you could get at the dining options around the resort.

Pools, tubs, and water slides were amazing. Look around the valley for hidden tubs and pools. A few of them are hidden, and much more secluded and quiet. The cove is a great switch after spending a lot of time at the pools. Be sure to bring your room key with you, you'll need it to get back into the resort. There are plenty of chairs and resort guests can ask a cast member to set up an umbrella wherever they're sitting.

The spa is amazing. The Disney Imagineers definitely put a lot of thought into how a spa should be built. There are six outdoor showers that spray in all manners (the shower that sprays up from the floor was a little tricky to work), a hot and cold tub, whirlpool, and steam and sauna rooms. Book an appointment, you won't be disappointed. Be sure to go at least an hour before your treatment so you can explore the rest of the spa area.

There are plenty of activities at the resort going on all day. We booked an excursion tour to hike Manoa Falls, and thought the experience was great, despite the fact that my leg was annihilated by mosquitos (bring plenty of bug spray). There are plenty of excursions you can check out.

Overall, it was a great experience, and I will definitely come back in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the 3rd floor. It's the main floor as the lobby, so there'll be lots of foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,944
    1,278
    457
    188
    138
See reviews for
3,545
695
31
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We arrived at Aulani after a week in a private condo on the beautiful island of Maui. At first blush, the island of Oahu is industrial by comparison, yet on turn off of the highway and paradise was found. What a memorable experience pulling up to the magical resort and being greeted with pikaki leis (love the smell!). As usual, Disney provides fun for all...a wonderful quiet pool where adults can get away from it all, great restaurant options, pools for all ages complete with a water slide mountain that contained the chaos so as not to detract from the surroundings, on property snorkeling at rainbow reef and a beach that was almost too perfect to be true. We travelled with our 9, 14 and 19 year old kids, we all had a blast! Oh, the spa is unbelievable, not to be missed!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tucker334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

As a DVC member I was blown away by this magical place. Loved everything about it. Great accomodations, pools, kids waterpark, great waterslides and lazy river, all good. They do need more tubes for the lazy river. Restaurants a little expensive. Places to go off grounds. Beautiful Ko Olina location. Excellent service as always. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel has that distinct feel of Disney magic about it and compared to the other hotels around it rather stands out. It has a wooden outside that makes it look a lot more interesting than the concrete hotels near it.
The vacation club villas are set out like most other vacation club resorts and are spacious and well set out. There is a large kitchen which contains more convenient utensils than some other resorts, for instance there is an electric kettle in these ones and a rice cooker. As the hotel is newly opened as well the equipment is all brand new and pristine. There is a good sized lounge area with a large TV and 2 extra beds, a sofa one and one stored beneath the TV.
The room is a good size with another large TV and there is a balcony of both the bedroom and lounge. The bathrooms are a good size with a large waterfall shower and 2 sinks again and there is 2 closets for clothes. There is also a washing machine and dryer in the kitchen area. The only thing is that the safe is fairly small and probably would not fit a lap-top in but fits essentials like passports and small amounts of jewelry and small digital cameras.
As usual there is a general store which does sell some breakfast things but there are also a number of restaurant options as well. The pool area is truly brilliant and would be amazing for kids and families as well. There is a large amount of seating available and a large pool. There is also a lazy river that is a reasonable length and there are 2 water slides available. One which you go down on rubber rings that leads into the lazy river and one which is a body slide. Both are surprisingly faster than expected and a lot of fun. There is also a water playground area for small children with wooden bridges etc. and a pool you can snorkel in and a ray experience pool as well as a quite pool for adults.
There is a snack styled place to eat in the middle of the pool area and a shave ice stand as well as restaurant options.
The gym here is very well equipped with modern equipment and there is also a spa suited to everyone needs and a special teenage spa. There is convenient covered parking that is free to people staying at the resort and a charge applies to other people coming here for dinner etc.
Overall this is an amazing hotel and as always has some of that Disney magic about it. It is extremely well suited to families and children however teenagers would still enjoy it and it could be enjoyable as a couple. There is a lot to do just in the hotel and it is nice that it is out of the busy Waikiki and Honolulu area yet still being a near enough drive to them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We took our daughter and her friend to the Aulani resort as a graduation gift.We arrived in Honolulu airport at 1 pm and drove for about a half hour to the resort without any traffic.We had checked in prior to our arrival so when we drove up to the front of the resort all we had to do was get out of the car and go to our room.Our room key was handed to me as i got out of the car.The bags were brought to our rooms. The car was parked and we were all given lei's by the greeter.The rooms had a small fridge,microwave,toaster and coffee maker.We had oceanview rooms over lookin the pool lagoon.The resort is located in Ko olina within walking distance to the Marriott Beach club.There is an ocean walk way 1 1/2 miles in length for walkers or runners like myself.The beach is on a man made lagoon with little or no waves because of the breakwater.If you need to buy any food or supplies there is a small store near the lobby where you can get coffee,snack,breakfast food etc.There is also an ABC store across the street form the resort that carries everything.The prices are outrageous.$6.99 for cornflakes,$4.99 for 1/2 gal of milk.We drove out and found a Costco and a target about 10 minutes away with better more down to earth prices.There is also a Safeway but their prices there were also very high as well .The resort is beautiful.There is a buffet breakfast with the characters for the kids.The lounges were very nice and had nightly entertainment.There's nothing around the resort that has any mickey logo.The resort has an Hawaiian theme with hawaiian music being played all day.It is very relaxing.If i were a kid again i wood want to play at this pool.Two water slides,a lazy river,and a quiet pool for adults.The main pool featured Mickey and goofy every afternoon for the kids around 1:30. Chip n dale show up near the main lounge once a day for pictures as well.But this is the only time they are seen in the resort.When it was time to check out we had the bell service take all of our luggage and hand bags and keep them until it was time to return to the airport.The resort has a lounge for guest that are checked out but want to stay and use the resort until its time to go.It has showers,lockers,towels,restrooms,2 tv's,the use of computers should you need to print your boarding passes.We stayed 4 hours.The resort needs more restaurants to cater to families.It is pricey and there is not much in the Ko olina area to choose from.There is a Denny's across from the Costco that you will need to drive to.The one thing that stood out for all of us was the friendly service.The conciege were most helpful in many ways.I would give them 6 stars

Room Tip: Make all of your dinner and breakfast resevations even if you are not sure of what time before you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishwhiskey135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

This resort is so beautiful! The landscaping is like heaven. Of course the staff is friendly, attentive and extremely pleasant and helpful, as only Disney does it! Our room was on the 4th floor so we really didn't have an ocean view, but we had a view of the lazy river and could enjoy the live music from the Oleo Room from our deck. The lazy river was relaxing and the water slide was actually fun, even for a 45yo! Loved the KoOlina lagoon areas, so pretty!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

As DVC members my husband and I decided to go to Disney Aulani for our honeymoon. The resort itself is located in a small beautiful town called Ko Olina on the island of Oahu. We decided to rent a car at the airport so we could explore the island on our own time. By the time our flight landed and we got our luggage it was after 6:00pm -during the hours of 4:00-7:00pm there is A LOT of traffic, so if you are traveling during this time please just be aware. We were told that September was the best time to visit the island - great weather and fewer families with kid's. We also found out that during the months of October-May it is their rainy season, sometimes it can rain for 40+ days without sun.

When we arrived at the resort we were greeted by cast members who gave us each a lei - flowers for women and shells for men and give us a quick tour of the resort. During the first few days we stayed at the resort and went to the beach and pool during the day. At the beach it is very easy to get beach chairs anytime of the day. We went up to the pool every afternoon and it was pretty easy to find chairs there as well. If you are interested in seeing the pool party with the characters - Mickey, Minnie and Goofy sit around the main pool - Waikolohe and you will see everything. There is a large volcano in the center of the pool which has 2 water slides. One of the slides leads down into the lazy river which we loved.

We ate at all of the sit down restaurants at the resort. Every morning we went to Olelo Room for the continental breakfast - the chocolate chip muffins are AWESOME! We ate at Makahiki three times, the character breakfast once and dinner twice. We had the buffet and the a la carte menu - both were just okay nothing special. We ate at Off The Hook for lunch almost everyday and one night for dinner. The food was very good for both - if you are looking for a little meal one night eat there. We ate at Ama Ama twice as well. We loved this restaurant, the view during sunset was beautiful and so were the meals. If you want to see the sunset make your reservation around 6:30pm, you will get to see the sunset, listen to live Hawaiian music and also get to see the fireside storytelling. We also had dinner at Roy's across the street from the resort - we had another great dinner their as well. All of our meals were reasonable priced. My husband and I like to have good meals and eat out at home (New Jersey) many times a week. The quality of food was great and the prices were similar to those at home.

One day we traveled to North Shore - what a great time. We were able to see the surfers, shop and have a great lunch at Giovanni's shrimp truck. If you get a chance to go to the North Shore the shrimp trucks are a great lunch or even dinner. We also took the tour to Pearl Harbor that was offered by Disney. I enjoyed the tour but we didn't have much time to see everything we wanted to. If you rent a car, go to Pearl Harbor on your own time so we can see everything it has to offer. The last day of our trip we went to the Hawaii University Stadium to the market. It was a great place to buy Hawaiian gifts to bring home.

Overall, we had a great trip and honeymoon. However, if you are going for the "Disney Magic" this is not the place to go. It is more of a relaxing vacation with a few characters, but a beautiful resort!

Room Tip: DVC members are in a tower of their own. We had a pool/island view because they were doing work on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Property: Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing