We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, eating, relaxing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Aulani for a 'year' later honeymoon. I was a bit hesitant at first thinking what are 2 grown adults w/o kids gonna do at Aulani? But we have friend who lives in the area and wanted to stop over after our trip to Waikoloa so we booked it.
My parents tagged along although they had booked their Hilton points in downtown Waikiki. We dropped their stuff off first at Hilton Ha Village then headed to Ko'olina to check us in and have dinner at AMA AMA.
Let's just say when we arrived I could see how grand and beautiful Aulani was, tastefully decorated, magical, not in a over stimulating, greeted with Leis, fast check in, room and grounds were gorgeous.
My parents immediately cancelled Hilton Ha Village (have you seen their rooms and grounds lately? Way back when they were top notch, circa 1980 - uh but now not so much, overcrowded cramped and old).
Dinner at AMA AMA was fantastic, the best meal, the best service and chef ever.
Pool was fantastic, as a almost 40 ur old, I felt like a kid again going around the lazy river and down the slides.
Spa was fantastic and relaxing, the lomi lomi massage was excellent. They also let you take home a oil bath salt that smelled so great.
Room was clean and comfortable.
For those that are complaining about cost of food, well you must know you are in a resort with resort prices. We only ate AMA AMA that one night, the rest of time we ate in the town of Kapolei, Waikiki, etc - try Zippys for affordable meals, pho factory, side street restaurant, boots and kimos, monkey pod, sensei, there is food everywhere, you just have to look on urbanspoon or here on trip advisor for tips.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
10  Thank Huongn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,365 - 3,371 of 5,352 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

First class Disney treatment all the way. From the moment we checked in the service was top notch. The bellman, concierge, servers, lifeguards, and everyone else in Disney Aulani uniforms were very helpful and friendly. Our children (5 yo twin girls) loved the kids play areas, Aunty's beach house (area where you can drop off kids for a while), the interactive tablet game, and of course the Disney characters who rarely had the sort of lineup you expect from the Disney parks. The food was quite good, although pretty pricey. There are good cafes and a nice sit-down restaurant (Monkeypod) right across the street with a little bit more reasonable pricing, however. There also seemed to always be room around the pools and on the beach to claim a few lounge chairs (unlike Disney Cruises where it is impossible to get a lounge chair). Other positives include a character and hawaii dance party, a movie night and a pretty good 24 hr fitness area. All in all a great holiday and we will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for beach view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RebelHawkDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The place is not even 1/4 full but we could not have a late checkout. It is in the middle of nowhere so you have to pay Disney prices for food which is extremely expensive. There are a few restaurants across the road which are much more reasonable and a better quality of food. The Disney food is stodgy rubbish and $45 for a character breakfast even if you are not interested in the characters is way too much. Pools, water slides and spas are great and it is on a bay section of the beach so no big waves for little kids. Lots of people there to help but ask for something different and it won't happen. Rooms are very clean and well serviced which is expected at that price level. We paid more for an island view but still got a view of the car park ! I can look out the window and only see one light on in another room, would be a nice idea to give guests a nicer view as it makes you want to come back. No rides and not much of the way of Disney other than in the on site shop

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timeaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I was seriously impressed with this hotel and its service. They have done an incredible job of making this resort feel Hawaiian with a sprinkle of Disney and TONS of magic. It is not Disney in your face and is extremely tasteful. Do yourself a favor and get the DVC (Disney Vacation Club) rooms. Check out David's Rentals who rents out points for DVC and are usually less than paying rack through the hotel or consolidator. Also, check out the Disboards and search for the Aulani views thread. It gives you a map and layout of the different room and views for each room. You can put in a request and hope for the best.

Here's the funny think about this trip...we went without our kids. We are DVC members and had points to burn. I was very worried about it not being a relaxing and romantic trip. Wrong. It was awesome, relaxing and dare I say it....peace-full. I would say couples should avoid high season. I was actually missing my babies because there were so many things they would be squealing with delight at. Aunty's Beach House looks amazing. Racks or dress up clothes and giant TV sized Ipad's with interactive games for multiple kids to play. The Disney details.

The food at the hotel was better than expected after reading reviews but after awhile it gets boring. I'm actually a bit annoyed I went in with that pre-conceived notion because I would have not thought the food was questionable at all. I think the pool menu needs some updating and definitely needs a fabulous chicken nacho and some different sandwiches. Having a room with a kitchen or even a fridge and micro will not only help your wallet but keep you sane. The dinner buffet was excellent and very reasonable for all that you get. My husband was in heaven with the all you can eat sashimi. He said it was extremely fresh and he knows sushi. The character breakfast one morning is a must. Amazing breakfast and the kids are just delighted with all the interaction and activity.

Very impressed with all the activities for the whole family from the wee ones to teenagers. The Spa is lovely. The price is steep but the experience was worth it. Complete relaxation and a wonderful massage. We will definitely be going back to this amazing resort!

Room Tip: Check out the DISboards and search Aulani Views thread. It's only a request but its worth a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AGalagrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My daughter (5yearold) and I loved this resort. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the facilities are great, clean and exceptionally monitored by life guards. The rainbow reef pool was excellent for little ones learning to snorkel.

We also had a keiki wahine afternoon at the spa, while I had a mani/ pedi which although a little expensive was of a very high quality and we both enjoyed ourselves.

This was our first Disney resort experience and in every way it matched up to its reputation. Unfortunately it has made the next part of our holiday pale in comparison!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We brought our 3 oldest children and 6 grandchildren, ages 10-2 here and it was amazing! There was something for everyone. Activities everyday or just sit by the pool or on the beach. The staff is attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The kids couldn't believe it when Goofy came to the pool! We had movie night, character visits everyday, games and crafts. The 'AMA'AMA restaurant had THE best steak ever and the poolside food was very good. They even have a shaved ice shack! There was a pool for every age. The slides were scream worthy and the lazy river was, well relaxing. Would come here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the largest refrigerator and microwave. We made a Costco run to help keep the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

some great things about Aulani are, the story teller- watching the sun set while he told us stories about Hawaii around the fire was really cool..the drinks they do a great Mai Tai.. the water slides for both young and old.. and of course the Characters.. we had our 1(almost 2) year old little girl with us and it was magical...don't forget to hit the ABC store across the street for a supply stock up...love this place the memories are magical

Room Tip: we got a room on the ground floor..i highly recommend this as it makes for a nicer bigger sitting ar...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank SeanTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range: £350 - £647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing