We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Birthday Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for only one night so that we could take advantage of the Hawaii resident discount during their peak season. It was one of the most glorious, fun-filled and relaxing 2 days we've had together in years. With the special rate, we were able to get an Oceanfront 2 bedroom villa with a full kitchen, dining room, living room and 2 lanais for about $439.

We arrived early and started enjoying the wonderful food and atmosphere right away - and had lunch at Longboards which overlooks the lagoon. The frozen Mai-Tais were our favorites. We explored and could have used the pools and jacuzzis before even getting our room. They call you on your cell when your room is ready - - and there are restrooms large enough for changing if needed. Since it was late June, there were a lot of kids in the pools, so we swam and waded in the tranquility pool. Sooooo relaxing and fun (and quiet). There are a lot of pools and jacuzzi's to choose from as well as water slides, which we didn't do but will definitely do that on our next visit. We had a wonderful romantic dinner at Chucks Steak & Seafood and watched the sunset from our table. I recommend the seafood over the steak. The resort has a full activity list for families, singles and couples, which reminded me a lot of the cruises we've taken.... but we wanted to spend time by ourselves on this trip. After dinner, we spent hours on the large lanai in our room. There was live Hawaiian music playing in the distance. The view was spectacular as the sun was going down and then the resort was softly lit with tiki torches and walkway lights winding through the pools. The next day they didn't kick us out, thank goodness - and we eventually packed up and called for our bags to be picked up about the time we were supposed to be checking out. Since we planned to spend the entire day there they offered a room for showering and changing but we decided not to take it and we really didn't need it. They held onto our bags and we spent the entire day enjoying the pools, relaxing in the shade near the tranquility pool and enjoying a great lunch at Longboards and drinks at a pool bar.

Even though it was just one night, we felt fully fulfilled and were ready to go home without wishing we had another day. There's just so much to do here if you like the ocean, swimming pools, gorgeous views and romance. We will definitely be going again, but will select an off-peak time during the school year so there are fewer kids. The Marriott Ko'olina Beach Club is my favorite resort on Oahu by far.

Room Tip: The villas are very spacious and depending on the time of year, the rate was similar to a regular gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,926
    717
    239
    83
    61
See reviews for
1,493
943
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We are MVC owners and have stayed in many of their beach and ski resorts. This may be one of the most beautiful of all. The location and views are amazing and it looks like a Maui resort as opposed to part of Oahu. The rooms were great and the whole resort is landscaped beautifully.

This is a "created" beach in that they have created a peaceful bay cut out of the rocky western coastline, but it is so gorgeous you won't care. The sand feels a bit different than other sand but again, who cares. This location is way away from the hustle and bustle of Oahu, for better or worse, but it truly feels like an Oasis. First class all the way

Room Tip: Ocean view and near the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It could be because I've been lucky all these years, but every time I've stayed at a Marriott vacation club, the rooms/price ratio was reasonable. But not this time.

The furniture on the Guest Room/Ocean Front (small) balcony had to be rearranged so that we could sit outside. Our high floor ended up being the 5th floor (but I understand that perhaps all the other rooms where taken). If you can, higher floors are better.

That aside, the grounds are beautiful. The lagoon (#3) is nice. The main pool & waterfall river always get crowded and you need to get down early to get a spot. By 7:30am towels have already taken over the chairs that have umbrellas. Unfortunately the slide was closed each day as well.

If you're looking for a quite non-crowed pool, go to the reflection pool.

The (free) locker room for resort guests is a nice touch, so that you can change/shower and keep things locked up while waiting for your room or wanting to stay after the 10am checkout (we asked to check out a 1/2 hour later and it was a no go). If your locker stops working, fiddle with the latch (move it forward or backwards) and it should work.

We ate at the Longboard (good food-can't go wrong) and walked to the other resorts as well.
If you want to see turtles, take a short walk to lagoon #2 and snorkel along the center rocks on the left side.

It's a great location, great concept, and a kids paradise, but for the same money I would stay at a different beachfront hotel. There just wasn't any wow factor for me.

Sorry Marriott - I do love your other properties, though....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club is outstanding!!! Staff. Views. Pools. Beach. Locale. All amazing!!! Without question, the most beautiful area on Oahu! We had a 3 bed/3 bath with a Platinum Ocean View. I strongly recommend the upgrade if it's available. That view in the early morning and at sunset pays for itself! The paradisiac ocean lagoon and beach immediately in front of the resort will leave you speechless! Additionally, there are several beautiful pools, one of which requires relative quiet so not alot of kids splashing about. There is great food and live music at Longboards. There are excellent drinks at both bars, and a Marketplace where you can get hot food, including bento and pizza, as well as some grocery store essentials for a somewhat reasonable price (or try the ABC store just down the road). Lastly, there is a free shuttle that runs until 11:00pm which will take you to any of the resorts along the beach, other restaurants, the ABC store, the Golf Course and the Marina. Just don’t be late because you will miss it. Up the beach, just past Lagoon #1 (other side of the J.W. Marriott Hotel), there is a small beach where some very big Sea Turtles swim. What an experience that was.

The Marriott Beach Club is an exceptional family getaway during the summer months. I am told the clientele mix changes in the Spring and Fall months to be less kids/more adults. The only thing I would change is that everything closes down at 10:00pm. For the traveler without children, it would be nice to have a bar with music, maybe even dancing, that stays open until at least midnight. Even so, I will return in the near future because it’s just that good!

The luau on property is excellent. Pre-dinner entertainment was in the form of a lei making station and a “tattoo” booth where you can have one of the male hula dancers draw a tattoo on you with a sharpie pen. If you want it to last, don’t wear suntan lotion to the show. My tattoo was a traditional Hawaiian tattoo for women, drawn on my calf in less than 5 minutes. These guys are artists and very, VERY hot! Seriously ladies, even if you want to wash it off immediately, get a tattoo! The food was very good and the show was sensational!

NOTE: this is a timeshare condominium complex, but do not be dissuaded if you are envisioning a compulsory presentation. The Marriott timeshare program is outstanding, but they do not come after you. They want you to enjoy your vacation and listen to a presentation if you'd like. The presentation was offered to us one time and that was it. After hearing from many other owners on the property how amazing it was, I decided I'd hear the presentation so, with only a few days left on my trip, I called them to book an appointment. No hassle!

We booked our trip through a company called Vacation Candy. They were able to put us in touch with a timeshare owner that wanted to sell their week at a very reasonable rate. The staff at Vacation Candy was extremely helpful and made the trip virtually trouble free. I suggest you check them out for price comparison. You might be able to afford more than you think.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer the best views and less noise from the pools below. Splurge for a Platinum Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeidiOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Took my sister and her family and stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which actually sleeps eight. Plenty of room. The grounds are lovely. While it is a large resort with multiple buildings because the property is spread out and has multiple pools it never felt crowded. The town of Ko' Olina is about 30min. outside Honolulu. Quiet and mostly crowd free and the drive into town isn't bad at all. This place has a lot of activities scheduled during the day and evenings from exercise programs, to kids activities, to poker tournaments to star watching. Its all onsite. The lagoon is super safe for the kids. The restaurants are a little pricey but that is the advantage of having the villa. It comes with a full kitchen and there is a Costco minutes away. Also some great food close by. Monkey Pod and Roys were two of our faves. The thing that really stands out about the place is the staff. Super friendly and it is genuine. From the guy who is out early every morning cleaning the grills that were used by people the night before, to the front desk, to the towel distributors, they are all really really nice. If you do come to Oahu I highly recommend two activities. You have to go to Pearl Harbor and I think the Polynesian Cultural Center is super and worth the drive. Its a chance to see also see the famous north shore.

Room Tip: Unless you are a Marriott owner its hard to get the new building but they are all pretty good. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlandau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Cannot miss coming here every year. I actually feel homesick for this place when I have to leave. The most picturesque sunset on the planet and I am in no way exaggerating. Did not give them a 5 out of 5 though because the dissed the chief! Fia Fia was one of the best luaus on the island and Marriott did not renew their contract this year. Stupid mistake. We made the drive up to the Sea Life Park to see the chief and his crew anyway and were so glad we did. Just a shame that the best luau on the island no longer comes with the best sunset...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbearrentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is truly a favorite vacation spot and the Marriott Ko Olina is one of the best locations in Hawaii. The beach is awesome with a lagoon to swim in, beautiful pools, and many restaurants within walking distance. The boat harbor offers snorkeling trips and a Heliport for a sightseeing trip to cover all the sights. I will always count this spot as a favorite and will return as often as my budget allows.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view, or a first floor walk out to the pool. Its always nice having a kitchen, so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginadesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,910 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Property: Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing