We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice but came day before hurricane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
1 review
“It was nice but came day before hurricane”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Don't plan on getting into your room until 4.... If you want an ocean view know that you need to be specific.. If you can see any part of the ocean it is considered an ocean view. But the staff!!!! Count not be nicer. The most pleasant people ever!!! Beach and bars and restraunts all closed due to hurricane which was nothing more than a small amount of misty rain and some winds. Kinda a bummer there. But toured other two hotels JW and Alani. So happy we stayed here!!! Way too crowded there.

Room Tip: Be VERY specific about what you expect! You'll get what you want if you just politely ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,956
    727
    244
    86
    62
See reviews for
1,528
951
34
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family spent ten days at Mariott Ko Olina beach resort. We are Marriott timeshare owners since 2009. Our home base is Aruba. This was our first stay outside of Aruba. Suffice to say it was a disaster. We requested ocean view and mid level (above the fifth floor). We received ground floor and our view was a tropical bush. Some much for being Marriott timeshare owners. The cracker staff at Ko Olina lost our housekeeping services request. When we called with the email confirming our housekeeping dates, they argued with us. Waiter service around the pools was a joke. The staff would come by once a hour in a brisk walk (I thought they were training for the 2016 Olympics). To top of the vacation our last day the guest above overflow the tub which preceded to pour though the ceiling of the master bathroom. We called the front desk who put us on hold! Finally (after ten minutes) the engineering staff appeared. They told me I should have went to the guest above us and told them to shut off the water. Amazing! The engineering staff cleared the water and replaced the towels. Marriott did not offer us anything for the inconvenience. Still waiting for the beach resort manager to call. The sales pitch focused on buying trust points (1500 points for $18,000). Yikes! It appears Marriott will be adding new properties available to trust point owners. Another money grab. We are done with Marriott. The grounds and facilities at Marriott Ko Olina were good but not outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here in 8/14. Wonderful resort, wonderful accommodations. Had a three bedroom suite which was very spacious. The lagoon area is lovely. The pools are great and we always found chairs. Also attended the Luau-it was a great night. We had a wonderful time! Great resort!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maevecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First the good part. The hotel is in a secluded Ko Olina area of solely high-end vacation clubs and houses. The surrounding landscape is beautiful. It's very peaceful and quiet. No crowds or traffic that you will see in Waikiki. The amenities are standard Marriott quality. The best part of the hotel is a man-made lagoon for swimming and casual snorkeling. It's very safe even for young children. Showering, restrooms and a casual restaurant just a minute walk away. The lagoon really distinguishes the hotel from others of similar price range. Only JW Marriott, Disney and another vacation club have such lagoons. It is very unique and enjoyable. Much better than any Waikiki hotels in this regard.

However the reception desk did not do a good job communicating the amenities to me at check-in. Nothing about the lagoon, programs in the nearby marina, or the Paradise Cove Luau. Neither on any offerings for excursions to other parts of Oahu. People spend quite a bit of money to stay in this place. The reception desk staff should be trained to not only assign rooms and inform guests about logistics like pool towels, but also highlight to guests on unique features of the hotel and other programs. Don't expect guests to read the fine prints in the packet.

The location of this hotel is far from many other attractions in Oahu. Except for a few sailing programs in the marina nearby, good restaurants, shopping, surfing schools, hiking tours, etc., are all at least 45 minutes drive from this hotel. While the distance in miles is not far by continental standards, the traffic on Oahu is ugly. The H1/H2 and H2/H201/H3 highway junctions are horrible to get through in mornings as early as 7:30am and even worse during weekday afternoons. If you plan to do a lot of excursions you need to consider this factor seriously.

This hotel belongs to Marriott vacation club. I'm not a member. So while in the hotel I attended a sales presentation. I almost decided to join the club. But one thing betrayed the very convincing presentation: the sales office is on the 14th and 15th floors, the top two floors and hence the best asset of the hotel, and so large the square footage it probably can build 5 or 6 2-bedroom units.

I just thought that if I were the boss of this hotel how I could have allowed such premium asset, worth maybe 15 million dollars, be wasted for the sales office, instead of generating income for me? Obviously all the sales expense, including the cost of this sales office, is paid for by club members. If I owned this place I would have the sales office in the basement! Or at least on the lower floors.

So I did not join.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SummerClearLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

When I arrived here from my very long flight from NY I was very tired and upset
that it took a 45 minute wait to check in. This to me was unacceptable. Charge
for parking was over $30 per day. This is more than most hotels in Waikiki. We
booked a 5 night stay and do not own a timeshare here. We got a studio king bed
nonsmoking. Two of the nights we heard running and stomping above us, very thin
ceilings. Also, in the tower that I was booked in, I was forced to valet park my
rental car. At home, I don't like others driving my $120k car that I own
outright back at home or any car I rent and then they have disclaimers that they
are not responsible. Also for this outrageous price, valets were not always
present. One morning it was 7:15am we there was supposed to be someone on duty
and there was not so by the time we called, it took 20 minutes for us to get
someone over there and get my car. Watch out-the bathtub is very slippery and
they do not provide a bath mat. I almost fell twice in the shower and my husband
almost fell once, very dangerous. Also, one night I was taking a longer shower,
the lights just totally blacked out on me in there and no window. I screamed for
help and thankfully my husband came in and the lights came on again, another
dangerous and cheap money saving scam they have going on. Bathroom door was
damaged and greatly discolored from moisture, didn't use a waterproof finish,
cheaply done. The carpet in the room was stained all over the place. Also very
important, the Room was way too hot. We couldn't get it below 74 degrees and
asked for help but it didn't get any cooler. Coming back to room, hot and took
too long to cool off to a hot 74 degrees. 72-74 degrees. Hot & uncomfortable.
Lost more sleep from already being tired. Air conditioning turns off even if you
are in room resting. Not what I expected from Marriott. This is also out of the
way location wise from many things. I would not stay here again. There are many
other nicer places yo stay for a better value and would also never buy a
timeshare here either, which they keep pressuring you about while you are
renting a room here. We went to a Roys for dinner one night. They served me cold
ribs. For the prices they charge, they really have some nerve and no quality
control allowing that dish to go out to me that way. I sent it back and the
second dish was hot, but ribs were very fatty and not fall off the bone like
they should be. The grounds were very attractive and well kept with nice
swimming pools. Disappointed overall in this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AVIATRIXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Donna. While we are disappointed to hear your recent visit did not exceed your expectations, we thank you for your feedback about your stay. The taxes and fees are listed on Marriott.com when booking online and in the confirmation sent out to each guest prior to their stay. We are sorry to hear the taxes and fees took you by surprise when checking out of the resort. The villa cleanliness you described is not typical for the resort and will be shared with our housekeeping team.

If you would like to speak with us further about your visit, please email customer.care@vacationclub.com with your preferred contact method and TripAdvisor username. You may also call us directly at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your TripAdvisor review and for visiting us in Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great resort and vacation spot for a family! What a beautiful view we had of the ocean! Picturesque at night!!!!! Many activities to participate in. You don't have to leave the resort for any reason unless you absolutely want to.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, above the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Being a timeshare owner this resort beats most, what other resort has an abundance of pools and spas, your own private beach and 2 really good restaurants and with activities they have activities for you through out the day from yoga on the beach at sunrise to making leis in the lobby area to even renting a car onsite, the rooms are beautiful beds are comfy pillows everywhere, the only thing I did not like about this resort was the bar by the slide pool super expensive 2 cocktails, a mai tai and a pina colada with an extra shot of rum was $39.00 so when Longboards is open for lunch hit up their happy hour and if your chillin by the serenity pool they have a cocktail server around that pool area and you can order drinks with them, and they bring it right to you poolside and all, also hit up Longboards breakfast buffet its $20 a person for all you can eat breakfast and it is amazing!! Chucks steak and seafood is also delicious they are only open for dinner and you can even order from your room and pick it up they dont deliver to your room unfortunately, but their food is amazing and it comes with all you can eat soup and salad bar, also this resort is super close to all the other resorts including the Disney Resort. Just walk along the boardwalk and you have access to everything. Every resort has their own private beach/lagoon.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Desiree8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,014 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,989 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Property: Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing