We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back but...”
Review of Ushio-Tei Restaurant - CLOSED

Ushio-Tei Restaurant
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Named for the subtle tides of Hawaii, Ushio-Tei is a quiet oasis in an authentic setting adjoining a peaceful Japanese garden. Ushio-Tei serves traditional Japanese fare including sushi and sashimi.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Will be back but...”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Buffet offerings were delicious despite the lack of white rice and sashimi. Great beef & fresh sushi, lots of side choices. Our server Austin was good. However my family & I were annoyed by mosquitoes (we sat inside and got bit) as well as the consistent, unprofessional, immature chit-chat amongst the other younger servers who obviously had too much time on their hands. Lined up by the food line talking story to each other about meaningless topics as diners filled their plates. Not the best ambiance for an upscale Japanese restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwbwbwbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Didn't Meet Expectations. If you're looking for fine dining look elsewhere.”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Went because of all the great reviews. Family of four, looking for a great dining experience. We are frequent sushi consumers, all around the country. In all honesty, my family and I all agree, this was a very average restaurant experience and entirely consistent with run of the mill hotel food. Yes, the salads and pickled vegetables are authentic and good. But, the sushi was uninventive and while seemingly fresh, not that tasty - just average. As other reviewers have noted, the selection is pretty limited. The salmon, steak and chicken were all overcooked and excessively salty. And the desserts ranged from OK to don't bother. The best thing we ate were cookies that weren't even on the buffet but were brought by our server. I am mystified by these other reviews. Definitely would not go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eppikureeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner buffet”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We went for their dinner buffet. We were really impressed by the quality and selection of their food. Every item seems to be well-prepared. Even the green tea tasted great. The service was beyond excellent! I strongly recommend their dinner buffet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayflowerSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Japanese buffet”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Fresh, inventive sushi, Japanese salads and poke, hot delicacies, great variety and quality. Unique cocktail offerings. Wonderful service, highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great dinner buffet”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

I was craving for some Sushi, that's why we thought of trying the restaurant out. Also, it had a very good review from tripadvisor. The selection of dinner buffet was great. A variety of sushi, tempuras, teriyakis, cold salads and delicious desserts. It's on the pricey side, but for those with "bottomless pit", it's a great place to be:) My husband and I truly enjoyed it. Our kids (ages 9 & 10) had plenty to choose from too. They especially liked the chicken teriyaki & shrimp tempura!

Helpful?
2 Thank DayungBidayuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ushio-Tei Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing