We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving dinner”
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We've been to Roy's in Newport Beach several times. The food is always excellent. While on our Thanksgiving holiday, we opted to eat here with their set holiday meal. While the restaurant setting was beautiful and the service above average, the set meal was a little too salty for our tastes. It may be an island thing? Would definitely eat here again but only choosing from their regular menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    316
    133
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Truly amazing!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Roy's we have had spectacular meals during our stay at Aulani. Food is fresh and impeccable. Wait staff is wonderful (Thank you Jubie, Matt and Chad!!). Dessert was to die for! We will finish our week with 3 dinners here! We sat outside and the weather was perfect and the view of the golf course beautiful. Thank you Roy's!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1970disneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“B-day at Roy's”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Roy's is a great franchise wherever you go. At Ko Olina, that franchise is a tad tarnished. I mean that only because it is the one fine dining experience there. Maybe the Marriott has got a nice place, too, but in terms of independent dining options, this is it. So they don't have to try too hard, nor do they, or do their customers. We had a blast, but it was in a reduced expectations environment. The entire Ko Olina experience is a good one, IF you know what you're in for -- remoteness and a very, very, very casual atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

There is no other word to describe it. The ribs were the best we have ever had. I had the Butterfish which just melted in my mouth. Our server was extremely attentive. It was such a good experience. I have not been "wowed" by a meal in a long, long time. This was WOW!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My father and fiance had been looking forward to visiting Roy's since we arrived in Ko'Olina. While we were seated right away and our waitress was very attentive, the food was awful. I like new and different foods, however they did not hit the mark on the combinations. We spent over $300 for 4 adults and 1 child. I have had better steak at Outback and better Sushi in the Midwest. Hopefully we just had a bad experience, however it did not make me want to ever try again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyssaBrooke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy's Restaurant also viewed

 
Kapolei, Oahu
 

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing