We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Polynesian Culture Centre - Oahu Hawaii” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polynesian Cultural Center

Polynesian Cultural Center
Book In Advance
US$99.95*
and up
Polynesian Cultural Center Luau
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Laie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the top Hawaii attractions includes the Polynesian Cultural Center, which features a 42-acre facility on the North Shore of Oahu. Founded in 1963, the nonprofit Center was created so that the students of nearby Brigham Young University Hawaii could work their way through college by sharing their island heritage with visitors. The students come from an area that covers approximately 12 million square miles of the Pacific Ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Polynesian Culture Centre - Oahu Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

These people are so very nice,friendly polite and respectful - the displays, shows, and food are fantastic. Plan as much time as possible for this visit. Very well manicured, tidy and great facilities at the centre.
Each Polynesian nation is represented and has a show demonstrating its culture. The procession of canoes representing the different nations is fantastic.
The Centre is manned by students from Brigham Young University Hawaii and is owned by the Mormon church.

The Luau was enjoyable and the food was good. The food is served buffet style and very promptly, also fresh and tasty. The staff were great, considering the amount of catering for hundreds of people at the Luau

The "Ha: Breath of Life" show was sensational, a must see stunning covered outdoor setting. Wonderful dancers, great, great story, fab music. The fire dancing fantastic. This is the best show I have ever seen

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,573
    1,330
    534
    281
    260
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to explore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The culture center is great for the knowledge and understanding of the polynesian cultures that represented. I enjoyed the laui, and the ha breath of life show. I would recommended visiting the center within two days. Trying to see the center in a full day was to much to do and we weren't able to see it all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmc-postgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well done touristic attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

If though it looks a little Disneyfied and artificial, you actually learn and get involved with polynesian cultures. HA Fire show in the evening is a very exciting... Luau experience and food, you can get better options, more traditional, in other places!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickTambosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Visited Polynesian Cultural Center twice. Last visit was 2011. I had a great time both times. The shows were entertaining and I had a really fun time. I would definitely recommend this place for first time visitors to Hawaii. I do think it's a bit pricey, but worth it to go at least once. I remember spending the entire day there both visits. Staff is friendly and the entertainers are great. I love that the entertainers look like they really enjoy their jobs. The food at the luau is mediocre.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic introduction to the Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wish we could have spent more time. Took 10:30 bus from Honolulu and the Center doesn't open till noon, but it takes you that long to travel and check-in. We did fell rushed to get everything in before dinnertime, so opening at noon isn't early enough! There are several villages to explore through activities and shows. Our 6 and 9 year olds loved it, and we found it very interesting. Once dinner starts, all the activities and little shops away from the main entrance close, so do what you can early. The Ali'i Luau dinner was ok, not quite as complete as I would have expected. I expected more of a variety of native fruits/vegetables and found basic American salad and basic fruit. The Ha Breath of Life show was absolutely fantastic! We had front row seats and could feel the flames. Excellent choreography and costume. Storyline is a boy growing up in the islands and going through the stages of life. No English, only a native tongue, but everyone can follow the story. We chose not to have a guide and was glad not to have to keep up with a large groupe. We just wandered at the kids pace. Maybe that's why we needed more time?!?! Beautiful grounds. Would highly recommend this activity.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polynesian Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Polynesian Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing