We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Education!”

Polynesian Cultural Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.95*
and up
Polynesian Cultural Center Luau
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Laie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the top Hawaii attractions includes the Polynesian Cultural Center, which features a 42-acre facility on the North Shore of Oahu. Founded in 1963, the nonprofit Center was created so that the students of nearby Brigham Young University Hawaii could work their way through college by sharing their island heritage with visitors. The students come from an area that covers approximately 12 million square miles of the Pacific Ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the Education!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Took our boys there, 13 and 16 for the first time and we are so glad we did! They got to experience the Polynesian cultures and learn a bit about each one. It was hot, late July, but well worth it. One recommendation, during the float parade of the different cultures, go early, reserve your spot IN THE MIDDLE of the section where they'll come by on their canoes. Those are the best seats!!! Last time we sat there but this time we chose a nice shady spot towards the end and it was definitely not a good place to appreciate each float. So sit closer to where the floats will be coming from! Love this place, worth every penny and we did NOT get the top package! Did stay for dinner and the last show which was superb! Our teenagers loved it all!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Busygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,823
    1,428
    577
    292
    270
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great way to learn about polynesian culture”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is located in the quite remote, northern part of Oahu, However it is easily accessible by car or a bus. The ticket price is high (at least 35$) but there is a lot of thing to do (to experience everything you need a whole day). The most interesting are live performances done by native people (for example in the Tahiti performers are from that island). In some cases people from the audiences are asked to participate in the show, which is quite funny.
You can also see a number of exhibition about the polynesian culture which are prepared quite professional. During the evening there are some additional shows.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Polynesian Culture Centre - Oahu Hawaii”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

These people are so very nice,friendly polite and respectful - the displays, shows, and food are fantastic. Plan as much time as possible for this visit. Very well manicured, tidy and great facilities at the centre.
Each Polynesian nation is represented and has a show demonstrating its culture. The procession of canoes representing the different nations is fantastic.
The Centre is manned by students from Brigham Young University Hawaii and is owned by the Mormon church.

The Luau was enjoyable and the food was good. The food is served buffet style and very promptly, also fresh and tasty. The staff were great, considering the amount of catering for hundreds of people at the Luau

The "Ha: Breath of Life" show was sensational, a must see stunning covered outdoor setting. Wonderful dancers, great, great story, fab music. The fire dancing fantastic. This is the best show I have ever seen

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to explore!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The culture center is great for the knowledge and understanding of the polynesian cultures that represented. I enjoyed the laui, and the ha breath of life show. I would recommended visiting the center within two days. Trying to see the center in a full day was to much to do and we weren't able to see it all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmc-postgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well done touristic attraction”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

If though it looks a little Disneyfied and artificial, you actually learn and get involved with polynesian cultures. HA Fire show in the evening is a very exciting... Luau experience and food, you can get better options, more traditional, in other places!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickTambosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polynesian Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Polynesian Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing