We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Tiki Moon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tiki Moon Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiki Moon Villas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Thank you Tiki Moon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

For our dream day, Tiki Moon Villas was perfect! We had our wedding on Valentine’s Day 2014. We don’t need to tell you how hard it is to plan a destination wedding…and to do it on a budge makes for a herculean task - but Azlina and Ray made it easy.

Starting with the ease of making reservations, the website photos clearly and accurately depicted the rooms, grounds and beach access. Azlina answered all of our questions and gave great recommendations and referrals. Our decision to rent out four of the five villas and reserve the garden area for two events allowed us to have a wedding “week” instead of just a wedding day.

Tiki Moon Villas is away from it all, yet easy to get to, right across from the Polynesian Cultural Center and has parking. We opted for more of a DIY wedding so things like having supplies shipped directly to Tiki Moon and having well equipped kitchens made it doable. Having access to free Wi-Fi, telephone, a gas grill, water sport equipment, beach towels, beach chairs, and a hammock made it a real vacation for all of our guests.

We can’t say enough about the great service we received from Ray and Azlina. The weather threatened our “on the beach” ceremony but Ray was really accommodating in enlarging the lanai area and securing a tent. Azlina helped pull it all together with candles, lights and even netting for the arch and food table.

We give Tiki Moon Villas our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Ocean Sun faces the ocean. We watched the sunrise every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azlinah483, General Manager at Tiki Moon Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Mahalo Mrs M! It was an honor and a delight to host your beautiful wedding! We look forward to your return! Azlina and Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    33
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
67
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Heber City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the best place to stay. We stayed at another place on Oahu, in November 2012, for a few days, and it was nice, but not nearly the paradise and relaxing place that the Tiki Moon Villas are. I wish we would have spent our entire time at the Tiki Moon Villas. The owners/managers are very helpful and so friendly you feel like they are your ohana, and truly show you the aloha spirit. The beach on the property is one of my favorite places in the world. It is a great place to take a morning or evening walk, which my wife and I often did. It is also a great place to just think at night as the waves come in. There is also the resident fur seal that likes to sleep on the beach and the fun ghost crabs. It is also a decent place for some beginning snorkeling with both sandy bottoms and reefs. Also, do not under any circumstances miss the shaved ice at the nearby strip mall, it is the best we found on Oahu and Kaui. There are chickens next door, but there are chickens all over all of the islands and they really didn't bother us in the least. We stayed in the Coco Bungalo, which was also awesome and so nice to have a mango, pineapple, and berry breakfast while watching the sun come up. Truthfully, I will not stay anywhere else given the chance. The villas are the definition of paradise found. It is for that reason, that I am hesitant about writing this review. I don't want it to be booked when I go back. Mahalo Nui Loa TMV.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeayeah007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azlinah483, Manager at Tiki Moon Villas, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Mahalo for your kind words! We look forward to your return. TMV Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Tiki Moon Villas are located on a beautiful beachfront property in Laie, on the North Shore of Oahu. We stayed 8 nights and rented all 5 of the villas for a multi-family reunion. This is the perfect property if you are looking to accommodate a large number of people, where everyone is also looking for a little privacy. We were a family group of 21 people and using all 5 villas was perfect for us. Two of the units are directly on the beach, while the other 3 units are also very close to the water. We did a lot of group dinners using our multiple kitchens and gathered the picnic tables in a covered patio area that was lit at night and perfect for our family dinners. There are 2 sets of washers & dryers at the villas, where they even supplied the laundry detergent.

Laie is a great little town. The Villas are located directly across the street from the Polynesian Cultural Center and a McDonald's. I would highly recommend spending a day at the Polynesian Cultural Center, this was a highlight of our trip, and we were able to walk across the street to this great attraction. There are also a couple very nice grocery stores within 5 minutes of the Villas, very convenient. The Foodland in Laie does not carry liquor because Laie is generally a Mormon town, and many stores in Laie were closed on Sunday, but there was another grocery store close by in the next town where you could purchase liquor.

The property has fantastic gardens which are beautifully lit at night. We were concerned about the beach being too rough on the North Shore in December, but the Tiki Moon Villas are located in a protected bay, so the beach and water were perfect. We even had toddlers who were able to play in the surf. They supply lots of boogie boards, sand toys, a kayak, and great beach chairs, everything you need to enjoy their beautiful beach, even a great supply of beach towels in each unit. Ray & Azlina were the perfect hosts and so helpful and friendly. We would love to return to the Tiki Moon Villas and would recommend them to anyone as a GREAT place to stay on Oahu!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firepat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azlinah483, Manager at Tiki Moon Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
A big Mahalo to you and your family! It was such a pleasure hosting you. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent place to enjoy a relaxing vacation! Clean, friendly, quiet, homey, and right on the beach! Definitely recommend this place to anyone that loves the ocean. Awesome to wake up to the ocean noise in the background. Hammocks all over to relax in!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azlinah483, Manager at Tiki Moon Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Mahalo Katie L! We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This review is for a stay in late July of 2013.

Very nice accommodations. We were in the Hale Bamboo and had rented both bedrooms which slept the four of us nicely (two parents and two teenagers). Between the two bedrooms, there are only two beds – and a third sleeping platform thingy in the living room. The kitchen was superbly outfitted – even had a rice maker! The owner Ray Romano, was very helpful, laid back and personable. He stopped by to check and make sure everything was fine and gave us great suggestions on things to do. We used the kayak that is on the property and the laundry facilities which are located outdoors. There was a washer dryer in our unit, but it was temperamental, so I was thankful for the availability of the other washer/dryer. This place is literally across the street from the Polynesian cultural center (which we did not visit). What I really liked about this place is that it is on the quiet side of the island and you are out of the throngs of tourists. Should you get the desire to wander amongst the throng, all you need to do is hop in your car and drive around to other side of the island. When you are sick of the tourists, you can escape back to Ray’s place, grill some fish on the outdoor grill and enjoy with a nice bottle of wine. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It would be a great facility for a family reunion as well.

This was our favorite place we stayed on our Hawaiian vacation -- and on par with several other nice vacation rental properties we have used in the past.

Final suggestion: Bring earplugs. You will hear roosters almost everywhere your go unless you are in a high-rise hotel. When you read reviews for various properties, you will hear people complain about them. It's not the property owner's fault, they run wild and are EVERYWHERE :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azlinah483, Manager at Tiki Moon Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Mahalo cj2468!

We hope to see you soon! Roosters.....part of Hawaii country living.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We were here for just 2 days, but it was a perfect location to do both Honolulu and the North Beach. The place is very clean, with a full kitchen and nice size rooms. Our unit was right on the water with beautiful sunsets and the roar of the waves crashing on the coast (which we liked very much). Ray, the owner was very responsive to an issue we had with one of the doors. We left for the grocery store and when we returned 20 minutes later the issue was resolved. It is a very private property even though there are 4 other units..

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiamiBeachExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azlinah483, Manager at Tiki Moon Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Mahalo for your business! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have been staying here on august 2013 for 2 days, in a villa garden view.
The villa papaya ha- le' was very small, sold for 6/7 persons, but with one bathroom only, and one outside shared with other villas. The 3 bedrooms were very small and it was impossible to open our baggage because there wasn't enough space. One room was WITHOUT WINDOW! No dishwasher, no washing machine. The view, wasn't on a garden, but on a wall and directly on the highway Kamehamehame. In one bedroom there was no fan, and the conditioning was very noisy, so it was impossible to switch it on during the night.
In spite of the kindness of the lady who was taking care of the house, our experience has been very deceiving if compared with our expectations coming from the advertising

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rossana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azlinah483, Manager at Tiki Moon Villas, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha,

I am very sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as it can be. Mahalo for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Moon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Moon Villas

Property: Tiki Moon Villas
Address: 55-367 Kamehameha Hwy, Laie, Oahu, HI 96762-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Laie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Laie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiki Moon Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiki Moon Villas is a collection of five bungalows on a beach front lot on Oahu's North Shore, directly across from the Polynesian Cultural Center on Laie Beach. The five bungalows sleep up to 25 people. They can be rented together or separately. All five rentals are on the same beachfront property with a pristine beachfront garden. Ideal setting for a quiet honeymoon or a romantic getaway, as well as being family-friendly. Rented as a whole, Tiki Moon Villas is the perfect venue for wedding ceremonies and receptions, as well as family reunions or retreats. Laie beach is never crowded. Monk seals are occasionally seen sunbathing while sea turtles poke their heads in greeting almost daily. The water is warm and shallow, perfect for swimming and watching sea life bustling right underneath. Escape to the quiet side of Oahu. Watch the sun start its daily rise over the ocean. Let Hawaii revive your body and spirit at Tiki Moon Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tiki Moon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing