We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gunstock Ranch

Gunstock Ranch
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Laie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: If you want to experience Hawaii as a Paniolo (Hawaiian Cowboy), then Gunstock Ranch is the right place for you. Enjoy an intimate horseback ride suitable for folks of all skill levels. If you are looking for a true Hawaiian experience, join us for a beautiful tour of Hawaii's natural elegance and peace. From our Pony Rides for Kids to our Advanced Rides, the beauty of Hawaii is for everyone to experience. Reservations required
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome views ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Had jake as our guide and he was awesome. Two of my friends have never rode before, I grew up with horses. We had an awesome time and saw great sights. I really enjoyed our ride. It was 90 minute scenic ride. Would suggest this to anyone. Families with kids (above 6yo) couples, friends, anyone

Helpful?
1 Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    26
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Ride with options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife is an avid rider. Our ride was tailored to our skill set. Cammie, our guide, was great. Good experience, highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhannon, West Virginia
1 review
“Nice views, excellent tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My Husband and I are spending our honeymoon in Hawaii and wanted to do some horseback riding. We had planned to do it through Turtle Bay Resort, where we are staying, but the concierge suggested Gunstock Ranch. We had an excellent time with our tour guide Cammie! She was very nice, knowledgeable, and very down to earth. If we make it back and Cammie is still there we will be requesting her! The views that you seen at the top was quite scenic and peaceful. Thanks so much, it felt a little like home visiting such a place. :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazoria, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Need To Schedule”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

After reviewing the web page for this ranch, I saw they offered 30 minute horse rides for kids, starting every hour. We drove to the ranch up to the "office" building, and no one was there. An employee walked up to us and told us she was the only one there, and was saddling up to take a customer for a ride. I asked about the hourly scheduled kids rides, and she informed me that rides must be scheduled in advance.
Although the kids didn't get to ride, we were told we could look around and see some of the animals at the ranch. So the kids got to pet some goats, a donkey, and some horses, salvaging something out of the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scubaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallaceburg, Canada
2 reviews
“Great family fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

For many first time riders in our group, young and old, the team at Gunstock Ranch made us feel very comfortable. We went on the 1 1/2 hr tour that took us up in the hills above Laie, Oahu, which was a beautiful site. The trail was also beautiful, with wide open views of the ranch and then a close up of the forest trees and plants as the trails led us to the peak. The kids had a great time including meeting the other animals around the ranch including Cheeseballs and Bullet. All the guides were very friendly and informative. Overall great family outing that we would highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WalpoleIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gunstock Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Gunstock Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing