We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much to Do but Still Fun!”
Review of Dole Plantation

Dole Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
US$194.12*
and up
Oahu Circle Island with Pearl Harbor Tour
More Info
US$80.31*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation
More Info
US$104.50*
and up
Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Wahiawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pineapple plantation which offers the largest maze in the world for children to enjoy.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Much to Do but Still Fun!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Dole Plantation is still a working pineapple farm. You can go there and enjoy a train ride, a self-guided tour around their gardens, and go through a maze. Then they have a large gift shop for you to spend all your money in. There's not that much to do besides that and each activity doesn't take that long, but I would still allot half a day to the plantation because it takes about 45 minutes to get there from Waikiki. The train ride was fun as it takes you through their working plantation. The self-guided tour is something that you can probably skip...it really wasn't worth it. The maze was also fun and challenging since they give you a scavenger hunt of sorts. Within the gift shop they have a variety of goods, a pineapple cutting demonstration, and pineapple softserve that was super delicious. Other than that, that was basically the Dole Plantation. It was interesting to see how pineapples are grown...but would I come again? Probably not...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cincin090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    1,541
    1,273
    412
    212
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stop on an island drive”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We took a day drive around the island of Oahu and this was one of our stops. It was fun to walk around and would be a great stop for families. Lots of well priced souvenirs as well. There is a sweet woman in the back of the story that hand makes Hawaiian shirts, dresses, and even doll clothes with beautiful fabrics. We spent about an hour there which was good for us. You would need to budget longer if you wanted to do the maze. There were lots of people there but it never felt crowded.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBrooke613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dole has expanded a lot in the last 10 years”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The maze was fun and so was the the train tour. I would have liked to have had a much more detailed tour to explain more about pineapples growing. The garden tour was confusing - couldn't find some of the numbered spots… There was a pineapple cutting demonstration inside and a chocolate demonstration (very basic). This was a fun excursion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redwingsbestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“well, not really impressed”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I read a lot about this place, so I took my family to the place. They charge you ~$50 for our family (2 adults, 2 kids). This covers train rides and maze. well, you just see a bunch of pineapples. You don't get to taste them, but just see them from your train ride. Well, I thought it was pretty boring. My kids liked the maze. If you are really bored and want to stop by anyway, you can do that. I personally not impressed with this place, especially with the money you pay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank shoshosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stop”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

After driving the North shore, we decided to stop at the Dole Plantation. It was a great stop for us. Had fun shopping in the gift store. I wish they were giving out free samples of pineapple. We also did the Pineapple Express train ride. It was very educational, and I loved seeing all the little pineapples. We were on the last train of the day, and we missed out on buying any pineapple because the store was closed by the time we got back.

Helpful?
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dole Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Dole Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing