We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny and delicious”

Shige's Saimin Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Wahiawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tiny and delicious”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We eat here every time we visit the north shore and it is always delicious. The broth is good and the noodles have a great consistency. BBQ sticks are a little "cheap" tasting. The meat is just a bit mealy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justusbraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local joint!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This place is basically the definition of a "hole in the wall", located in a little strip mall not too far off the highway in Wahiawa. However, if you get past the outer decor, the food is well worth it! Basically a little mom-and-pop joint, if you are looking for a quick, delicious meal for a great price, this would be your place to stop! We ate lunch here on our drive from Honolulu to the North Shore. Everything here is ridiculously cheap!! The sandwiches range from $2-$5 dollars and the noodle bowls (everything homemade) are between $5 and $7. Five of us got away with a filling meal for just over $20! The teriyaki beef burger was really good and the bbq burger was pretty good too. We had asked for no mayo & no lettuce on the bbq burger and it came with both. The waitress fixed it for us, although she seemed rather put off by it. The udon & saimin were both delicious though!! A large portion too. Would recommend if you're looking for some good, old fashioned homemade food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grape452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Local Fare for a Great Lunch”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It's been literally years since I traveled to Wahiawa, where I worked for 30 years so a lunch stop at Shige's was a great choice, especially with my granddaughter and wife. The best saimin (Hawaii's version of ramen) and hamburger deluxe (homemade paddies). Wow! just the perfect dashi/soup and the noodles made by the owner, Shige. Clean and friendly service just like family. My daughter always stops there for the hamburgers whenever she's in Wahiawa for business. You could say this is a family tradition that will continue for generations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonefish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The burgers are great”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a perfect place for hot saimin. Wahiawa! We love Shiges. When we are sick or just cold, the saimin hits the spot. If we are hungry for a great burgers, this is where we go. Only thing missing is they don't have fries.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Saimin!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We've been going here since 2006 and it's best Saimin! Everything else is really good, too, but we can't get enough of their Saimin. It's definitely one of the places we have to go whenever we are in Hawai'i.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shige's Saimin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shige's Saimin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing