We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get in Line: It's Worth the Wait”
Review of Paalaa Kai Bakery

Paalaa Kai Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Waialua
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Get in Line: It's Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This little bakery is unassuming and we wouldn't have found it were it not for the line of locals patiently waiting outside for their turn at the counter. Inside is a hectic pace of fast orders and rapidly disappearing bakery items from the shelves and refrigerated display cabinets. Boxes of pre-packaged, best sellers baked earlier in the day line the tables behind the counter insuring that most people will leave satisfied. The ingredients are fresh, the bakery goods are delicious, and the premises clean -- but old. What I liked best was the selection of bakery goods I had not seen before, many unique to the island and Asian and Polynesian influenced. What I liked least was that after getting to the front of the line there was pressure to order quickly (to accommodate the people waiting behind you) and relatively little time to ask questions about the many items displayed. It's an adventure in ordering -- and worth the discovery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Snow puffies are downright delicious!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Always make a special trip to Waialua just to buy snow puffies and stop by the store next door for fried chicken and spam musubi! Best meal in Waialua, all reasonably priced! Snow puffies are a light puff pastry filled with custard cream and drizzled with chocolate on top. Not sweet or overbearing, it is a delight to eat! The bakery makes it throughout the day so you can go in the evening and the bakery still has some in the refrigerated section. All the pastries and donuts are delicious and priced right. You can't find puffies as good as this anywhere else in Hawaii! Worth the drive to the North Shore!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chocokiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Snow Puffies Sent From Heaven!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

A few months ago, I went to visit my sister who works at Waialua Elementary, but wanted to get a bite to eat so asked her for places that she could recommend nearby. Paalakai Store has great bento style foods and the bakery next door has killer pastries she said. Since then, we have traveled across the island six times to fill our needs like good pastry addicts should! The Snow Puffies are scrumptiously assembled desserts filled with unreal pudding that is to die for! No kidding, it is as advertised! Oh, but don't go there too late as they often sell out, as we sadly discovered on our third trip back! One more bonus - there's a 50% discount the last hour of business from 6-7pm!

Helpful?
2 Thank Elnakaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Due to the rainy weather, outdoor activities were not permitted today. Therefore, we loaded up the dogs and set out for a ride around the island. Eventually, we found ourselves nearing Haleiwa and Paalaa Kai Bakery came to mind.

We just had to get some Snow Puffies and a few other goodies. Again, no surprises here. The delicious Snow Puffies were filled with the most scrumptious Pastery Creme my tongue ever tasted. A smooth, creamy, rich and not to sweet pudding like substance just did it's dance in my mouth. I was in a wonderland of Snow Puffies as far as my closed eyes could see! lol!

We also got some Malasadas, Ensemadas, Apple Turnovers, Croissants.....I mean everything is good here! No exaggeration here either! I guess that's why it's really busy here, no matter what time you show up.

I recommend Paalaa Kai Bakery to anyone who has a yen for some delicious treats!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bikerwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good family owned bakery”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very good family owned bakery that specializes in Hawaiian baked goods. I was looking for European style bread and they did not make them, otherwise I would have given them a higher rating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paalaa Kai Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Paalaa Kai Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing