We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Beach”

Mokuleia Beach Park
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Waialua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a good little beach. The snorkeling is pretty good saw many different kinds of fish. The parking can be a little tough on the sides of the road. There are also some stares to get down. Was here for a few hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mopena14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Crystal clear water, all kinds of fish, sea turtles, you name it! One of Maui's best snorkeling spots.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peru, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SNORKELING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Excellent snorkeling, nice beach. We spent over five hours snorkeling here. Swam with and viewed several turtles, including one very large one (approximately a 5' plus wing span). First we watched it swim, then it climbed over a rocky ledge, and we watched him eat on coral for more than 90 minutes. Lots of varieties of fish, many in large schools. Unlike some of the other places we snorkeled where you might see a few fish at a time, here it was unusual to not have many in view all of the time. We also saw a large group of dolphins off in the distance. We were unable to swim fast enough to get a close view, but was a neat experience just the same. We had been told that Honolua Bay was the best snorkeling, but we swam out to that bay from Mokuleia, and soon turned and went back. I spoke to a couple of divers that were exiting the water as we were entering, and they said they dive a lot, and in their opinion, this was the best area. The earlier you arrive at this beach, the more likely you are to find parking and get a spot on the beach where you can catch shade. If you are going to snorkel in Maui, this is the place to check out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great Beach for Snorkeling, No facilities at this beach , parking can be difficult on busy days (weekends). One of the best Snorkeling beaches on Maui we found. Water starts to get less clear after 1PM. Go early for best viewing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AruoraKode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Arrive early, gets more crowded (though not as bad as Kaanapali) by lunch. Some shade in the morning. Great snorkeling to the right of the cove and around the point- we saw 4 turtles and a variety of fish, though water can get choppier toward the afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mokuleia Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Mokuleia Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing