We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mid-April 106A ON THE SAND for 2 plus 6 yr old”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waianae
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makaha Beach Cabanas
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Full review to come but clean w/a/c + freePhone to anywhere. We don't enjoy tourist haunts and enjoy meeting the people of the places we go. The people who live here are so kind and down to earth. We encounter few of the problems mentioed here. Sec guard and working staff was helpful and generous with their time and suggestions. Our condo was small and funky but had all the small electric appliances, plates, pots, pans needed and just enough dishes etc. Using couch for second bed not super comfotable and could have used another blanket and sheet but had plenty of good beach and bath towels. Also had plenty of beach chairs, belly boards, snorkels and beach toys. It was CLEAN AND SAFE. Only last night we had rude, drunk noisy neighbors above us next to manager too but no horrible cooking smells or bugs other than somes flys outside when we ate meals. You don't need to stop at Costco as we did because Tamura Market and Cvs and other very close local stores have all you need at normal (not tourist) for example great place to get Kona coffee and Ahe Poke, mmmmmm! Owner personally help us w arrangements and was very pleasant and generous w his time. Wish we could have seen him there. Ask where to find keys and hoe to open door before you get there. We love MAKAHA I will add more.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed on the fourth floor and the view was amazing. Our condo is privately owned and they were fantastic at making sure we had everything that was needed. I was skeptical about the no a/c part, since we are from Texas, but in the winter months it's not needed. The town is 30-60 minutes from everything but if you have ever been to Waikiki its worth it. We felt very secure here since you needed a key fab to get anywhere in the building. All the locals were really nice and if you have a chance take some surfing lessons from Danny @ west side surf lessons.com. The shore break was dangerous at sunset, so if you travel with small kids go to the beach during the day. We both come from small towns and we liked the feel of Waianae. We will be back with our daughter to make more memories!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danielle_Reeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

As noted with other reviews, each rental unit is individually owned so your experience may vary. Our 4th floor unit had a sliding glass window wall, no a/c, but several fans. At night we opened the window wall and the living room jalousies and enjoyed a tropical breeze thru the unit with the sound of crashing surf. We looked at a unit for sale on the 9th floor, from that height you cannot see the immediate shore line without bending over the balcony rail. For the best view stay on the 2nd -> 5th floors. Our unit had all the necessary kitchen appliances, beach towels and mats and even snorkel gear. There are some posted comments about road noise, we did not experience any until a holiday weekend when the ambulances must have worked overtime.
The beach is about 200 yards long, with a fierce undertow (in January). We saw several turtles and whales from our unit. The beach was seldom busy, about a dozen local kids and another dozen sun worshipers from various units. The Cabanas are at the end of Waianae, which is likely the driest part of Oahu. The dry is good, the drive time to everything else is pretty bad. Due to the regular 35 m.p.h. speed limits (which no one obeys) and road construction it can take an hour to get to Waikiki or the North Shore. And there is not a lot to do in Waianae except to check out the local market and marvel at dried shredded squid in four different flavors.
For decent swimming a short drive to Pokai Park in the middle of town is a good choice. For major grocery shopping (Costco, Safeway, WalMart) you'll need to stop at the intersection of the H1 and Farrington. The Waianae stores are a bit limited, and restaurants are either chain fast food or very local and a bit dingy. I'd recommend this condo and area for folks who want to spend a lot of time reading books and going for walks on various beaches rather than heavy-duty motorized sight seeing of the entire island.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd thru 5th floors, stay in unit with full window wall, a/c would be good in summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank oldpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We came here during Thanksgiving week and stayed in one of the "room for four" condos. It was clean, well equipped and most of all affordable for our family. Where else in Oahu can you have a nice place to stay with an oceanfront view for $100 a night? The grounds of the condos are gated and well kept. The beach and ocean next to the condo were amazing. All day, the beach had very few people on it. The ocean was so warm and beautiful. We spent hours in it snorkeling, swimming, and just floating around. We even got the opportunity to snorkel next to a meandering sea turtle our last day there. If you do want to see the tourist type attractions on this island, expect to drive at least 30 minutes or so. Like I said, it is a great getaway from the crowds, but it is a beautiful drive. If I was to have one request for the condo that we stayed in, it would have been an air conditioning unit. We live in a cooler climate, so it took us a little bit to acclimate ourselves to the warm weather (especially at night.) It did have ceiling fans though.

Room Tip: We stayed in VRBO's listing #134763 (which was on the 3rd floor) and as far as I can tell, Shell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jana71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this unit Oct 15-22, 2013. This is a top floor, corner unit so you only have one neighbor beside you. Yes, Makaha is about a 45min drive away from the Honolulu/Waikiki area but it is worth staying here if you want to get away from the crowds of Waikiki. This unit is located in the Makaha Beach Cabanas which is an apt/condo building located right on the beach. The beach is very private. Hardly anyone on this beach. My boyfriend and I would often be the only ones out in the ocean every morning before breakfast! We bought food at one of the local supermarkets which had everything we needed. We had breakfast many mornings on the private lanai which is right off the bedroom. Since this unit is on the top floor, the lanai has the BEST view. Every morning, we would raise the remote controlled black out shutters to reveal the sound of waves and breathtaking views of deep blue waters and white sand. Not to mention seeing the mountains on the left and right of us! The lanai was a perfect place to enjoy the sunset. The view doesn't end in the bedroom/lanai either. There is also a great view of the mountains on the other side of the condo, right off the kitchen & living room. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need. Living room has comfy seating and a nice tv (if you want to watch tv...but why would you when you have the ocean to entertain you?!). The unit also comes complete with beach chairs, coolers, beach towels etc, anything you need to enjoy a day at the beach. There are also maps available which was a nice touch. AND FREE LD CALLS to US & CANADA! The unit is very clean, modern and well-kept. The bed was comfy, and although there is no A/C, there is a fan in the bedroom & living room. With the lanai and front door open a bit, you can get a nice ocean breeze through the unit to keep you cool. We were able to drive around Makaha. There are a lot of beach parks nearby and all of them secluded and away from big crowds which was great. There are not that many high end restaurants in Makaha but that is not to say that the food wasn't good. There are a couple bbq places, a Mexican place and if you want, there are also a lot of fast food joints. If you're craving a great breakfast, go to Hannara restaurant. BEST BANANA & COCONUT PANCAKES! Booking this unit was very easy and a great price. The person we dealt with for bookings and info was very polite and helpful. I highly recommend staying here. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Make sure to take a drive around the surrounding areas and beach parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A friend of mine owns a Condo in this building on the 2nd floor. We always stay here when we need to get away from it all. It's secluded, quiet and perfect for truly getting away. The beach is HUGE so there should be no problem finding a spot. If the waves aren't big that day, it's nice to play in the small shore brake. I've seen Whales almost every time I've been here and sometimes if you go underwater, you can hear them singing. Beautiful. Turtles are a given. Sunset is the best. The view is incredible and it's just picture perfect. Grab a cooler, some drinks and some food and enjoy your time at this beach! It's simply the best. At night, leave the sliding door open and use the waves as your very of sleep machine. On a clear night, you can see thousands of stars. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sirc808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Kenike, sorry I have taken so long to get this review in. I loved the place! Cute little condo, 1 bedroom right on the beach, literally step over the rail and be in the sand! The place was clean, well furnished with all you would need to make meals and eat on your lanai! We went to Tamura market for some easy food, microwave things. Had breakfast on the lanai the first morning, had some friends over for dinner on the lanai, watching the sunset right from our lanai!! I read the review from maiwaye, so sorry to hear about the mess the previous guests made! We knew we weren't getting maid service, didn't really need it as I am not opposed to cleaning up after us. It is all about the location right on the beach. The condo has all you need for a great time be it a week or a month or a year. It may be a little old and a little dated, but the ambiance with the locals on the beach, and the next door neighbors who happen to be the owners of A102 (Thank you Janice and Steve) we had a great time!!!!!! We are smokers, and smoking on the lanai was permitted, although the neighbors requested we do not do that, they never complained, and most of the time we went out on the beach anyway. Only problem we encountered was the upstairs neighbor ( whom we found out later was a PROFESSIONAL TOURIST, trying to get free stuff) he complained about us smoking on our lanai, even though the smoke was blowing in the wind off to the west, not up, security came by, ask us about it, left, said we were doing nothing wrong. I have read complaints about no air conditioning, you don't need it when the trade winds are blowing!! Great breeze right through the condo!! Wonderful ceiling fans to help move the air, we were very comfortable even though the humidity was WAY up due to some rain (something that doesn't happen much on this side of the island) I just have to thank the owner and Kenike for a great stay!! Would we come back?? YOU BET!!!! Would we stay in this same condo? YOU BET!!! I would like to live here!! We are frequent visitors to Oahu as I have a lifelong friend in Waianae. Previously we have stayed in Honolulu, and I didn't like the "busy" area, love Makaha!! So quiet, so mellow, so relaxing!! There is also so much to do if you want to do it. Trips from the harbor for fishing, snorkeling, swimming with the dolphins. It is true there is not much in the way of night life, but we don't do night life anyway, we are in Hawaii to relax!! If you want busy touristy, stay in Waikiki or Honolulu, if you want to "experience" the real Hawaii (what is left on Oahu) you NEED to stay here. Good drive to the North Shore on mellow highways, not too much traffic, which is not easy to find here anymore. I have been coming to Oahu since 1978, and the traffic has gotten so much worse, each year we come!! I still love the island and my friendship with Marilyn will never end, so know I will be back, and will try to rent this condo again. Did I mention this was our 5th anniversary?? It was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor condo so you can step right onto the beach!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cactus140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
10.8 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
10.3 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
22.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
0.1 mi away
Hawaiian Princess Resort
21.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makaha Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makaha Beach Cabanas

Address: 84-965 Farrington Hwy, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2044
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Waianae
Price Range: £90 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous Main Floor Oceanfront Condo! Step from the lanai directly on one of the Best Rated Beaches in Oahu! Watch spectacular sunsets, see the dolphins, sea turtles and even whales during the annual migration--all from the comfort of your beachfront lanai.Swim, snorkel, boogie board, surf or golf nearby at two top-quality courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makaha Beach Cabanas Hotel Waianae
Makaha Beach Cabanas Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing