We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful working farm & awesome food!”

Kahumana Organic Farm & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Waianae
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: See published review at http://www.staradvertiser.com/columnists/weeklyeater/20100929_Organicoasis.html
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful working farm & awesome food!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We got lucky & found this wonderful farm outside of Waianae. Beautiful grounds that feel almost sacred with all of the growing vegetables marked for easy recognition. We were treated to a fabulous & very fresh meal that tasted as good as it smelled. The staff are all working on the farm and as such aren't professional servers but we had an excellent & very friendly young lady who did a superb job! Don't miss this opportunity if you are on the leeward side of Oahu!

Helpful?
1 Thank M L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and staff doing good work!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Started out with their "Coolers". I'm an ice tea guy and not usually into herbal drinks. The coolers were tasty and refreshing. Our salad entries and soup were quite good and felt really healthy.

The staff was really welcoming and the place is warm and comfortable. It isn't your normal restauant but if you wanted normal why did you come to the leeward side?

This is definitely the place to eat on the leeward side. They are growing and presenting good food as a non-profit and helping the community with housing a training locals. I highly recommend the Cafe!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salvino4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipahu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is a definite stop on the west side!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I had a fabulous time here at the farm. If you take the Mailiili Road (it's the same for the Waianae Comprehensive Health center) just follow it until you find the farm on your left. Sometimes when you hear organic you cringe (I'm a meat n potatoes kind of girl) but it's all really very fresh and you can taste it in every bite! For so long you only had the option of only fast food or greasy spoon on that side of the island but now I've got somewhere to take people to. You are so taken in by the farm and the cafe it seemed like there was something always catching your eye. Then you look up from the Farm and see this absolutely breathtaking view of the Waianae Mountains and then you are really know you are somewhere special. Father Phil you are awesome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“daily fresh product directly on your plate!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Fantastic initiatieve and a great charity!
We came a little late, but we could still get dinner. It was really busy and the service was a bit hectic, but the owners and servers were really sorry for the wait which was only a few minutes. We didn't think it was a problem and the people were really friendly and helpfull!
The food we had was great! Especially their home made herbal tea with flower in it & the homemade cheesecake! Wow!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice day trip to the west side of Oahu”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Went for an early hike to Kaena Point where we saw whales & spinner dolphins from the shore along with monk seals and albatrosses on shore. Then had a wonderful lunch at Kahumana Cafe.
Tucked back in the valley with beautiful greenery all around you can dine indoor or out, feasting on local, organic veggies, greens and herbs. The hibiscus lemon grass cooler was perfect after the hike and only $1 with free refills. The 5 of us tried the whole grain pasta with mac nut pesto, local salad with homemade herb dressing, hummous, burritos with homemade salsa and finished it with lilikoi cheesecake. Felt wonderfully satisfied and healthy at the end of the meal. Definitely worth the drive!
Naked Cow is just up the road if you want locally made cheese.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surf&Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kahumana Organic Farm & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kahumana Organic Farm & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing