We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're looking for a really good & satisfying meal on the west side...look no further!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of spicy house

spicy house
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Waianae
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a really good & satisfying meal on the west side...look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I asked my Hawaiian cousin if Spicy House was any good and got a big thumbs-up. After a hefty day of snorkeling and surfing we were ready for some good food. I ordered all of my California favorites and everything was delicious...tom ka soup, red curry pork, spicy basil chicken. The fried calamari appetizer was like popcorn...light and delicious!! All good good stuff. The interior is casual...which is good because you can feel okay coming in right from the beach...which is what we did. My son was wearing a sarong toga-style. Service was quick and efficient. I'd happily go back another evening just for soup!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClawMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waianae, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food is interesting and plentiful. I especially like combination appetizer plate. Their dipping sauces and noodles are to die for.

The only reason I didn't give them five stars is that once in a while you'll get a terrible waiter who forgets everything, even the utensils.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Glad we took the time to find this gem, great food! Started with the Summer Rolls and Chicken Sateh. Moved onto Pho, Pad Thai and Spicy Garlic Mahi fillets. All were outstanding. Would go back again for sure!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJBock0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
1 review
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Easy to miss when driving, but be sure to turn around and look again. Really good authentic Thai food. The place was empty when we walked in at 7 pm, but was full an hour later. Needs to be a little cleaner inside but quality and taste of food makes up for it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, OR
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Funky, not-so-clean, delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The food is a 6 star but the surroundings can depress the appetite. The place is a bit grimy and could use a good pressure washing. The only server was pleasant, the service quick, and the prices were better than most. A good place for adventurous customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed spicy house also viewed

 

Been to spicy house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing