We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We are timeshare owners at the Princess now for 9 years and there is no place else in the world that we would sooner go than here in the winter. It is a wonderful place where one can recharge their batteries before heading back to the hectic world of work. The Timeshare Manager, Kim and Mei Ling the head of housekeeping are exceptional people and we have come to know and love them very much and consider them Ohana. As far as some of the comments regarding shortage of restaurants, it would certainly appear that they never spent any time to look. Waianae has several decent places and if you drive a bit further to Kapolei, there are a number of fine restaurants. However, seeing as how my wife and daughter both have Celiac disease, we choose to purchase supplies at one of the local grocery stores or at Costco, Target & Walmart, all of which are located in Kapolei.

The beach is outstanding - clean and very uncrowded and the majority of the tents in the Bush north of the resort have been cleared out so it is not as bad as it was before. There is crime everywhere you go, even in your own communities back home - here is no exception except the majority is theft which is why you are constantly warned not to leave any valuables in your vehicle.

All in all, we love it here and once we retire will look forward to spending 8 weeks here each winter.

Room Tip: Anything above the 5th. floor is great if you want to watch the sea turtles swimming near the shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barneyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We very much appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about Hawaiian Princess and the surrounding area. We look forward to being of service to you again soon and especially for those 8 weeks of winter when the time comes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Picture-perfect setting on a protected cove with a sandy beach and a smattering of palms. Only glitch -- it is uncomfortably close to Waianae and the homeless "Tent City", and the area around the Hawaiian Princess should be avoided after dark. Lack of beach showers means your tub drain may be filled with sand, which was the case with unit #194 when we arrived. Took three days of vigorously plungering the drain numerous times during showering before maintenance resolved the issue... and left us with a very filthy tub. This particular unit is also badly in need of maintenance. The single-pane windows mean you have to keep the blinds closed all afternoon and miss the wonderful view or, despite running the A/C, you will swelter. The freezer door on the refrig is nearly impossible to open for the frost, and you have to be sure to line up the mechanisms in the dishwasher or it won't work. The livingroom furniture is so badly stained, we put sheets over the sofa and chair to feel comfortable sitting on them. The tile grout is also black and gross, except in the corners where it's still snow white. We're not fussbudgets but this particular unit really needs some work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkiCatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to share your review. We are sincerely sorry and embarrassed to hear that your room and bathroom were not cleaned to the standards that it should have been. We want you to know that our housekeeping team does do their best to ensure that all areas of the hotel are kept up to standards and that all of our guests are comfortable throughout their stay. We are again very sorry and we would love to speak with you in further detail about what we can do to rectify this situation. Can you please email us at your earliest convenience at hpm@tradingplaces.com so that we may discuss. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Overall a good value. Away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Easy check in with Val. Beautiful views and adequate accommodations. Location is a bit of trek from the rest of the island but was bearable. No problem with the area...everyone was very friendly. Saw turtles and whales from the lanai! Would have gotten 5 stars but unit needs a little updating in both bathrooms.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Great to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and helpful service. In addition, we appreciate your feedback about the bathrooms, so we can re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel/resort exceeded my expectations. Staff was bend over backwards friendly and helpful. Our room had its own private entrance and wrap around balcony. We could see the ocean from any location in the room except the restroom. The entire room was updated and we'll equipped. The location was not crowded which gave us the time to refresh and enjoy each other and the kids.

This will definitely be my number one vacation spot in Oahu.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avrilthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Traveler,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hawaiian Princess Resort to the fullest. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from our staff as we pride ourselves on superior customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed three nights at this condo/resort in October 2013. We had a one bedroom unit on the tenth floor. This is the place to go if you are looking for a beach vacation without crowds. The beach is beautiful and not crowded at all. Our unit was small but well equipped including a washer and dryer which is a must when you are on the beach. There is a small pool and spa also but the beach is the big attraction. In fact the beach is the ONLY attraction here. The building is very far from everything. It is about a 45 minute drive to Honolulu and the neighborhood outside the resort is pretty rundown. There are not many restaurants in the area except small local "lunch plate" type restaurants. There are three grocery stores in the area so it is possible to shop locally and cook at home. This is not the place to stay if you are looking for fine restaurants or night life. It is the place to stay if you are interested in staying on a quiet beautiful beach.

Keep in mind that these units are individually owned and décor and cleanliness may vary from owner to owner. We booked through VRBO.com

Room Tip: The surf is very loud so you might like being on a higher floor to enjoy the view and enjoy the surf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hawaiian Princess Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the beach and the washer/dryer in your room. We hope you still stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent 9 days at the Hawaiian Princess. I loved our little piece of paradise here. So peaceful and quiet. Great views and could step right onto the beach from the condo. Its almost like having your own private beach. Not crowded like Waikiki/Honolulu. We went swimming everyday. The condo was perfect, everything you could ask for. The locals are so friendly & the graveyard staff is wonderful, there is one security woman during the day that is a little abrasive, but we weren't there during the day that often. When we come back I will definitely look for this property again....Thank you Kathy for the use of your wonderful condo. Mahalo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Sounds like you had a wonderful vacation! Many thanks for your review and staying with us. We hope to welcome you back to Hawaii again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent a week at the Hawaiian Princess and it was the most amazing place to stay. The facilities and staff were amazing. The locals were so friendly and welcoming when we went shopping in Makaha and Waianae. The beach was fantastic. We swam with green sea turtles, and saw monk seals. Every day we took to the water in search of waves to boogie board and we were not disappointed at all. We stayed on the 14th floor and experienced wonderful sunsets every night with the kids. We all appreciated the peace and quiet and had time to recharge our bodies. This stay is a must if you want to escape the madness of Waikiki. Well done to the staff, an absolute credit to you all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We love to hear such good things about our staff and resort. Thank you sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,159 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Princess Resort

Address: 84-1021 Lahilahi St, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2045
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Waianae
Price Range: £209 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawaiian Princess Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hawaiian Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Princess Hotel Waianae
Hawaiian Princess Resort Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing