We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waianae
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

WOW. WOW. WOW. WOW.
We rented this condo on the spur of the moment.

Our concerns upon looking at Makaha were safety, as Makaha was negatively portrayed. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. Though cautious driving there (it was 10:30 pm), the surrounding area is simply locals. I did not feel at all unsafe in Makaha. We are smart about travel, do not walk in unfamiliar areas at night. Simple common sense safety that I use in Chicago.

The condo complex is WONDERFUL. Simply WONDERFUL. The rules are posted. However, they are rules to make the place enjoyable and we did not have issue with them (quiet in halls during night hours, do not leave items in hallways, rinse sand off feet before going in common areas). The lot, building and beach are VERY secure.

PROS:
1. The Unit- Others on the beach had “older, shabbier units”. Completely updated with tile, top end stainless appliances, washer/dryer, GREAT furniture, and an insanely comfy bed. Two large screen TVs and every amenity that one could want. everything from beach chairs, boogie boards, beach towels, noodles and a cooler We have rented MANY places on VRBO. This was one of our best finds EVER.
2. Quiet–Our unit, no AC running most days due to the lovely winds, had only one loud noise….the pounding surf. AMAZING. And I am a terribly light sleeper.
3. Location-We were in Honolulu for almost three weeks. I would NEVER go back to stay. It is loud, crowded and would be great if I were 25 years old.
BBQ grills, full kitchen and insane view from our balcony made us NOT want to leave the unit. The location was PERFECT for us. After spending a day on the north shore, I am SO happy that we found This place. The north shore is CROWDED and had traffic jams. Yuck!
4. Older Clientele-We are 45-50, and fit in wonderfully. This is not a place for small kids.This place was filled with mature (quiet!) people.
5. Beach-We were at several beaches in Honolulu and in Waikiki. We toured the north shore and the windward side. Not one beach was better than ours, and ours was EMPTY. The rest were crowded.
6. The Pool–The pool was cleaned DAILY and was spotless. I am freak about pools. This was spotless and empty!

CONS:
1.If you are looking to party loud nightly, not your place.
2.If you are looking for tons of 5* restaurants, go elsewhere.
3.If you have loud kids, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dianeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your review and we hope it will find future travelers helpful. We are thrilled you enjoyed the amenities our resort has to offer guests. Please come stay with us again soon on your next Hawaiian vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    83
    15
    9
    14
See reviews for
75
89
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We recently stayed a week here and what made it great was the location. I loved being away from the tourist spots and on a beach that was quiet and not very crowded. We were on a ground floor unit which I really enjoyed. It maybe didn't have as spectacular views, but we could walk out of our unit, down the porch steps and we were on the beach. We had two very young children with us and the beach is a little dangerous. The waves are rough and very strong undertow, but it was still fun to play in. The unit was nice and the two bedroom we had also had a bonus room we could use to put a crib in. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook and prepare meals. There were also beach towels and chairs provided. Although the neighborhood isn't the greatest, I always felt very safe in and around the resort.

There were a couple of downsides that I will point out, but still emphasize that it was a great stay and I would love to stay there again. There is very little hot water for the showers. One 4-5 minute shower and the hot water was gone and we had to wait awhile for somebody else to shower. When we needed help with something, it was difficult to find somebody. We had reserved a high chair and it took a day and a half to have it delivered because the one person who was there to help with timeshare people was very busy. The pool was extremely cold, much colder than the ocean and was almost unbearable. Also, kids are only supposed to use the pool area a couple hours a day, but with the beach right there it doesn't really matter. If you're looking for a good place away from the tourists, this is your place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the spacious two-bedroom unit and beach front access. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We are timeshare owners at the Princess now for 9 years and there is no place else in the world that we would sooner go than here in the winter. It is a wonderful place where one can recharge their batteries before heading back to the hectic world of work. The Timeshare Manager, Kim and Mei Ling the head of housekeeping are exceptional people and we have come to know and love them very much and consider them Ohana. As far as some of the comments regarding shortage of restaurants, it would certainly appear that they never spent any time to look. Waianae has several decent places and if you drive a bit further to Kapolei, there are a number of fine restaurants. However, seeing as how my wife and daughter both have Celiac disease, we choose to purchase supplies at one of the local grocery stores or at Costco, Target & Walmart, all of which are located in Kapolei.

The beach is outstanding - clean and very uncrowded and the majority of the tents in the Bush north of the resort have been cleared out so it is not as bad as it was before. There is crime everywhere you go, even in your own communities back home - here is no exception except the majority is theft which is why you are constantly warned not to leave any valuables in your vehicle.

All in all, we love it here and once we retire will look forward to spending 8 weeks here each winter.

Room Tip: Anything above the 5th. floor is great if you want to watch the sea turtles swimming near the shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barneyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We very much appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about Hawaiian Princess and the surrounding area. We look forward to being of service to you again soon and especially for those 8 weeks of winter when the time comes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Picture-perfect setting on a protected cove with a sandy beach and a smattering of palms. Only glitch -- it is uncomfortably close to Waianae and the homeless "Tent City", and the area around the Hawaiian Princess should be avoided after dark. Lack of beach showers means your tub drain may be filled with sand, which was the case with unit #194 when we arrived. Took three days of vigorously plungering the drain numerous times during showering before maintenance resolved the issue... and left us with a very filthy tub. This particular unit is also badly in need of maintenance. The single-pane windows mean you have to keep the blinds closed all afternoon and miss the wonderful view or, despite running the A/C, you will swelter. The freezer door on the refrig is nearly impossible to open for the frost, and you have to be sure to line up the mechanisms in the dishwasher or it won't work. The livingroom furniture is so badly stained, we put sheets over the sofa and chair to feel comfortable sitting on them. The tile grout is also black and gross, except in the corners where it's still snow white. We're not fussbudgets but this particular unit really needs some work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiCatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to share your review. We are sincerely sorry and embarrassed to hear that your room and bathroom were not cleaned to the standards that it should have been. We want you to know that our housekeeping team does do their best to ensure that all areas of the hotel are kept up to standards and that all of our guests are comfortable throughout their stay. We are again very sorry and we would love to speak with you in further detail about what we can do to rectify this situation. Can you please email us at your earliest convenience at hpm@tradingplaces.com so that we may discuss. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Overall a good value. Away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Easy check in with Val. Beautiful views and adequate accommodations. Location is a bit of trek from the rest of the island but was bearable. No problem with the area...everyone was very friendly. Saw turtles and whales from the lanai! Would have gotten 5 stars but unit needs a little updating in both bathrooms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Great to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and helpful service. In addition, we appreciate your feedback about the bathrooms, so we can re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel/resort exceeded my expectations. Staff was bend over backwards friendly and helpful. Our room had its own private entrance and wrap around balcony. We could see the ocean from any location in the room except the restroom. The entire room was updated and we'll equipped. The location was not crowded which gave us the time to refresh and enjoy each other and the kids.

This will definitely be my number one vacation spot in Oahu.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avrilthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Traveler,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hawaiian Princess Resort to the fullest. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from our staff as we pride ourselves on superior customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed three nights at this condo/resort in October 2013. We had a one bedroom unit on the tenth floor. This is the place to go if you are looking for a beach vacation without crowds. The beach is beautiful and not crowded at all. Our unit was small but well equipped including a washer and dryer which is a must when you are on the beach. There is a small pool and spa also but the beach is the big attraction. In fact the beach is the ONLY attraction here. The building is very far from everything. It is about a 45 minute drive to Honolulu and the neighborhood outside the resort is pretty rundown. There are not many restaurants in the area except small local "lunch plate" type restaurants. There are three grocery stores in the area so it is possible to shop locally and cook at home. This is not the place to stay if you are looking for fine restaurants or night life. It is the place to stay if you are interested in staying on a quiet beautiful beach.

Keep in mind that these units are individually owned and décor and cleanliness may vary from owner to owner. We booked through VRBO.com

Room Tip: The surf is very loud so you might like being on a higher floor to enjoy the view and enjoy the surf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hawaiian Princess Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the beach and the washer/dryer in your room. We hope you still stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Princess Resort

Property: Hawaiian Princess Resort
Address: 84-1021 Lahilahi St, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2045
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Waianae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Princess Hotel Waianae
Hawaiian Princess Resort Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing