We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasently Surprised”

Ka'ena Point State Park
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Waianae
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At the very end of Mokuleia where the road dead-ends is Kaena Point State Park with its secluded sandy coves and huge wide-open spaces. The hiking trail follows a deeply rutted unpaved Jeep road with dozens of small seaward paths branching off to the ocean’s edge. If you opt to hike the full round-trip trek from Kaena Point to Yokohama Bay on the Leeward Coast, you’ll need roughly three hours, ample stamina, plenty of water, sunscreen, snacks, body cover and your camera.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasently Surprised”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have been to Ka'ena Point State Park before but we have never walked to the point before so we decided to the hike. We were not disappointed. The hike was 2.5 miles each way on the south path and is the almost the same on the north path. There are a couple of spots that you have to watch your step but for the most part it is flat and safe. When you get to the end the view is totally worth it. There are seals and albatross's nesting as well as some old WWII bunkers. There are no facilities so use the rest room and bring water!!!!!
The north loop we only went half way to watch the sunset and did not make it to the point, but the view was not as nice and the path was very rocky and uneven.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    84
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike, tons of whales!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We only made one mistake with this hike and that was doing it in the middle of the day. It was SO HOT! We were also disappointed when some fellow hikers on their way back said that they built a fence and hikers were no longer allowed to go all the way to the point. You CAN however, go solo the way to the point. The fence is just to keep unwanted critters out, so you can just go through the little set of sally port gates and continue your hike.

On our way out we spent a lot of time watching the whales. They were maybe a half mile off shore, but boy did they put on a show. They jumped almost completely out of the water on several occasions and it was an awesome sight.

When we got to the point we got to see a monk seal taking a snooze in one of the shallow tide pools. We never would have seen him if another couple wouldn't have pointed him out to us, so look closely! They blend in perfectly.

Trail condition wise, the trail is good. It was muddy in places but you could always get around it without getting your does wet or dirty. It's all flat except for one spot towards the end where the two is washed out so you need to go up the hill a ways to get around it. Nothing too difficult.

Helpful?
2 Thank Molly3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A beautiful hike!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We did this hike from the Waianae side after two days of rain so there were quite a few places we detoured from the path to avoid the huge mud puddles. It is a beautiful hike and we were rewarded with albatross and whales close to the shore. We were on the trail for the sunset which was spectacular!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dancer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Oceanside Hike”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have hiked it from both sides, but I much prefer the hike from the Waianae side. The ocean views are spectacular and it is about 2 1/12 miles each way so bring lots of water and sunscreen, but you will not regret it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4 hours to and from Ka'ena worth the hike”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From the end of the Farrington Hy (930) on the North coast, it is a relatively easy hike to Ka'ena Point. Stay off the rather muddy path that the 4x4 vehicles use. Rather, hike closer to the water's edge. The sound of the surf crashing ashore is soothing and the ground is much drier but occasionally quite sandy which takes more effort to walk. About halfway to the end there is a small Hidden Beach where we stopped to rest and have a snack in the shade of some of the few trees along the path. The rest of the hike is out in the open so plenty of water, sunscreen and a hat are a must. Just before the beach is also the end of the road for most 4x4 vehicles except research trucks from the university. Interesting to watch them challenge some of the dunes. The end of the trail rewards you with the bird sanctuary and if you're lucky, some Monk seals basking in the tidal pools. Don't get to close. Unless you've arranged a pickup on the other leg of the trail, you'll have to retrace your steps back to the start. Very little elevation change over the length of the trail makes for an easy 4 hour hike.

Beautiful views of the wave / beach interaction, unworldly lava formations and occasional wildlife.

Good shoes are a must since some of those lava formations can be very sharp. Last place to buy supplies (snacks, water) is about 8 miles before the end of the road.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ka'ena Point State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ka'ena Point State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing