We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takeout Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Sushi

Sun Sushi
Ranked #13 of 55 Restaurants in Waianae
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Takeout Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband loves sushi and this little place did not disappoint. The owner does not speak much English so It's best to place your order in person. This way you can point to the picture! We ordered ahead by calling and judging by the phone call we weren't quite sure if we were going to get what we ordered. But we did! 6 temaki rolls for under $10, ingredients are fresh and each order is individual.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
“Fresh Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is the best Sushi on the Leeward Coast, Just plan ahead and call your order IN and pick up! This is not a fast food eatery so plan to wait if you don't plan ahead. This is good quality stuff so it is worth the wait!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuTi96792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Small unassuming place. Not much English spoken here. Excellent shushi. Some of the best I've ever had. You will be pleasantly surprised!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brendan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for sushi takeout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

This is some of the best, reasonably priced sushi. There really isn't a place to sit down here, so plan to take your sushi home or to the beach. Highly recommend trying this place out if in Waianae.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reneeroesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waianae, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

lovee that his stuff is always fresh...just takes a little long but what can u expect for good quality

Helpful?
Thank Liana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sun Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing