We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit above average...”
Review of Sweet Home Waimanalo - CLOSED

Sweet Home Waimanalo
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A bit above average...”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Three of us drove over to the eastern side of Oahu to find one of Guy's triple D restaurants. This was the first one we found. A small place next to McD's. Parking around the corner. Outdoor seating only and half of it in the hot sun. You go inside, order at the counter, and they bring the food to you outside. Friendly, young ladies at the register. We ordered the pulled pork sandwich, a green salad (sweet home something), and I had the beef brisket sandwich. The sandwiches were really good. The sides, bok choy slaw and field greens, were really good too. We had some refreshing teas that were tasty after a drive in the hot sun (convertible). I particularly liked the hibiscus lemonade. REAL tasty. Gotta try it. I was disappointed to see the salad come out in a plastic container (pre-made), but my friend says it was fresh although the vinaigrette was so-so.
Nice to see Guy's mug up on the wall as proof he was there. :)
Seating is tight outside so make sure you have a place to sit before you order. BTW, a clean bathroom is on the back side of the building.
On to the next spot…..
Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    49
    13
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Got the Kalua pork bowl with brown rice, bbq sandwich, and acai smoothie. All were really tasty! I'm not much of a fan of brown rice but the way they made it, was very good. Love their drive of local, healthy but very delicious food. The people there were nice too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdtrvl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Geat little shack outside of Bellows AFS”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Bellows AFS and found this place right next door. We found it on our last day there and I wish we had known about it sooner. We would have eaten here several times. Just a little red shack serving up great food. I had the brisket meal and it was great. My wife had the fish tacos and they were her favorite on Oahu (she LOVES fish tacos). The drinks there are made fresh and were incredible. I could have started every day out there with one of their Arnold Palmer's. I plan on vacationing again at Bellows and will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Highly recommend this restaurant. The food is great and the staff are friendly. Very relaxed outdoor seating for meal. Kind of a hole in the wall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsta1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best lunch ever !!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

When you visit Hawaii and you decide to eat out the one golden rule you should have is never judge a place by the way it looks ! In fact the more shed like it looks the better your chances of the best meal you'll ever have!! This place is exactly that.
We've been coming to this place for 3 years, every time we stay here and go to waimanalo beach, it is religion to have lunch there afterwards.
Everything is locally sourced produce and made there. I absolutely I've their homemade lemonade and in particular the hibiscus lemonade. Sooo refreshing. Love the koloa pulled pork sandwich with slaw and my weakness is the Acai bowl.........love it, heaven in a bowl filled with loads of fruit, granola, yogurt, banana and honey. Just what you need after a session on the beach.
Will always be back !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Home Waimanalo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing