We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Open Palms Plantation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open Palms Plantation
View of the Koolau Mountain Range as you drive into the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Open Palms Plantation
View of the Koolau Mountain Range as you drive into the property
Living area
Bedroom and living area
California King Bed
Kitchen with full size refrigerator
Private Bathroom
Twin beds in separate bedroom with A/C
Some of many tame wild white doves
Hunter, my new golden retriever
Private BBQ gazebo
Private gazebo and BBQ area
Waimanalo Beach, #1 Beach in the US 2015, only a five minute drive away!
View of the Koolau Mountain Range
Sunset view from the main house
Moon rise view from the gazebo and mainhouse
Hawaiian Rainbow!
View of the Koolau Mountain Range waterfalls after a heavy rain
View from house, Mt. Olamana
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waimanalo, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MATTHEW S
SAN DIEGO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Just returned from our stay at Open Palms Plantation and have the "Waimanalo Blues". Everything you need is provided by your wonderful hostess Kitty. Just bring your shorts, T shirts and swim trunks. Beach towels, boogie boards, snorkels, fins, beach chairs all provided. The guest house is stocked with everything you need. The property is beautiful, large and very safe. Great shower, endless hot water, comfortable king bed. Location is close to Kailua(10 minutes) for restaurants, Foodland, Target, and shopping. This is Hawaii, not a sanitized tourist vacation. Can't wait to go back. Matt,Laura&Natalie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful scenery
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auburn, California
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the location & accommodations.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
quincy17
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptionally relaxing and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have visited Hawaii many times and would return here in a heartbeat. The rural atmosphere of Waimanalo and the graciousness of Kitty, Hunter(the retriever) and Mana(the retired horse) combined to create an "Old Hawaii" atmosphere that cannot be had in Waikiki. The rental is large and has all the necessities and Waikiki and Honolulu are only a short drive or bus ride away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iriana88w
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable guest house for a couple”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in a guest house for 6 nights. Clean, good furniture, nice views. Good for one couple only. Dont stay here with kids, we managed it but it was not perfect. 15 minutes drive to a good beach. Best food options - is Whole Foods ( 15 min drive). Owner, Kitty, is a very welcoming and helpful.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
capecodde...
cape cod
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Rural Experience”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
7
people found this review helpful

When we imagined a Hawaiian vacation, we didn't want to stay in a high rise like the tired old Hilton in Waikiki, where you get nickle-and-dimed to death and where so many tour groups stay that the staff doesn't care about individual guests. We had a very bad experience with the Hilton and didn't want that yet again.

Unfortunately, there are no really sophisticated resorts on Oahu. Like the Hilton, they all are huge and tack on so many extra charges that the cost of your stay can double what you originally paid.

Looking around for an alternative accommodation was time-consuming. Nothing seemed to be just right.

Then we came across the reviews for Kitty's Open Palm Plantation. They were all, every one of them, completely enthusiastic. So we decided to take a chance.

We are so glad we did. We wanted a place for two weeks that would provide a comfortable place to stay for two weeks and this place was perfect. The room, which was really like a large efficiency, had a very comfortable king bed, a clean bathroom with excellent shower (hot water is nearly endless and comes from solar -- very cool), a kitchenette that allowed us to make our own meals, and a living area with couch and television that had great cable and also allowed us to use Netflix.

Out the main door of the little place was a wonderful deck where we grilled great steaks on some nights, hotdogs on others. There is a little table on the deck if you want to eat outside.

Outside the slider is a view of the little farm -- complete with a wonderful dog and a horse who liked to come over evenings for a bite of carrot or an apple, whatever we were offering for the evening treat.

The room had quiet air conditioning, a fridge large enough to store two weeks worth of groceries, and an outside hose so we could wash the sand off before we stepped into our room, with its soft carpeting.

This is a rural experience. There are lots of small properties in the area, and lots and lots of roosters who like to proclaim their presence at all hours. If you don't like the country, this may not be the place for you, but we couldn't have been happier. Our stay was about as different from the awful Hilton Waikiki as we could possibly get. And Kitty was exceptionally accommodating. She's always on the property if you need anything, but never intrusive. And she keeps you well-supplied with clean towels for the beach, as well as for the bath. Best of all -- unlike the Hilton -- there are never any cost add-ons.

To get to a beach is a short drive of ten or fifteen minutes. But we found a beach that is rated as one of the best in the world, and when we experienced it, we decided that was not an exaggeration. Wow! What a place to swim and snorkel.

There are plenty of fully stocked grocery stores also only a few minutes drive into town, including several organic food places.

Oahu is small, and we found we could easily drive anywhere we wanted to go for the day, and easily get back in time to make dinner. If you want to "put down roots" for a couple of weeks and don't fancy a cookie-cutter chain hotel where the staff couldn't care less about you as a customer, this may be the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing