We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury accommodations they are not..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimanalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellows Air Force Station
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodations they are not..”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Bellows beach is AMAZING! That being said, you come here for that reason. The cabins are clean, the bed was really hard.. But you wake up in the morning to the sound of the ocean and a surreal sunrise! Make some coffee, some crepes and then take a nap on the beach! Life is good!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hjcorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    44
    17
    14
    8
See reviews for
78
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just got back from spending 6 nights at the Bellows AFS Na Mok condos! Our family of four stayed in one of the second floor condos, super impressed with the accomadations here. We have stayed at other military rec. lodgings and this was by far the nicest! 2 rooms, beds were comfortable, housekeeping comes around everyday and asks if you would like clean sheets/towels which is really nice. The point of our vacation was to get away and just spend time together as a family - Bellows was great for that, it was quiet and away from all the craziness in Honolulu/Waikiki. The (usable) beach was a 10 minute walk from the condo, it was practically empty while we were there! Our 2 kids (ages 4 and 6) had a blast just running around in the water and playing in the sand. We also rented boogie boards from the recreation office they have there. ONLY downside is the drive if you do plan on doing anything outside of Bellows - it takes an hour to get to the North Shore and about 30-45 minutes to get downtown. Tip: Buy groceries at the Hickam commissary right next to the airport before heading to Bellows!

Room Tip: Get a condo and don't worry about bugs, crappy beds, etc.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This to us was the best vacation ever. The condos are great for sleeping and for the best view when you wake up in the morning.You want something fancy for a room go some other place . They are clean and in the right location people are excellent in cleaning and fixing anything that is wrong ,we will be coming back to bellows every chance we get. Mahalo bellows

Room Tip: ocean view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beatrice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I recently stayed for four nights in two of these cabins and they were great. I was a little apprehensive at first after reading a few reviews, but they were much better than I had hoped for.
I will be going again.
Best beach with very few people
For the price it can't be beat

Room Tip: Plan on cooking out on one of their grills, but must have your own charcoal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Butch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have been to Bellows beach several times, but in November, 2010, we stayed 5 nights. First off, the cabins are simple cinderblock duplexes. Our unit was a two bedroom with a sofa-sleeper. They are not luxurious but work well for a family of 5. Yes, there are some bugs, but our unit did not have that many. The cabins, in my opinion, are only 10% of the reason to stay at Bellows. The beach makes up the other 90%. It is beautiful with the best sand on Oahu. The waves break nicely for boogy boarding or body surfing. There is no coral, unless you swim offshore about 500 meters, so your toes only touch soft sand while out catching waves. A Subway and mini mart are nearby for food and supplies. My oldest son and I decided to do paintball, which is located near the old runway. What a blast that was! We played for hours, mainly because we won 500 extra rounds during one Capture-the-Flag game. My son did the Medal of Honor run and got the flag for our team. I highly recommend staying at Bellows.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobgong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackenbach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Condos are great and have Internet (wired and wireless). The view is great and water is close (can see from balcony), but the usable beach (past stone wall) is a couple hundred yards away: Not a complaint, but just to inform if you want the beach outside your door, don't pick the condos. Not a big deal for us, we had to rent equipment (boogey board, kayak) and swim at Turtle Bay (15 mi. Walk). Great location and nice facilities for a very decent price in HI for our family!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mtboger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have been coming to Bellows in January about every other year since 2000. My dad is retired Navy, so in previous years have stayed with my parents in their two bedroom cabin. With the new rules each id card holder can now rent two cabins instead of one, so this year we got our own cabin. Much more doable as four adults in one cabin is a bit crowded.

Unfortunately we ended up with an un-renovated cabin two back from the ocean (furthest away of any cabin). To make things worse, we had way to many of the “pests in paradise”. After lots of spraying and roach motels, everything was good, but the wife had a hard time getting over that part.

The accommodations vary greatly. The renovated cabin my parents had was right off the beach and did not have the pests. These cabins have tile floors. Some cabins have new furniture. All the regular cabins have a couch, dining table (some normal height, others at bar height), picnic table, and two plastic chairs. Some of the cabins are slightly larger and have a lounge chair. Size of cabin does not vary the price, instead it is based on location and renovated or not.

The new condos are definitely a step up. They have same items, it is just everything is new. The one thing lacking here is charcoal grills, which the regular cabins have – so no outdoor cooking at these. The condos also have nice outdoor furniture. They are sit back, so you want upper level one to get best view of ocean. These also have a/c which is needed because you do not get the ocean breeze as easily.

The “rustic cabins” are just basically camping. No electricity – just a solar powered light that lasts a few hours.

You need to have military id for shopping at the commissary. For Subway and main check-in building no id is needed as long as you pay cash.

The laundry is coin operated outdoor (roof) and huge improved area over years ago. It gets crowded, but you have a view of the beach, so waiting here is not a hardship. It is open 24 hours a day, so going very early is probably the best bet.

Internet access is slow and hard wired only. Wifi is available at condos and front desk. It did go out for about 18 hours on one of our days.

The beach is the best part. On weekends beach gets crowded in parts, but it is wide open and you can walk about 3 miles. During the week the beach area drops to about half mile, but it is empty. Great for viewing sunrises in your pj’s.

For movie night, we were the only ones there. They put the movie on the outdoor tv for us, great to watch it and see ocean at same time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grotbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimanalo
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellows Air Force Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellows Air Force Station

Property: Bellows Air Force Station
Address: 220 Tinker Rd, ** Hotel is for Military personnel (active or retired) ONLY, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96795-1903
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waimanalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waimanalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 188
Also Known As:
Bellows Air Force Station Hotel Waimanalo
Bellows Air Force Station Waimanalo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing