We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rustic Lodging Near Beach at Reasonable Price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimanalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellows Air Force Station
Certificate of Excellence
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Rustic Lodging Near Beach at Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Bellows AFS is great for those looking to stay near the beach without paying Waikiki tourist prices on Oahu for rooms and parking. If you're looking for 4 star lodging with room service and fine dining, look elsewhere. We stayed at the cabins located near beach with electricity/kitchen but no AC unit.

Pros: The cabins are within walking distance of beach, and they have tile floors so that you don't track sand onto carpet. Housekeeping sweeps and mops floors every day to help keep clean. Room has a kitchen with utensils, barbecue, and outdoor hose to help you rinse sand/saltwater off after swimming in ocean. Bellows also has laundry facility and shopette if you need them.

Cons: No AC in cabins and bugs can and will get in. That being said, we kept fans on 24/7 to keep air circulating and kept food in fridge to minimize bugs entering cabin. Room actually isn't too hot if you open windows and turn on fans.

Unfortunately, we couldn't stay here for entire trip due to availability of cabins. Will definitely come back here again when opportunity presents itself. Bellows is a hidden treasure on Oahu-most people think of Waikiki when it comes to Oahu hotels for tourists on vacation.

Room Tip: There are different types of accommodations: Tent campsites,Primitive cabins without electricity, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustang9975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    44
    17
    14
    8
See reviews for
78
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have read many poor reviews of this lovely property and it makes me sad. I am certain the cabins and cottages are in need of renovations after all the many years they have been there serving a plethera of happy military families. I was a mere child but Bellows Beach will forever be embedded in my heart. The beach itself is magnificent, the waves perfect for body surfing! Back to the cottages, they serve there purpose. Most guests are there to spend the entire day on the beach or in the surf. Absolutely spectacular!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45StacieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Bellows has been a regular stop for our family since we lived in Mililani Town over 20 years ago. The Cabins are a little dated, but the value is second to none on Oahu.

There are a lot of family activities. It's literally right on the beach. The rooms are always very clean and the staff are super friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wine_loving_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in the rustic camper cabins - basically, they had a full size bed and a bunk bed, nothing else. I recommend bringing a broom of some sort, as the floor gets pretty sandy. There is no electric in these cabins, but if you are looking for a camping experience, you don't need electric. The bathrooms are a short walk away. I give these cabins four stars because for the price, you can NOT beat this on Oahu! The beach at Bellows is just beautiful. It was amazing to wake up and be on the beach within minutes. The beach is extremely family friendly with lifeguards on duty during normal hours. They also have kayaks, surf boards, stand up paddle boards, etc to rent at a very affordable rate. The grounds themselves are just lovely with the pines and the sound of the waves crashing. We have stayed at Waikiki Beach, but prefer the peace and quiet at Bellows. Highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a camping experience with a million dollar view!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I don't understand how other reviews mention the cleanliness of the cabin. It's a cinder block cabin with tile floors, vinyl sofa, hard beds, and filthy bathrooms. There was a film on the tile that was so disgusting I had my kids wear their shoes on day one. The shower was not clean. There was debris and grass on the bottom. Since the entire bathroom is tile, including the shower, I also made everyone wear their crocs in the shower.

I'm not a clean fanatic, but it's disgusting. The "renovated" cabins were renovated upwards of 8 years ago. So, don't expect much with that description. I get it, these are ocean front cabins and they receive a lot of abuse. But my floors had not been mopped in a long time.

Here's my take: unless you're staying in the front row cabins, don't waste your time staying overnight, just come for the day. At $95/night, I think the back row price should be lowered by about $20/night. Why pay the same price for a lesser experience? That's my opinion.

However, the studio-like kitchen had a fair amount of amenities for the out-of-towner. Go shopping at Commissary and stock up. Being a resident, I brought many supplies from home. I recommend: paper towels, ziploc bags, disposable tupperware, ice . . . (I can't remember if it had a bottle or can opener). The great thing these cabins have is WIFI. Yep, as of three months ago, they all have WIFI. There's also an in-room safe. It's small and our keypad was finicky and not all of the digits worked, so fiddle with it and pick a code that works.

The beach is great and an excellent location to take your kids boogie boarding. There's a little inlet where we took our toddler to play. Is it the "Best Beach Ever?" No. But the sand is soft, the waves are good for some simple recreation, and it's essentially private. But don't let that fool you. The local military overwhelm this beach like no other and the "public" part of the beach is open on weekends when the Marines aren't doing their exercises.

Speaking of locals: Our first night was awkward and irritating. A local family had their entire ohana at the adjoining cabin -- well above the 16 person daytime limit. Hawaiian and techo music was blaring, the pop up canopy with lots of chairs, food, people and cars. They woke us with their music at 1:30 a.m. and again at 5:30 a.m. when they decided to pack up their cars. Admittedly, this put a sour taste in our mouth, but we were stuck with our reservation for at least another night (you're required to give 24 hours notice if changing your check out time) we decided to make the most of it.

Our next night was quiet and wonderful. We bbq'd on the provided grill and then roasted marshmallows on the remaining coals. Fires are prohibited on Hawaiian beaches, and I'm assuming also at the cabins since there's no fire ring. We sat by our lantern and talked and the kids ran around and played.

We often went into town for food. We like Serg's in Waimanalo, Cinnamon's in Kailua, and Boston North End pizza. They give military $5 off an entire pie.

Some other review also said this was the nicest military accommodations on the island. Not true. If you don't mind not being on the beach, stay at the Pearl Harbor TLF. Super nice and only $65/night. Or, better yet, stay at the Cottages on the Marine base and get 180* views of Kaneohe bay with a super comfortable bed, full kitchen, a/c and for $125/night.

This facility is managed by Kadena. I have no clue why, but that makes it hard, in my opinion, for the commander to really stay abreast about the facility. Yes, there are bugs, as evidenced by the centipede we brought home with us and caught a day later after he hid from us. Yikes. Keep your stuff off the floor.

I will be staying again with adjusted expectations and with a front row cabin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank crazywaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Best beach ever. very relaxing. you will not find a cheaper place to stay on oahu. if you are looking for crowds and noise then dont stay here. Plenty of equipment to rent for beach activities, just bring the suntan lotion.

Room Tip: condos are great. central air. very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the cabins with military friends for 2 nights and 3 days. We had 4 families with two, two bedroom units on the beach. I grew up here, and this is one of the best deals you can get on Oahu.

Pros:
Location, location location!
Cool breeze!
Beautiful sunrise!
Full kitchen and bath.
Linens provided.
Price ( must be military or be sponsored by military friend to stay).
Great Hawaiian getaway in the country with friends and family.
Very secure.
Great for kids.
Think casual beach vacation, not high end resort.
Great side of the island to explore.

Cons

Beds can be very hard, but hey it's better than sleeping on the floor!
Be aware that this side of the island is notorious for small jelly fish called Portuguese Man-o-War. They pack an awful sting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LocalGirlTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimanalo
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellows Air Force Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellows Air Force Station

Property: Bellows Air Force Station
Address: 220 Tinker Rd, ** Hotel is for Military personnel (active or retired) ONLY, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96795-1903
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waimanalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waimanalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 188
Also Known As:
Bellows Air Force Station Hotel Waimanalo
Bellows Air Force Station Waimanalo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing