We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The margaritas, best host, and an exotic experience in American Samoa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tisa's Barefoot Bar

Tisa's Barefoot Bar
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Pago Pago
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The margaritas, best host, and an exotic experience in American Samoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love this place because they never say no to your request. Its the best stopover for cocktail and light dinner. I love Tisa she's the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    20
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tujunga, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Aboout Tisa's tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were part of a tour off a cruise ship and are we glad we booked the whole tour. After reading some of the reviews that suggested just taking the bus to Tisa's to save money and have a seat at Tisa's, some cancelled out of our tour and, has been pointed out, were directed to another location. They not only missed the tour and Candy's interesting travelogue but also lunch at Tisa's. We, the members of the tour group, enjoyed Tisa's all to our selves - Tisa demonstrating weaving palm leaves, the umu lunch (all that was advertised) a musician playing island music, the beach (the water was almost uncomfortably warm)...Candyman (Candy Mann) was our tour guide on the bus and displayed his love of Samoa and it's culture as we drove around the island. The bus was an island bus so don't expect air-conditioned urban comfort - you're on a tropical island - enjoy the experience.
We did not find anyone pushing Tisa artifacts and in fact I had to ask if a CD was for sale and also about the t-shirts.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jimberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad but return bus left without us......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were SO looking forward to Tisa's. We were on a cruise ship. Got picked up and was lucky enough to get Candyman as a guide. FULL of info. We had a whole group from the ship. Two buses. Some people from the ship didnt want to pay the full price and found their own way there. WE however. Enjoyed the ride around and listened to the history of American Samoa from Candyman.

We made it to Tisa's. It was well done as far as collecting the money. Had a list of all names and gave us a ticket when we paid. The ticket was for the meal. The food was good but nothing outstanding. We swam a bit. Then they said T-shirts were coming out. At the same time the call came that the buses will be heading back to the ship. We were getting Tee's. Dropped another 60.00 there and said we gota go. The buses. They wont leave Tisa said. We said goodbye and walked up the hill and they were GONE.

Now. This is NOT all Tisa's fault. It appears they did a head count.and WE think. A few people hijacked one of the buses that didnt pay for the hole trip. The problem is. Had they used the same list that we paid from. No one would have been left behind. And if someone did hijack the bus. Your the lowest of low.

Tisa IS a wonderful lady and we love her. Candyman and the staff were awesome. A bit slow at the bar which is where I waited for some time to purchase the shirts.

All in all. Tisa is a Legend and we are glad we made it to her place.

Would we go back. Sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank donscomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“once is enough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Went to Tisa's for group dinner. Tisa is very kind, nice, has a great location and love what she's done with the restaurant atmosphere. Now, the price: $39, didn't even include a drink or any entertainment--disappointed for sure. I am from Hawaii and so have seen an 'umu' many times, no bells or whistles there. The food amount was very small, considering they knew exactly how many would be in our group. There was also a bar, the bartender seemed befuddled when asked to make a mai tai, which costs $8.00 and wasn't even a mai tai. The dinner didn't come with water, tea, juice, coffee--those were available for purchase at the bar as well. No dessert either. I did enjoy the experience but once is definitely enough for me. I'll spend my $$$ at the Koko Bean or the Equator instead--for $39, I could get breakfast, lunch, AND dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roxierowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tisa' s feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

It's a traditional Polynesian eart oven. Tisa keeps traditional alive and adds spice with variations of local fare made modern. Succulent everything.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyCorner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tisa's Barefoot Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tisa's Barefoot Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing