We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tradewinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Safe Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was in Pagopago for 4 days for work. As I was travelling on my own and I did not know much about the area I found it to be a safe location with shops in walking distance. Generally the staff were helpful and the free internet in the cafe helped to stay in contact with people overseas. I had thought I might find somewhere else to stay once i was accustomed to Pagopago but ended up staying there for the rest of the time because of the safety factor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olataga T, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Talofa Fila F,

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and feel safe in our establishment. We employ a security crew 24/7 and we value the safety and security of our guests a lot. We hope that you will come back to visit soon.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    36
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
13
9
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions in the last month while traveling to and from Western Samoa. It's similar to staying at the Days Inn or a Motel 6. It has no thrills. I gather it's the best that Samoa has to offer. The staff was very nice and helpful but the hotel itself is a bit depressing. The internet at the hotel also sucks. Otherwise, it is a safe, secure and clean place with no thrills.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Slate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olataga T, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you Slade for the review. Internet on this island is a nightmare most times. If you are here on one of those days, count yourself unlucky. It is the main reason why we offer it free of charge in the rooms on a CAT5 connection and wifi at the Kofe Plus Café, so that you don't have to pay for an inconsistent service. Our service provider offer a better service where you can buy a WIFI access card at the front desk for a day's pass or week's pass depending on the duration of your stay.

We're hoping the new OB3 network project that ASTCA is working on will change this service to a better reliable and fast internet experience for our guests.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business. The rooms are spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is very close to VA and national guard. Also minutes away from the airport. The free continental breakfast is great. The hotel restaurant is very reasonable and the food is tasty. Enjoyed the nightly entertainment as well. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank roxierowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Tradewinds when I was in AS for business for a week. Overall it was a very good experience. The food and service at the restaurant was very good, the rooms were very clean and nice, the lobby and common areas are well maintained. My only "gripe" would be that the internet service is a little unreliable and only available downstairs and in the lobby area. The first day it hardly worked at all, but got better during the work week so did not create a big inconvenience. Most of all I appreciated the kind, courteous, professional and very service oriented staff!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We are a local family who have been on island for quite a few years, so know what to expect from island service. We visit the equator restaurant once every couple of years in the hope that the food and the service has improved with a change of staff and/or management. Tonight was the straw that broke the camels back. We didn't actually have to wait long for our meal, however the Saimin noodles that my daughter's ordered were discusting and tasted like dishwater, when this was brought to the waitresses attention nothing was rectified, and we payed the full price. Asking for anything additional like chille or top up of drinks was meet with a scowl and even completely ignored. Compared to other restaurants in the area, the Equator Restaurant at the Tradewinds hotel charges a premium price without the premium service or food. You would be better off spending your money else where. We really don't mind spending good money for good food and service, but we will not be spending any further money at the Equator Restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Pagofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Tradewinds is the best place available. The rooms are clean. The view of he Southern Cross from the pool is amazing. Breakfast included cold cereal and some interesting things that must be favorites in New Zealand.. Staff was always very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wholehogbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This is probably the best hotel in the area. Everyone was very friendly. We called ahead and specially requested adjoining rooms, each with a balcony, and those rooms were waiting for us upon our arrival. We also reserved an airport pick up in advance. Even though my friend's luggage was one of the last pieces to come out on the airport conveyor belt, a shuttle driver with a large sign was waiting as we left the airport. We picked up a rental car at the hotel and used that while we were in town.

While there, I was using Skype to call back to the United States. There is a round table in the middle of the lobby from which I was able to connect to an Internet hot spot that allowed me to make clear calls.



Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JustPassingThrough22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tradewinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel

Property: Tradewinds Hotel
Address: 999 Ottoville Road, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Region: American Samoa > Tutuila > Pago Pago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Pago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing