We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great food but very noisy”
Review of Sadie's by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sadie's by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great food but very noisy”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just spent about 10 days at Sadies by the Sea. It has a lot going for it - excellent location in beautiful Pago Pago Harbour, great food at the Goat Island Café, and lovely staff. But it was very noisy with loud music playing at the café until midnight to 1 am more often than not. So a great place to stay if you wish to party, but not if you are looking for peace and quiet. Next time I'll stay somewhere else and go there to eat and play.

Room Tip: If you don't like late night music, get an upstairs room as far away from the café as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    62
    30
    16
    9
See reviews for
26
31
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apia, Samoa
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just finished a one week meeting at Sadie's and it was absolutely fantastic! We stayed there and used their conference room for our meeting-- it was so convenient. The service was top notch with the staff willing to assist and serve with anything with that smile--without even being asked sometimes! And the food was really really good too!

The conference room was nice and spacious and with an eating area. The rooms were excellent with everyday cleaning too. Heaps of kiosks within walking distance. Also the marine park building that showcases a lot of the marine environment in Am.Samoa--which by the way, has a 3D Globe Projector Screen. It is right next to Sadies so its good to check it out. But honestly, with such service, I don't care if I live in a run-down house. The service really matters and that's what draws me more to stay anywhere. I definitely recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
380 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Have now stayed here three times and at the other hotels to compare. This one is by far the best location as far as beauty goes. Right on the beach and near town (or I should say village). You are walking distance to a public beach and multiple eateries. The big complaint I had last visit was unreliable internet and that has gotten much better, all the rooms now are within signal of wireless (however the island still has the problem of original slow cable coming in so bandwidth remain an issue island wide). The hotel's pool was cleaner and clearly they are trying to better maintain it. The restaurant The Goat Island Cafe remains one of the better restaurants on the island. It has two stories, the downstairs is tiled and the upstairs carpeted. The rooms are dated but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Personally I'd chose an upstairs room close to the front office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a great hotel! It's located fairly close to downtown, within walking distance. It wasn't much in the way of looks from the outside, but the rooms were cold (good ac!!), large and well equipped with two beds, a desk, TV (with cable), mini fridge and coffee pot, and a giant bathroom.
There was a small private beach on the property as well. There was a pool, it was popular but the water was foggy so I did not swim. There is also a small store that sells small pantry items and some gifts.
The bar/resturant was outragously priced, but did have huge portions (8 pieces of bacon for breakfast) and some items that you don't find anywhere else on the island (steak salad with eggplant).
There was free wireless internet which worked in my room and on the beach (huge plus), althought it was slow at times and occassionally did not work at all - 75% of the time it was good. There was a small balcony on each room with a table and chairs, great for happy hour with friends.
Overall I was very imporessed with the hotel, given it's lackluster appearnce, the wifi, ocean, and walkability to downtown made this a top choice in my mind!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks for the favorable review. An exterior face-lift should be completed by the end of August. We will not rest until we are again the #1 ranked hotel on Tripadvisor!
--Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

If you are on vacation in American Samoa or want to be near the sea, then Sadie's is the place to be. Well located close to shops and restaurants in Pago Pago, Sadie's has a great view across the water, a nice pool area and small but pleasant sandy beach. The hotel amenities and rooms are basic and dated, but clean and functional. Staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel cafe has great views across the water and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDude747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were unsure about whether to stay here, but decided to try it since it is on the water. Here are some things to be aware of: only 2 guests/room can use the pool for free above that you pay, locals use the pool wearing their clothing, so the pool was so filthy we couldn't see the bottom, the restaurant has live music which goes fairly late on weekends, 2 teenagers got into a fight on the beach and security was nowhere to be found, the front desk staff was very unhelpful we had to ask 3 times for towels for our room and never got the plug for our bathtub which was missing. Several people had told us to go to Tradewinds and we regretted not taking their advice. Stay at Tradewinds, but come eat at the Goat Island restaurant, we did enjoy that and the kayaking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Java73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Firstly, there is NO CHARGE for pool/beach use for any registered guest. This is not limited to 2 per room. This complaint was on Mother's Day. Guest requested 6 extra towels but only had 2 guests registered. They complained bitterly when told that there was a $5 charge for outside guests!

And, yes, the pool and facilities were taxed to the max being both Mother's Day and the fact that an 1,800 passenger cruise ship was in port with many cruise ship passengers taking advantage of our beach and facilities.

As far as the teenagers fighting is concerned, that was reported and found to be simply boisterous horseplay. Security was aware of this situation which never got out of hand.

We do have live music Thursday through Saturday and also on Cruise Ship days when we normally have an influx of 200 to 300 passengers enjoying the facilities.

--Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pago Pago hotels

Kaneohe, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed only one night and were pleased with the clean american style accommodation. The staff was very friendly and eager to help out and the food was good. The swimming pool was clean and the view of the bay was breathtaking. I will stay again during my next trip to America Samoa.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_Knoepfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sadie's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sadie's by the Sea

Property: Sadie's by the Sea
Address: Utulei Beach, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Region: American Samoa > Tutuila > Pago Pago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sadie's by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sadie's By The Sea is the only full service, beach front resort in American Samoa, located in the heart of the government and business centers of the island, and close to many tourist attractions. Sadie's by the Sea is a fun, charming resort with first class Polynesian service. Lush forested mountains surrounding Pago Pago's deep blue harbor complete the view from every room. Our private beach and clear warm water, just a few steps from your room, are perfect for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sadie's by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sadie`s By The Sea Hotel Pago Pago
Sadies By The Sea Pago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing