We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamuning Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tamuning
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you have a rental car and a short stay in Guam this is a reasonable option - basic but in contrast to some reports my room -3rd floor was clean and bed comfortable. Air con worked as did wifi (albeit slow). No evidence of unseemly characters although only there for 1 night. For Guam $60 a night is pretty reasonable. No elevator or fridge in room.

Room Tip: 2nd floor seems to be rooms with long term residents and cooking facilities- much noisier.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloatingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Tamuning Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Location: Guam

Staff: friendly and reasonably helpful, 0.25 cents for 1 page print out.

Cleanliness: rooms are smell, old and not very clean

Sleep Quality: not good mat

Quietness: quiet enough

Value: good

View: second and third floor only, no view

Laundry: I stayed only 6 hours and too smelly in the bathroom so I didn't realize any things are provided. No towel I am sure

Others: must remember this motel has no elevator

Room Tip: Suggestion: smelly nightmare, wish i never need to stay again! there are very nice steak house wort...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devilcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 days. Quick check in. Nice and accomodating staff. Rooms are ok if you're not too picky. Can hear people from the other room or hall. Free wifi (stayed in the 3rd flr-fast connection) but don't expect too much given their low price/rates. Provided shuttle for drop off to my destination in Hagatna and airport. Near beach. Closest restaurant is subway. Too isolated, far from shops/malls, had to walk 20-30 mins to gpo.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Apsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, the location is not good, you need to walk hundreds meters then cross the road, you can see the beach. The hotel have shuttle to pick you up in the airport, but no drop off, you need ask the front desk to call taxi to airport from the hotel.
if you can drive a car, then this budget hotel is convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nicewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at this little dump out of desperation while some maintenance was done at my home. I agree that the staff is nice, but once you climb the stairs to the rooms you're met with filthy rooms, dinged and busted furniture, beaten remote controls, and dirty rugs (bring slippers). The bed is like sunken in concrete with a dirty sheet and flat hard pillows. The tub was dirty, the toilet seat had a crack, and the hot water lasted about 2 minutes. The view on my side was a dirty abandoned movie theater and the view on the other side is the hotel's ugly annex building. The laundry room is a ramshackle orifice featuring a washer and dryer from the 1970's that has been used so many times I probably would have been better off wearing dirty clothes. The people coming and going were dirty with a criminal element (http://mvguam.com/local/news/21568-transgender-allegedly-steals-tourists-money.html). The place is fronted by an abandoned store and massage parlors complete the facade. Look, it was either stay there or at my mother in laws with my wife, but I would have been better off in a tent by a public bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Atulai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

During my trip to the Pacific Rim, I decided to visit Guam. I wasn't looking for a fancy hotel; I wanted a conveniently located hotel that didn't cost a lot of money and that had adequate accommodations. This hotel is by no means the Ritz Carlton but the rooms are large and clean, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed for three days and thoroughly enjoyed my visit. I read the negative reviews and totally disagree. It's crazy that our experiences could differ so much, but I highly recommend this hotel for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank hhsticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I was looking for a cheap place to stay for my 4am to 3pm layover and thought this hotel was - at 59$ - a good option. Bad idea.
To confirm what was said before: yes, this hotel is a dump. everything is run down. EVERYTHING. Bed, linen, furniture, bathroom...
and it seems to be a "meeting place" for short time lovers...I had very noisy neighbours for some minutes. Surroundings is terrible: Massage places and bad food everywhere.

but hey, at 59$ it is probably still the best option for some cheap hours - bring earplugs and take a shower before you leave and you will be ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank helveticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamuning
3.3 mi away
Guam Plaza Hotel
Guam Plaza Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamuning
862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Guam
Wyndham Garden Guam
#4 of 11 in Tamuning
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palmridge Inn
Palmridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Barrigada
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Guam-Tamuning
Days Inn Guam-Tamuning
#5 of 11 in Tamuning
307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Verona Resort & Spa
Verona Resort & Spa
#17 of 20 in Tumon
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamuning Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamuning Plaza Hotel

Address: 960 South Marine Dr, Tamuning, Guam 96911, Mariana Islands
Region: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tamuning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tamuning
Price Range: £47 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamuning Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamuning Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamuning Plaza Hotel Guam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing