We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms private beach with snorkeling possibility and great view from the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nikko Guam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Guam
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tumon
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big rooms private beach with snorkeling possibility and great view from the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Nikko Guam has a good location but you have to walk a little or rent a car which can be at times tiring because of the high temperatures and humidity. The view if you request a room on a high floor is stunning and beach for snorkeling (lot of fishes and my first blue seastar) and swimming is perfect as well as the pool with wifi free all over public places even the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raphaelhiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    595
    218
    37
    27
See reviews for
616
260
44
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent our new year in 2009 here. It was one of the best vacation. The rooms and pool are clean, delicious food and warm employees. There was some events that time. There was even beautiful fireworks at that time. The beach is also clean. Not too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisRoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Fantastic view from the room. The beach is great. Nice water slides. Service is ok. 1 - the pickup at the airport was late. I would suggest taking a cab (this is my first time at guam). 2 - we had to call at about 4pm to have our room cleaned up. The room is definitely old but clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAL_SING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed here with my college age daughter for 5 nights. The room was lovely and comfortable and I didn't think it needed updating at all as some have said. A/C worked fine as did all amenities (TV, hairdryer, etc in the room. It's great that all the rooms, except for a few ground level ones, have a balcony. The hotel faces west so it is hot to sit out in the afternoon but since the sun starts going down around 6 it's beautiful to sit on your balcony, sip a drink, and watch the sunset. The pool is nice although the seating does fill up by about 9 or 10 am until mid afternoon. It does close at 8pm though but that keeps the noise level down in the evening. The ocean is amazing for snorkeling but it's so shallow because of the reef you can't really get a good swim in until you get pretty far out. The reef is rough on your feet so you will need water shoes but you can rent them for $5/day on site. I saw more fish and sea life here than I have ever seen in Mexico or Belize. I'm not sure other beaches in Guam are as good but Gun Beach right outside the hotel is magnificent. We didn't eat in any of the hotel's main restaurants as we thought they were a bit pricy and they seem to cater to the Japanese tourists. We were one of maybe 2 or 3 caucasian families at the hotel during our stay. There is a little bar/restaurant just 5 minutes walk north on the beach where you can find inexpensive, although a bit bland, food. Truth be told though, we found most of the food on the island pretty bland. The mini bar is pricey too but there is a convenience store in lower level where you can gets drinks and snacks for much less. The coffee shop on the reception floor has nice lattes and packages of rolls for breakfast but they sell out of pastries early so be there by 8am. There is a little coin operated laundry but it's pretty small for the whole hotel so go at a weird time of day (like 6am or 11pm) to ensure finding an open machine. The hotel is on the outskirts of Tumon so we were glad to have a car and there is plenty of parking. Dollar rental had the best prices when we were there. There is a tram that takes you into town but we never used it. Many people have complained about the internet and it's true you have to pay for service in your room. There is free wi-fi in common areas and 4 computers for guest use. Unless you are staying for work maybe you should disconnect from "back home" for awhile anyway. The staff was helpful and always pleasant. I have never stayed in a hotel this big and thought I might not enjoy it but was pleasantly surprised. The grounds are spacious, as are the rooms and the lobby. I felt very comfortable and not crowded by the other guests. I loved my stay here and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend the Gun Beach side as the view is more serene. The Tumon Beach side will look into town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JGWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapporo
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I was at the Nikko Guam last week for four nights, Room 828. The rooms are large and the view can be spectacular. Unfortunately, I reserved an ocean front room and was stuck in a room looking up the Tumon coast. 3/4 of the hotel rooms at the Nikko Guam will have the view I was looking for. I wanted blue, and nothing but blue, and had that expectation when I reserved. This was the first of several disappointments at the hotel. The second, arriving at night after a flight in from Japan, I wanted to check my mail. No WiFi, except in the lobby area. No LAN in the rooms. This really made me angry. When I asked at the front desk about it, the woman working there told me it would be $9 per hour to use the Internet in my room. There is free WiFi all over the island, even Denny's had it. For what is supposed to be a good hotel, in 2013, not to have it is simply bad policy. So, I found myself often after midnight sitting in the lobby with several other people checking mail instead of in my room checking my mail and relaxing. The third problem is towels. You have a hotel with a beach. In the room there are two bath towels (instead of the standard 4 at many good hotels). If you take a shower in the morning, then toss your towels in the tub (as they ask you to do), then head to the beach, if housekeeping hasn't come by the time you get back then you have no towels to shower and change. After the first time this happened, I began borrowing one of the blue beach towels and taking back to my room, then bringing the blue one back down to the beach before going out for the day. Major pain in the ***. Having gotten the bad points off my chest, the beach is great and much less crowded than Tumon. Most of the time I found only a couple other people on the beach. Lounging by the pool was nice, though the bar doesn't open until 11 and the selection is minimal in the off months. The hotel is a little bit away from the shopping area but the walk is pleasant. Would I stay at this hotel again? It depends on them. WiFi is a must, especially for those of us who need to keep in contact with work. And, if you advertise "all rooms are ocean front" as it says on your Japanese website the view had better be blue and not the lights of the other hotels down the coast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xClark-Griswoldx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

My family and I stayed this hotel for 8 nights.
What we like this hotel is lunch buffet. They have a lot of dishes and the food is different everyday. So we really enjoyed the lunch during our staying. Especially their bread is best in island I think !
They have nice beach, swimming pool area is so huge that our children loves them and likes to stay there all day.
I would really recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again with my family !!!

Room Tip: The room which is Tumon bay side has really great view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etsuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at the Nikko for four nights during our10-day visit to Guam (we spent another five nights at the Westin). The service was good and the staff very friendly. However, the Hotel and especially the rooms are old and would need renovation. What's very nice is that each room has seaview and a nice balcony, from which you can watch the sunset. The beach is also very nice, unfortunately there are no cushions on the beach chairs, so it's very uncomfortable to lie there - that's why we had to buy pillows at K-Mart the first day we got there. Because of the reef it's also difficult to go for a swim (the water is too shallow), but it's a good place for snorkeling.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filip84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tumon hotels
0.4 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Guam
Hyatt Regency Guam
#4 of 21 in Tumon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Guam Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Resort Guam
0.6 mi away
Dusit Thani Guam Resort
0.2 mi away
Lotte Hotel Guam
Lotte Hotel Guam
#8 of 21 in Tumon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Guam

Property: Hotel Nikko Guam
Address: PO Box 12819 | 245 Gun Beach Road, Tumon, Guam 96931-2819, Mariana Islands
Region: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Guam 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Guam Hotel
Nikko Guam Tamuning
Hotel Nikko Guam Tumon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing