We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent room, not luxory. Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Resort & Spa Guam
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, decent room, not luxory. Good Value”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Resort and Spa in Guam. Located right next to the beach, and easy walking to many locations on hotel strip. The room was a bit worn as far as carpets and chairs, but the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. I was only there for diving, so the room didn't matter too much to me. We booked it through bookings.com and got a good rate as compared to other hotels and overall I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanJfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRSG_Manager, Manager at Holiday Resort & Spa Guam, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear RyanJfrom MD,

We are delighted you had enjoyed your stay, and was satisfied with our location and room rates. We continue to work hard everyday to improve our service and facilities, thank you for sharing your feedback on the condition of our guest room. We will do our best ensure that the issues you had experienced will be resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Resort Guam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    252
    196
    62
    29
See reviews for
214
130
60
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hotel could benefit from a little updating, but the view of the ocean makes up for anything else! The dinner buffet was also very good and reasonable for an island in the Pacific. The beach is beautiful although the walk to it was a little odd, with no distinct route.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are better because the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Only reason we stayed is that my husband's company chose this place and paid for a two-week business trip for him and me that spanned the holidays. I wanted to run out the door screaming, but there were no other decent properties available during Christmas. Go to the Hilton, Marriott, Sheraton, or Westin! We tried very hard to make the best of this place, but it seemed that each time we found some area that was positive, another aspect would rear its ugly head.

As previous posters have noted, some idiot made a stupid decision to carpet the rooms. Hmmm. In a tropical environment, the mold and other creepy organisms take over fairly quickly so there was a good bit of built-up gunk everywhere.

Room was about the size of a motel 6 room: small. No wireless in the room (though it advertises wireless is available, and they give you the password info when you check in). Shower was rusty and eroded, and I was scared to use it.

Horrible air conditioning that seemed to break every other day. Maintenance folks were dispatched routinely to "fix" it, and that worked for about half a day. Ha ha ... hafa adai! The one night that the A/C did manage to make it through most of the night, the water went out so there was no water in the morning. The response from the front desk: the city did not tell them that they were shutting down the water that day.

No place to work with no desk or table. A small round end table is the only "free" space in the room. Dressers had drawers that were clearly past their prime, and the wood had rotted so that they didn't slide open. The closet had the same problem: drawers that were unusable because they wouldn't open. There was a large safe in the closet, so that was a nice feature.

There are robes available from the spa downstairs, but you have to call and beg housekeeping for them.

The business center is two old computers (read: slow to non-functional) and a printer that hasn't worked in quite some time. To his credit, the day manager (Jo) was really wonderful and volunteered his personal e-mail account in order to print our boarding passes when we left.

The restaurant on the upper lobby level had a decent buffet. Note that there is a surcharge of 10% for gratuities added on, so tip accordingly. They offer what appeared to be a very nice Friday night seafood buffet with lots to choose from ... however, be warned that the sanitation standards are apparently different than those in the states. Spent about six hours paying for our unwise choice to eat the buffet.

Found a 24/7 ramen shop a few blocks up the street, and there are lots of really good restaurants if you're a walker. We meandered up the town, which was only 8-10 blocks long. Found the standard DSW and galleria mall, attracting lots of Japanese tourists. If you don't want to walk, DSW sends its buses around to the hotels and it will pick you up.

Will NOT stay here ever again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Navy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tumon hotels

Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We, a 4 person family, were overall disapointed by this hotel. In general most things felt a bit off, and compared to similarly priced hotels in Hawaii we have stayed at it did not come close. It did not live up to the promise on the web page or booking site and would in hindsight have booked a better hotel.

/// Bad things ///

*Our booking on hotels.com clearly stated "breakfast included". Anyhow I had to negotiate it twice with hotel staff who just wanted to give voucher for two people. I had to provide a print-out of the booking confirmation. It gave a bad impression and irritating start of our vacation.
*They had put an extra bed in our room without us asking for it so we had to ask them to remove it.
*The hotel is poorly maintained overall, and both "gym" and pool is unstaffed. They gym is a joke with toy type of machines. Painting is missing in many places. (see pictures).
*The room has no sofa or armchair, just a pair of regular chairs so there is nowhere to sit and relax or read really. Not even the small balcony has any furniture at all so you can't use it for much which is a waste (we had a good view). TV is old and bad.
*Internet connection drops frequently and is very slow. Could not load pictures to FB without a very long and irritating wait. Probably too many users, needs a big upgrade to their service.
*The breakfast is very uninspiring and overall not very tasty. The made to order eggs / omelettes are swiming in grease. For cereal (two typs only) there is no sweeteners (jam etc) and it is eaten with flimsy plastic spoons. Also, the offering is inconsistent with items coming and going depending on the day (we stayed 6 nights). Hot dishes are mostly very greasy and not good at all. One single juice to choose from (other than first morning when they had two).
* The parking garage is taken up by valet parking spaces and spaces reserved for the hotel restaurant guests (California Pizza etc) and just a few spaces left outside. We sometimes had to circulate and wait a while to find a space. The parking is open to the public beach users too.

/// Good things ///

* Very central location.
* Nice beach, but you have to walk past some kind of zoo which is a bit stinky, so not too pleasant.
* Large safety box.
* Price somewhat lower than nearby hotels on the beach (now we know why)

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamamoto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Don't be fooled by the marble glitz of the reception area - this hotel is just plain old, crummy and dirty. Who had the brilliant idea of installing wall-to-wall carpeting in the tropics?! The stench of mould is overpowering, and the blotchy and stained carpeting has by now turned into one vast fungal organism. Asthmatics and anybody who cares about their health beware!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We went out shopping for the day and when we returned- some personal items were missing from the restroom counter (lotion, baby wash, make-up bag and toothbrushes). Reported this to Front Desk, but only got a "sorry" in the end as expected. End of story.

Pros: Great view, location and large room.
Cons: Terrible parking; wifi did not work at all; room and furniture are old and need major upgrading; bed sheets were stained; bath tub was dirty; found trash under the bed; personal items vanished into thin air.

We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomae670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Resort M, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Resort & Spa Guam, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hafa Adai Tomae670,

In behalf of the Holiday Resort & Spa management please accept our sincerest apologies that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. The safety and security of our guests and valuables is our top priority. A full investigation regarding your missing items was conducted at the time you had reported to the front desk, and unfortunately concluded with no items being found. Please rest assured that we do not take this incident lightly.

We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in the Holiday Resort. If you future travel plans include Guam, please contact us directly and we will arrange and assure that your next stay will be positively memorable.

Best Regards,
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I just spent 9 nights there. The staff was outstanding, any complains or request they handled professionally. The cleaning staff did a great job, and the spa is wonderful! The beds in my room felt like they brand new.

The building needs renovations I did ask around, several people said the same thing about other hotels in Guam. Due to the humidity, and salt in the air. I notice mold and rust in my second room. Inside the building, you will notice it's needs to the refurbished. The laundry room has 4 washers, and 4 dryers. They use $2 each and of the 3 dryers I used only one was any good.

Room Tip: get a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel_92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumon
0.8 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Guam Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Guam Plaza Hotel
Guam Plaza Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamuning
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Guam Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Guam
Hyatt Regency Guam
#4 of 20 in Tumon
1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Guam
Bayview Hotel Guam
#12 of 20 in Tumon
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Resort & Spa Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Resort & Spa Guam

Property: Holiday Resort & Spa Guam
Address: 881 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4014, Mariana Islands (Formerly Holiday Resort Guam)
Region: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Resort & Spa Guam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Resort Guam is ideally located in Guam's favorite tourist spot! Our great central location puts you in reach of entertainment, activities, luxury and budget shopping, and a variety of restaurants located north and south of Tumon. Enjoy the view of local canoes nestled in the park during your quick minute stroll to the white sands of Matapang Beach and the panoramic ocean views or dip into the peaceful lagoon and snorkel among the abundant marine life in the Tumon Bay sanctuary. Come and enjoy all there is in and around Holiday Resort Guam, the best Resort in Guam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Resort & Spa Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Resort Guam Hotel Tumon
Holiday Hotel Guam
Holiday Hotel Tumon
Holiday Resort & Spa Guam Tumon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing