We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty but Clean? GREAT for Guam - average for mainland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Resort Guam
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Musty but Clean? GREAT for Guam - average for mainland!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Probably really nice for Guam's standards, but a little off for a usual Westin... I've been here for a little over a week, and it's a nice place w/ really great service. However, there are a few little things that make it a little worse than you might expect from a Westin. The location is outstanding, and the pool/beach area are great. However, the musty smell in the rooms, the T.V.s randomly turning on in the middle of the night, and the marks on the room walls make me wonder about the staff's attention to detail. It has a well-appointed workout room although it's poorly lit, and the spa looks as though it would be great - although I haven't tried it.
The outdoor bar at the pool is a great place to hang out, but don't get too excited about the food... The wings may give you cardiac arrest on the spot, and the burgers taste gamey, at best. However, the location probably can't be beat - snorkeling right off the beach is great, and you can charge a kayak & gear right to your room.
Not really a big fan of Guam right now, but the hotel isn't too bad - definitely the top 3 in Tumon...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff_c130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    526
    191
    69
    47
See reviews for
492
313
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Though I was just here for one night as I was transiting through Guam, I enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and views from around the hotel. The room was fine. Though there was no hot water coming out of the shower and bath tub, only the faucet. To get to and from the airport it's $25 one way via the hotel shuttle service or about $22 via taxi. A little much considering the airport is about 3-4 miles away or so. Other than that nothing really else to comment about.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1stClassJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Overall, mine and my husband's experience with this hotel was good; however, we do feel there is room for improvement. Here's our review breakdown in detail:

The Good: We liked the overall layout of the hotel with easy access to the main street- shopping, restaurants, etc. We liked the on-site security guards on duty and free garage parking, this made us feel safe. We liked the friendliness of the staff, especially the cleaning ladies and customer service mgr. (I think his name was Randy). We liked the pool areas, the beach areas, and the availability of rentals for kayaking, snorkeling, scuba, etc. We liked the entertainment offerings at the hotel including the magic show and lua- Guam style. We liked the comfortable bed, the view from our hotel room, the spacious bathroom (with separate shower), the flat-screen tv, and the free breakfast included with our room price.

Improvement Needed: Most hotels in the United States usually offer rooms with a small refrigerator and microwave standard..which is why we were surprised this upper scale hotel only offered a "cooler" which was ok, but definitely not refrigerator quality and no microwave. Humidity is a huge climate issue in Guam and it was an issue in our hotel bathroom, as well! The fan in the bathroom was not operational and did not work the whole time we were there (approx. 11 days)! We reported the issue to maintenance/cleaning staff, but it was never fixed. My husband takes hot showers, so not having a bathroom fan that worked was an issue.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions before booking any hotel and pay close attention to the room descriptions and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlworkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I went there for my friend's wedding. All of us stayed at westin for 4 nights. I have been to many Westin hotels around the world. I wouldn't say this is the best one for Westin. However, it is one of the best hotels in Guam.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasa803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed 7 days for a conference in July, Arrived 4AM and was told breakfast was served till 10.30. Arrived at "Taste" at 10:01 and was uncermoniously turned away. First time EVER I have been turned away for breakfast at any hotel, Apparently on Sundays they close earlier (???anywhere else in the world breakfast is served later on Sunddays so people can sleep in)

Spoke to manger who had little empathy. (even reception staff thought breakfast was served untilll 1030) eventually manged to be offered a "Brunch" voucher which was to be delivered to my room, Two phone calls and 1 1/2 hours later I got a meal.

From then on Robert in the Taste restaurant was very accomodating and helpful.

Room 1701 is very large and at the end of the hallway. A good choice and you have a failry good view of the beach from the Balcony (see photo)

As a SPG member, you should get a turn down service and 2 bottles of water each night,,,this happend once on arrival and then once more night before departure...

Pool area good but full of Japanese and Korean tourist and their kids...Really needs a separate area for adults or FIT...

Breakfast buffet adequate with plenty of Japanese and American style choices and "egg chef"...Sames as any hotel in any city in the world....THE TOASTERS DON'T WORK"...I still can't work this out when my $20 Breville does the job ina 1/4 of the time at home? Fruit is balnd and tastless.

Starbucks "coffee" in the lobby means free wirelss internet in the lobby. "High speed" cable internet elsewhere was adequate.

Summary..OK but would not return. Would not recommend as a destination unless of course you enjoy overcrowded pools with a million toddlers peeing in them, boutique shopping at inflated prices or fried everything included in a meal

Room Tip: 1701 but have to be a SPG member
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bflow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Westin is at the top of the main hotel strip in Guam. Still, to walk anywhere is not a problem and there is a Outback Steakhouse (which we tried twice and was excellent) across the road. There is also a Hard Rock about 5 minutes walk down the street and loads of shopping.

The best thing about the hotel is the beach access. The hotel has a large swimming pool which was great, and the beach is just in front of the hotel. It is great for small children and the water is very shallow for far out and there are no waves coming in so the kids had a lot of fun playing in the sea and on the beach. It is perfectly safe for more than 100 meters out. Also the hotel supplies plenty of beach chairs and parasols which they do not charge for. There is also a k-mart across the street where we picked up drinks and snacks.

We stayed in a Club room and all rooms have their own balcony which was nice for the sunset where we just had dinner there. The Club lounge itself was not so impressive with few snacks and a breakfast which was too simple for such a resort. Coffee was good though.

Service was good all the way. On check in our son immediately got a kids kit which a hat and some toys. That was a very nice touch.

All in all a great hotel and we would stay here again next time in Guam

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papasantky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Reasons why this hotel is NOT for families with children:

1. The hotel's website (http://www.starwoodhotels.com/westin/property/overview/index.html?propertyID=1057) states the following: "Scheduled Family and Supervised Children's Activities" --- THE HOTEL DID NOT OFFER SUCH PROGRAMS DURING OUR 10 DAY STAY IN JUNE/JULY.

2. Per a reservations staff, "the hotel does have a Kids Program and it's free to hotel guests." ----- THE EMPLOYEE STATED THAT SHE MADE A MISTAKE (AFTER OUR ARRIVAL) BUT IT WAS TOO LATE FOR US AS WE HAD ALREADY BOOKED OUR STAY.

3. Per the same reservations staff, "children under 11 eat for free with adult meal purchase." -------- THE RESTAURANT STAFF WERE UNAWARE OF SUCH OFFER AND MADE US FEEL LIKE WE WERE TRYING TO GET FREE MEALS FOR OUR KIDS. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE SITUATION...

4. Our "partial ocean view room" - A VERY small view of the ocean (not worth the extra price); the beds were comfortable; the mildew/mold smell was too strong and unbearable; visible black (mildew) marks all over the inside the closet.

We would not return to this hotel for (1) giving out wrong info (a huge disappointment on the hotel NOT having a Kids Program for my 8 year son); (2) moldy-smelling room; (3) giving out incorrect info on kids' meals.

On the last day of our stay, the hotel management stated that there will be a pizza making class ($10/child) starting July AND the hotel guests can drop off their kids at a daycare (what seemed like a small daycare for the locals, mainly for babies and toddlers for around $200/week.) A daycare for the locals is not a Kids Club, in my opinion. My 8 year old son is not going to want to go to a daycare full of babies/toddlers. The hotel is definitely missing the concept, I think. The hotel should not advertise something that it does not offer; it seems very misleading and dishonest. I will not return to another Westin...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AEYKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tumon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Guam
Hyatt Regency Guam
#5 of 20 in Tumon
1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
1.6 mi away
Hilton Guam Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Guam Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Guam
Hotel Nikko Guam
#4 of 20 in Tumon
1,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotte Hotel Guam
Lotte Hotel Guam
#6 of 20 in Tumon
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort Guam

Property: The Westin Resort Guam
Address: 105 Gun Beach Road, Tumon, Guam 96913-4202, Mariana Islands
Region: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tumon
#4 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Resort Guam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Resort Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort Guam Hotel Tumon
Westin Hotel Tumon
Westin Tumon
Tumon Westin
The Westin Resort Guam Tumon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing