We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kayak Trip”

Aquaterra Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
PA
Level Contributor
399 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Kayak Trip”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Looking for activities in Bar Harbor and decided to do the 2 hour Sunset Kayak tour with Aquasterra Adventures at the Marina. Pete was the perfect guide for the perfect sunset Kayak tour. Water and weather were great. Sunset was beautiful. Exceptional instruction. Great Fun! You
must try this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PITTparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    19
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful and educational”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our guide was a teacher and she was great (learned a lot about glaciers,etc>) ,interesting sites decent workout for my daily Maine icecream dose. Staff was excellent and friendly in the store.went for only 2 hours-would recommend a longer trip!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A great experience”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We signed up for this tour based on a recommendation we got last year from Acadia Park Kayak Tours.
Apparently Acadia Park Kayak Tours had a very late opening this year and we were unable to get on a tour with them.

Our experience in the office started a little rough. The person at the desk seemed rushed and gave the impression that our questions might not be entirely welcome.

Their shop is in a very convenient location right next to the town docks.

They gave us watershoes to wear that we felt were a little uncomfortable. We would have rather worn our own watershoes but weren't allowed.

The tour itself was great. Our guide was friendly and informative. I am sorry that I can't remember the guide's name.
The tour moved at an easy pace and we felt safe the entire time.
I would highly recommend a tour with Aquaterra.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAndInTheWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Easy and fun.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We realized there were other tour companies that did kayak tours. But we saw that Aquaterra was right on the marina in Bar Harbor. That means no van to ride before and after the tour which sounded good to us for a warmer than normal day. The tour was out in the bay around a couple of the islands. It was very enjoyable and just enough time kayaking for a leisurely tour. Highly recommend for those wanting a convenient leisurely kayak tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank honesttripreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our Plan B”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We has wanted to Whale Watch on our last day in Bar Harbor, but it was cancelled. So we walked across the hall and decided to book a sunset kayak ride. We were the only people booked so we had all our guide's attention (Pete). We have some kayak experience do it was very relaxing. He shared lots if great local info, it was like having a conversation with a great bar tender. We did 2 hours. Would have liked longer, but it did get chilly towards the end.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Crowelltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquaterra Adventures also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Aquaterra Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing