We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a family of 4-pleasant surroundings and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family of 4-pleasant surroundings and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in the Mt. Desert Suite and it had 2 bedrooms and a large bathroom with soaking tub. Plenty of space for parents, and 2 young adult children. The inn's location in Bar Harbor allowed us to walk into town each evening and enjoy the grounds of the inn. The breakfast was delicious and we ate outside in the garden. The suites are in a separate building from the inn and are quiet and private-a nice perk! The inn is an easy drive to Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    129
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
108
374
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Perfectly situated within walking -- but not shouting -- distance from "downtown" among several other historical B&Bs, the Mira Monte provides a gracious and unobtrusively "green" (environmentally aware) experience. Decor is Victorian-historic but not over-the-top B&B-ish, with many modern amenities including wifi, jacuzzis, and ionizing hairdryers. Many of the rooms have balconies or terraces. The surrounding gardens are lovely, the breakfast is locovore and substantial (although egg casseroles tended to be slightly watery), and the afternoon wine-and-cheese available in the front room a nice pick-you-up after tramping around Acadia.

The owner and manager both bend over backwards to accommodate. A snafu with our reservation discovered after staff were gone left the owner and us having to rearrange the room ourselves -- in compensation, we were offered the choice of a dinner voucher at a local restaurant or a picnic to take with us for lunch on the rocks.

We hope to return to Bar Harbor and the Mira Monte.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappedheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

What a GREAT place to stay!! The inn is charming and the staff is awesome!!! The breakfast is incredible!!! Great location; walked to everything downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2HIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Enjoyed our time there very much! Loved our room, the location, the people we met and of course the breakfast! Stayed in the South Suite and like it. It was warm when we were there and had to you the A/C which did provide "white noice" so we didn't hear any street traffic. Slept great. The bed was comfortable. I would return!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We (couple with two children 8 & 11) stayed at Mira Monte Inn for a long weekend in Aug 2011 . We stayed at the Mt. Dessert suite, which was a one bedroom suite with a queen sized bed in the bedroom and two twin sized beds for the kids in the living room area. The Mt. Dessert suite was well appointed, nicely renovated, and clean. The bathroom was spacious and had a large sink, a bathtub, and a lot of shelf space. The bedroom was on the small side but had a very large walk-in closet with plenty of storage and a small dorm-sized fridge. The living room was good size but it was really utilized as the kids bedroom, which was fine by us. We only slept at the suite and spent the rest of our time exploring Acadia. They had maid service every day.

Our suite had two HD TVs and a DVD player. The Inn has movies on DVD that you can borrow from them, if you wish. They also have a CD-guided Audio tour of the Acadia national park for borrowing as well. You can play it in your car while you drive through the park. They also had free WiFi in our room.

The owner, Marian, is a very nice lady and is a native. She knows a lot about the national park as well as attractions in the area. She was very kind and accommodating to us. A guest had left an unused park pass behind and she offered to let us use it while we stayed there. The Inn consists of two buildings in close proximity of each other. Breakfast is served at the main building every day from 8 to 10 AM. They had coffee and tea, milk, juice, hard boiled eggs, organic oatmeal, fresh waffles upon order, many different pastries, bagels, English muffins, breads, jam, cheese, butter, etc. It was much better than what we eat at home and everyone liked it. Marian herself is there helping out and she is so nice that it makes the breakfast gathering even better. You can take your breakfast on their outdoor patio (highly recommend this) or inside the inn. They serve wine and cheese every day from 5 to 7 PM as well. The outdoor gardens at this Inn are spectacular. Mary Ann said her daughter is in charge of gardening.

The inn is less than two blocks walk from the center of Bar Harbor, which is full of life with shops and art galleries and restaurants. There was great live music at the town square on two of the nights when we were there. We sampled many of the restaurants in the area for dinner.

We highly recommend Mira Monte Inn for a stay in Bar Harbor area. We will be back here again, I am sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reza5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We just spent 6 nights at the Mira Monte Inn and don't really have anything negative to say but were not blown away and would look for someplace else if we return to area. Our room (Malvern) was very nice, comfortable enough bed and linens but bathroom was very small and balcony was tiny. Also, traffic makes it very noisy - maybe a room towards back would be better but I think all rooms had either windows or the balcony on the noisy front or sides of property. The innkeepers were all helpful but 1 of the older women was brunt to the point of being rude to some guests and questioned us every morning when we came down to breakfast. The breakfasts were also good but not great. It was served buffet style and set up all around the dining room so that you have to walk around tables where people are eating to try and get your food. Most of the selections were the same every day, with slight variety in the baked egg casseroles and muffins. Same bowl of fruit, steamed eggs in shell, oatmeal, breads and juices every day. We did have a great crab quiche 1 day and blueberry pancakes another day were awesome. Plenty of food but it did get monotonous. There were choices about where to take your breakfast but the porch was way too crowded for its 3 tables and the dining room was very warm and awkward with a large table and the food at various spots around it. There some nice spots to sit outside but filling and carrying a tray with plates, coffee and juice through crowded rooms wasn't easy. Wine and cheese and cookies each afternoon were welcome and enjoyed. But other little touches that could have made the place better than "good" were overlooked - there was a refrigerator you could use but offering waters or soda as do many other places we've stayed would be nicer. Toiletries were in dispensers in shower, one of which was empty until I asked for it to be filled and no hair conditioner; window shade had broken pull so that it wouldn't stay raised and this wasn't fixed even though we pointed it out the first day. A coffee pot upstairs would have been nice in the morning. Variety at breakfast would have been enjoyed. Location is very good but it was noisy on a main street and it seemed there were other places on side streets or set further back from the road which will be worth checking out next time. Parking is great.
Again - no real complaints but nothing to rave about either, at least compared to other B&Bs and Inns we have stayed in around the country.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherriK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELouisa, Owner at Mira Monte Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Mira Monte Inn is in the village of Bar Harbor on 2 acres of land. Since it is in the Historic Corridor, I have to work within strict zoning issues. The 1864 byuilding had four bathrooms added when I bought it. I very quickly decided that I would put in private baths, believeing that most people would prefer a small private bath rather than a large shared one. In the Malvern room, I could have enlarged the bath by taking part of the room - including a window. Most people tell me that they would prefer the smaller bath and have another bedroom window. That's the choice I made and you are the first to complain in 30 years. I put private balconies in 11 of the 13 rooms. They had to fit over the existing bays (by zoning). I put them on for fire protection as well as ambience. Every room has a direct access to the outside in case of fire. No other Bar Harbor Inn even comes close to this standard. The windows in the Malvern are sound deadening winter windows. If they are closed and locked you can watch cars go by, but not hear them. I have talked with the town council head and asked if the State would protect our scenic highway by forbidding trucks berween 10 PM & 8 AM. We'll see. We have king bedded rooms in the wing - welll away from the streel; The West End room also has a large, large private porch 7 by 15 feet. At breakfast, I again offer a choice; eat family style in the dining room or take a tray to a spot of your choosing. You can eat on the brick terrace overlooking 40 feet of lawns & gardens, or on the brakfast porch -small due to zoning, but offering a screened (or glassed with private tables. Zoning restrictions forbid my enlarging the porch. Many people love it and choose to eat there I have never wanted to decide how much a guest should or would eat and have never put food on a plate (restaurant style) At Mira Monte, we are about choices -you can eat when and where you want; You decide how much food you want and who you want to talk with. We offer trays so you can make those choices. Questions of the guests are asked -What room are you in - so the cook can be sure know how many people have already eaten. Since people often change rooms, we ask what room you're currently staying in. I'm usually there and often ask people what they plan to do for the day in order to help them with planning. (for instance - I advised one couple not to go whale watching on the day after Irene came through. She defered until the next day an still found it quite rough out in the ocean. She was very glad I had intervened. I have found that most people eat the same thing everyday at home and like to have a choice - familiar or new. We serve the most popular things every day - at least seven choices)- for that reason. Then we also offer "specials" several times a week. (blueberry pancakes every Tuesday, crab quiche one other day, one different type of muffin each day; blueberry breakfast pudding once a week; We need to offer gluten free daily, and we have other options available on request- like waffles to order. Most people tell me they really like the breakfast choices - they like having this option.
The side street inns are great, but none of them have off street parking for all of their guests. We are the only place in Bar Harbor where you can take two parking spaces for six days (for one room), We are a non smoking property even though the parking is at the rear of the property, If you ar a light sleeper, please ask for rooms that overlook the grounds. If you want hotel serives and cannot be flexible to B&B zoning & room sizes, you should stay in a hotel and hope the corridor noises don't bother you or you can pay double rates and stay on the water where the boats toot in the fog, the lobster boats go out at 5 in the morning without mufflers, or where every boat toots 3 times because they are backing up (required by law). If, in Bar Harbor you want to avoid any noise and stay 6 miles out of town, you will find that you cannot find parking on the streets, in the parking lot, or by most restaurants, and if you do, it's a 2 hour deal with real fines. In the summer, there are buses, but you are absoilutely geared to their schedule. Given these parameters, Mira Monte Inn, on two acres in the center of town, with private balconies in 11 or the 13 rooms, lovely common rooms for a social gatherng each day, and 8-10 breakfast choices, with ample parking and local, attentive help - seems to me like the best of many worlds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Modern convenience and Victorian charm coupled with a caring, intelligent hostess; Mira Monte offers guests many choices, exemplified by its wide breakfast selections and wine and cheese late afternoons. Quiet location but walkable to everything; wildflower gardens; a perfect retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own little porch or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Property: Mira Monte Inn
Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing