We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at this Bar Harbor Bed and Breakfast for two night while on a touring holiday of Maine. The hotel is furnished in American Victoriana style, which may not be to everones taste but is interesting. The owner made us very welcome and provided much information regarding things to do in the area. Our first floor room ( The Newport Room ) was quite small and had lots of furniture in it, but was fine for a few days. It had air con and a small balcony with two chairs that overlooked the garden also a gas log effect fire that would be a handy feature on autumn nights. The bed was comfortable and the on-suite small but clean. Breakfast was included and we thought it better than most of the other American breakfasts we had when included in the price. Cheese and wine were provided in the evening if people wanted to meet other guests, but we did not try this. It's in a good location, five to ten minutes walk will bring you to all the shops and restaurants. Free parking is provided and we did not need the car at all during our brief stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    133
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
113
388
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had the new cottage on the back of the property that is large two bedroom, one bath and is a great value for a family or couple traveling together. Breakfast is off the hook. Nice people, plenty of parking, helpful with local knowledge, free, fast wifi, a TV in each room. The wine deal at 5 is a lot of fun - go and chat with the other guests. Chat with Mary, the owner. She's amazing.

Room Tip: The new cottage on the back is large and perfect for a family, or two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Mira Monte is a lovely B&B, walking distance to downtown but far enough away for quiet and relaxation. The Inn is clean and beautiful. We stayed in the Agamont which is a lovely room with a large bathroom and private entry with sitting area. Breakfasts are delicious and abundant. Marian was a wonderful host and it was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niagarabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We spent four nights at this Inn. It is within walking distance of the town activities, yet far enough away to have some solitude if that is needed. The breakfasts were plentiful and planned with a traveler in mind. Those with special diets were accommodated. The evening social of wine and cheese is optional for guests, but it was a lovely way to meet other folks and share some interesting conversation. The innkeeper worked to make everyone feel welcome This was a very pleasant experience. Should a return trip to Bar Harbor be planned, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the street and possible traffic noise could be an issue for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grm-squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This was our first time at a B&B and a wonderful experience. Our room was wonderful with a porch where we could relax after a days activities. From 5-7 there was wine and snacks in the living room where you could meet other guests. The breakfasts were amazing!!! And the cook even shared a recipe with us. Chocolate chip cookies were to die for. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and Marian was a wonderful hostess. Wish we were back for that breakfast this morning, I don't feel like cooking!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jivicarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I had never been (stayed) at a B&B before. What a wonderful experience. The people were wonderful, the morning breakfast was fit for a King or Queen; wines and appetizers from 5 until 7 in the evening. The suite we had was very clean and comfortable. If I am ever back in Bar Harbor, Maine, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeannaTk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here with our 2 teenagers for 2 nights to visit Acadia. The location was perfect as you could just park the car and walk everywhere. We stayed in a room out in back of the B&B which had 2 bedrooms and was very nice and private. The breakfast held the B&B from a 5 star rating. They made their own breads or muffins which was very good. There was plenty of fruit and especially fresh Maine blueberries. The problem was that if you didn't get there by 8:30, there were things missing from the buffet that were not replaced.

Overall, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granby-Gobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Property: Mira Monte Inn
Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing