We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B with an even more charming Inn Keeper”
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming B & B with an even more charming Inn Keeper”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at the Mira Monte Inn. From the charming room with beautiful garden views, to the wonderful home cooked breakfast each morning, this place was fantastic! We stayed there with our two small children who were welcomed with open arms. Many Bed and Breakfasts just aren't conducive to families with small children, but the Mira Monte Inn was the opposite. The inn keeper, Marian Burnes went out of her way to ensure our kids were well taken care of. She provided a highchair for our 15 month old and always made sure our six year old had cookies and hot coco. One added touch that really added to the experience was the wine and cheese hour that Marian hosted each night. It was a great opportunity to not only get to know her better (the second bed and breakfast owner in Bar Harbor) but the other guests as well. The property boasts beautiful gardens which are all maintained by her daughter, but there are so many choices for rooms to sit in. We chose to sit on the sun porch, which was stocked with children's toys and games. If you are planning a trip to Bar Harbor, you will want to stay at the Mira Monte Inn. Being a lifelong resident of Bar Harbor, Marian is like your personal travel guide on where to go and where not to go. She definitely tells it how it is. She really puts a lot of love and detail into everything she does. You can' t go wrong staying at the Mira Monte Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the West End Suite. Had a private deck, whirlpool, heated towel hanger and fireplace. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    133
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
111
388
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our room was spacious (Malvern) with sitting area, comfortable bed, whirlpool tub and fireplace. The full buffet breakfast is a feast with many local specialties used (blueberries, cranberries, maple syrup) and included everything from casseroles to home-made muffins. In the afternoon there is a relaxed gathering in the parlor for wine and cheese and crackers. The owner, Marian, is a wealth of knowledge and history of the area from where to eat to what to see in Acadia National Park. She is a colorful personality who heads a staff that is friendly and very helpful. You can walk to the harbor area for shops and restaurants. The only down-side is the traffic noise as it is located on the main street entering Bar Harbor (easily taken care of by using ear plugs). [Please excuse the "terrible" rating for swimming pool as there was no way to unmark that item.]

Room Tip: Malvern: spacious with good chairs and reading light; whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

After a 4000 mile coast to coast road trip, we booked to stay here for 6 nights for rest and relaxation and that is just what we got from this fabulous Inn.
Our bedroom Des Isle, was just a little piece of heaven, beautiful decorated and spotlessly clean plus the bed & pillows were very comfy, and we also had a lovely little balcony at the back overlooking the gardens.
The breakfasts are a treat, everything homemade and just an amazing selection, we can honestly say we have never seen such attention to detail like this on any of our travels, nothing is too much trouble, they really do treat their guests like King & Queens.
If they run out of anything or if you have any special requests, all you have to do is ask, and they really do take great pleasure in making sure everything is just perfect for you.
They have a fridge in the dining room for guest items which is good, plus another fridge stocked with cold bottled water for a small donation of 25 cents, plus cookies for guests to take, plus every evening 5-7pm they have a cheese & wine evening which is a great way of meeting your fellow guests, we met some lovely people who we will never forget.
The staff are truly the best, very knowledgable, always attentive, polite and very professional, but the jewel in the crown is Marian, there is nothing about Bar Harbor and the surrounding areas she does not know, she really is an amazing lady.
The Wifi signal was the best we had on all of our 4 weeks travel.
This place really is a must for anyone thinking of staying in Bar Harbor, trust me you will not be disappointed, and one thing for sure, we will return from England one day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 8 nights at the inn and couldn't have asked for a better experience. We enjoyed real Maine hospitality--Marian and her staff are very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. Their suggestions for dinner and even hikes in Acadia were spot-on and excellent. Wine and cheese and cookies in the afternoon were great, but the real highlight was breakfast. There was a great assortment of homemade treats, including pancake Tuesday and some fabulous egg bakes daily. The buffet format was way better than some other places we've stayed where you don't get a choice of food or the amount. The room (we stayed in Wingwood) was comfortable and well-appointed. The inn itself is just a few blocks from downtown, very convenient for dinner but in a quiet location. Definitely our choice for the next trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have some outdoor space, either a balcony or a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had the 2 upstairs rooms in the new Ashe Cottage. Rooms were lovely and well appointed. However, the warmth of the owner and her team are the Crown Jewels. They made everyone feel special. They love the area and have lots of suggestions. Breakfast wonderful. Afternoon wine & cheese party great way to meet other guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Enjoyed our time there but nothing outstanding. Some of the staff treated it as a job while others went out of their way. Decor is what I had expected. Breakfast was an issue as if you were not there early and something was finished, it was not replaced. Marian was enjoyable to talk with. Overall an average stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Staying at the Mira Monte has always been fabulous. We've been guests there each September for over five years. Marian, the owner, is so gracious and tends to our every need including where to hike fun things to do and the best restaurants. The breskfasts are a treat...yummy. Everything from the decore to the modern touche of WFI reflect Marian's personality and care for her guests. Marian makes the visit perfect. B&H

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.0 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Property: Mira Monte Inn
Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing